We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top quality, great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Vic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top quality, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the garden wing. Room was spacious and very comfortable with all the conveniences including bottled water thoughtfully placed in refrigerator. The room was spotlessly clean. Good speed free wi-fi was available. Breakfasts were excellent and dinner in the conservatory restaurant was reasonably priced and high quality. All staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Our only minor quibble was that the west facing rooms were very hot in the afternooons, though the fan gave reasonable relief...if warmth is not your thing I'd suggest you ask for alternative rooms in summer. All up, a great place to stay withing easy reach of the city. I would certainly come back.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank EWMMelbourne_Vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your very kind words which are much appreciated.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    125
    26
    2
    5
See reviews for
78
216
22
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for my brother's wedding in May. We enjoyed a lovely few days there. Staff were really friendly and helpful from the start and nothing was too much trouble for them. There was a very relaxed, quiet atmosphere at the hotel.The gardens are lovely and the kids enjoyed playing there. I felt children were very welcome and were catered for very well. On the day of the wedding, the hotel were really organised and the day went really smoothly. I could not fault my stay at all and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsHenri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your kind comments. Our excellent staff do their very best to look after our guests and they appreciate when this is acknowledged.

Kind regards

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed at Lochardil House for two nights in May whilst touring in Scotland.
Our room in the Garden Wing was superb with lots of space, beautiful fittings and furnishings and a bathroom with a separate walk-in power shower. The king size bed was excellent and we slept really well.
The staff were all very welcoming and friendly especially the two female receptionists who were always willing to help.
Breakfast was a hot and cold buffet with a good choice and the very best black pudding! We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant only once and my wife did have a lamb culet which was disappointing but we may have just been unlucky.
The Lochardil House is a way out of the City centre which is a dual-edged sword as on the one hand the setting is quiet and peaceful but on the other you were reliant on the hotel facilities. Personally I felt that the hotel drinks and beverages were a little too expensive.
A major positive at Lochardil House was that the management provided fast, efficient Wi-Fi free of charge showing the Macdonald, Hilton and Crowne Plaza hotels we stayed in how they should be treating their guests.

Room Tip: Garden wing rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happywanderer93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your nice review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your comments.

Kind regards

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Booked after reading other tripadvisor comments and I was not disappointed. Was upgraded to a mini suite on arrival. Lovely peaceful clean room but what impressed me was there was a real sense of respect for the hotel's guests. There was none of taking credit card swipes on arrival (in case you ran off) and there was an overwhelming sense of friendliness- treating you as one of the family! Food was excellent and the breakfast superb. Service impeccable and unobtrusive. Will definitely come again..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kind review. we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your comments.

Kind regards

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bornheim, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

A nice old style hotel in a really quiet location not far from Inverness centre. Building more like a small castle.
Restaurant was excellent, both for evening meal and breakfast with very efficient staff. Good wine list and wine not overpriced.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your nice review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our excellent staff looked after you.

Kind regards

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

I have just completed another business trip to Inverness and stayed at the Lochardil House Hotel.

As always Graeme and his staff made me feel very welcome and everything was spot on and of a very high standard. When I visit Inverness I never consider any other hotel. Graeme offers a quality deal at a very competitive price and thisnis worth a great deal in this modern day and age.

Thanks Graeme and all your staff.

Peter

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PKBLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Peter

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is always a pleasure to have you stay with us and once again I am delighted that you enjoyed your time here. I look forward to you returning.

Kind regards

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

A superb setting, beautifully done rooms/suites - garden wing suite well worth it for something a bit special. Patio seating outside the ground floor rooms, obviously, very nice. Dinner, served in the very large conservatory, was an added bonus, very reasonable and very nice. Might be worth booking as it was full on a Saturday evening, visitors and locals alike. Sunday night dinner is a shortened menu but was still delicious. Service, throughout our short stay was impeccable. Access into the town easy with a bus stop out the side gate.
Really don't know when I stayed in such a well run hotel, with attention to detail and service, in this country.

Room Tip: Garden wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your kind review and comments. We appreciate them and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards
Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
1.5 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Address: Stratherrick Road, Inverness IV2 4LF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Inverness
#2 Family Hotel in Inverness
#3 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#5 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel is set in it’s own spectacular gardens in a peaceful area of the City.The main hotel has 12 luxury bedrooms and the adjacent Garden Wing which opened in early 2006 has 16 deluxe bedrooms all furnished and equiped to the highest standard.Personally supervised by the owners Eileen and Graeme since 1985 Lochardil provides comfort and quality to its guests, good scottish food where they can relax and enjoy the facilities . Free extensive onsite parking with free wireless internet throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lochardil Hotel
Best Western Inverness
Inverness Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing