We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic birthday treat”
Review of Culloden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Culloden House
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
inverness
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic birthday treat”
Reviewed March 5, 2011

My family treated myself and my husband to this hotel as a joint birthday present. To say we had a great time is an understatement.
When we arrived we were met at the steps and our bag was taken for me while my husband parked the car. We checked in and were showed to our suite number 15, when I found the ability to close my mouth all I could say was wow. The room it self was large with a big bed that for once my 6'3" husband fitted into with ease and it was so comfy. Our suite had a large bathroom and it's own living area with a fire in the fireplace.

After relaxing with a bottle of wine we dressed for dinner. Dinner was a five course delight. We both had a cauliflower amuse bouch which I could of had a bowl of it was that nice. For starters I had wild mushroom risotto and my husband had the scallops both were to die for. Next was cranberry and vodka ice a prefect palette cleanser. For main I had the fillet of beef and my husband had the sea bass again we couldn't fault the course at all. After a wee rest we had cheese and oatcakes with coffee.
We then relaxed in the bar after admiring the array of fine whisky's that the culloden House offer.
After a lovely sleep we had breakfast.
We both opted for the cooked breakfast of poached egg, bacon, black pudding, sausage and mushrooms. This was a quality breakfast not greasy at all with ample toast, tea, coffee, and lots more if you wished.

Our bag was carried out to the car and when we left we felt relaxed and wished we were staying another night.

Will we be back certainly yes, I would love this as a christmas/birthday present next year.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katbeaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    90
    29
    15
    6
See reviews for
103
276
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2010

My husband and I had the pleasure of spending two evenings at this guest house and it was fantastic from start to finish. We were greeted at the door as we arrived by Murray who helped us in with our luggage and then parked our car for us once he saw us to our room.

We arrived later than expected, but Murray had the kitchen staff stay a little late to prepare dinner for us. He invited us into the lounge for a drink before dinner and was able to speak very knowledgeably about the various Whisky's of the region.

The dinner was traditional Scottish fare (not our favorite) but was well prepared and tasty. The service really made the meal more than the food.

Our room was very large and comfortable. There was free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, including the rooms. Murray had lit our fireplace for us before we arrived so that our room was a comfortable temperature.

We slept very well, as the bed was comfortable and the hotel is very quiet.

The next morning, we had a wonderful breakfast in our room and then set off for sightseeing in the area. The front desk staff was very helpful with recommendations, directions and tour brochures. The proximity of this hotel to Culloden Battlefield and exhibition center is also nice.

On our last night, we mentioned to Murray that we had heard that the hotel was on the original foundation of the Culloden House that played a part in the famous battle by housing the leader of the Jacobites before the fateful battle, and Murray offered to show us the cellars himself. Above and Beyond!

When we were ready to check out, Stephen, the manager himself, actually took our bags out to our car, bought it around, cleared it of snow and had it warm and waiting for us.

Everything about this hotel was fantastic.. but I must say that my favorite part was the customer service.. really, no detail was ignored and we felt as if we were the most important guests in the hotel for our entire stay. We were sad when it was time to leave and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorriKern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Wonderful hotel – fantastic staff!

We held our wedding reception and evening celebration at Culloden House in September 2010 and all we can say is that our experience was magnificent. Murray (Deputy Manager) made sure that every detail was covered and was on hand throughout the whole planning period to answer any queries we had and to make suggestions along the way. Culloden don’t do wedding ‘packages’ as such and for us this was such a relief; we never felt that we were being dictated to but were free to choose our own menu etc. just the way we wanted it.

On the day everything ran extremely smoothly with Murray and his team on hand to look after ourselves and our guests in such a professional, efficient and yet friendly manner. Even when my wife and I wanted to extend the time we were having photographs taken (there was a break in the rain!) this presented no problem to the staff who happily worked around our needs.

The meal was served with the minimum of fuss and despite the fact that we had selected three different starters mains and desserts for our guests to choose all our guests received their choices extremely quickly. The food itself was of a very high quality and a credit to the chef and kitchen staff. We have nothing but praise for the way things were organised and run throughout the whole day.

All in all the staff and management at Culloden helped to make our wedding day a huge success and our guests couldn’t agree more; we had so many compliments on our choice of venue and on the friendliness of all the staff. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough not only for their wedding service but for the rooms, food and excellent staff.

Thank you Murray, thank you Culloden!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rossathon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2010

I have just returned from a few days of my honeymoon spent at Culloden House and it really could not have been improved upon. The hotel actually surpassed our expectations from the website, which is rare in my experience. Every single member of staff was superb, friendly and helpful, and made our stay a pleasure. If you are looking for a romantic or relaxing hotel in a beautiful location and with a great restaurant, I could not recommend anywhere more highly.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPH_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverness
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2010

We stayed in a huge two bedroom family suite, with its own outside door as well - very helpful if you don't want to have the children racing through reception in their wellies. The rooms were beautiful, solid, old-fashioned furniture, proper beds for the children and windows that really open. The garden is lovely and will be lovelier still as the walled garden matures in the next few years. Staff inside and out were very pleasant. Food was excellent and the special early supper we ordered for the children was beautifully served and very reasonably priced.
The decor may be a little dated in places, but what does that matter in a hotel of such character and warmth?

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

The best hotel we have ever stayed in, the staff couldnt do enough for us.
Book room10 with the fantastic bath!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caz076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

A bit of a splurge this, on the last night of a long weekend in the HIghlands.

Found a bargain offer on the internet, and on arrival, it being distinctly out of season, the friendly and welcoming front desk staff upgraded us to a superior room, parked the car and helped us up there with our heavy bags (one small rucksack...)

After a spirited round of croquet (naturally, darling) on the lawn (I let my wife win, although she claims her victory was on merit...) and a stroll round the grounds, we went in to dress for dinner (not that one has to, but it seemed like fun.

Our bathroom contained an enormous bath with jacuzzi nozzles and whatnot, underwater lighting etc. and posh soaps and things that my wife found very exciting. The hotel's resident piper started playing outside as we were getting changed. So what if it's a cliche, it was fun. I don't get to stay in a posh country pile outside Inverness every day.

Decent dinner - far from cheap, but very enjoyable, followed by a great night;s sleep.

I'd go back like a shot.

Lovely work, congratulations and thanks to all.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Passporttonowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
3.6 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
5.8 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
6.2 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#6 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
3.6 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culloden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culloden House

Property: Culloden House
Address: Culloden, Inverness IV2 7BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#7 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#9 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Culloden House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conde Nast Gold list property, Georgian Country House which boasts first class service in the Capitol of the Scottish Highlands. Award winning cuisine, magnificent walled garden and gracious rooms await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Culloden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culloden House Hotel Inverness
Culloden Hotel Inverness
Culloden House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing