We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good experience”
Review of Culloden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Culloden House
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really good experience”
Reviewed November 8, 2010

A bit of a splurge this, on the last night of a long weekend in the HIghlands.

Found a bargain offer on the internet, and on arrival, it being distinctly out of season, the friendly and welcoming front desk staff upgraded us to a superior room, parked the car and helped us up there with our heavy bags (one small rucksack...)

After a spirited round of croquet (naturally, darling) on the lawn (I let my wife win, although she claims her victory was on merit...) and a stroll round the grounds, we went in to dress for dinner (not that one has to, but it seemed like fun.

Our bathroom contained an enormous bath with jacuzzi nozzles and whatnot, underwater lighting etc. and posh soaps and things that my wife found very exciting. The hotel's resident piper started playing outside as we were getting changed. So what if it's a cliche, it was fun. I don't get to stay in a posh country pile outside Inverness every day.

Decent dinner - far from cheap, but very enjoyable, followed by a great night;s sleep.

I'd go back like a shot.

Lovely work, congratulations and thanks to all.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Passporttonowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    93
    31
    15
    6
See reviews for
105
283
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

For a very small premium over the room rate for the nearby Holiday Inn Express and Premier Inn hotel chains you can stay at Culloden House and enjoy a sumptuous luxury that those chains would struggle to even get close to. Don't be put off by the quoted prices on the website, just ring up or send an email asking if they have any special room rates for the night you are looking to stay in Inverness. Small independent hotels deserve our support and Culloden House is more deserving than many - such a historic house and in splendid surroundings. This was my second stay here, and its been every bit as good as my first one. Truly delightful and heartily recommended, except to those who expect a frenetic nightlife on the doorstep in which case Culloden House is most definitely not for you!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank x333xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Culloden House for two nights in september and had a very enjoyable time. The restaurant food was very good and breakfast was great, nice bar and good wine list. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, the whole place was relaxed and the prefect place to unwind and relax for a couple of days.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J888JOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We stayed here on a romantic anniversary break and it was superb. The suite was wonderful, luxurious and spacious and looked out over the lawns from a number of windows. It was bitterly cold outside but we were warm and cosy in our lovely room with gigantic bed and huge bathroom. We were made to feel so welcome right from arrival and the service was fantastic - they make every guest feel so important.
The staff were so helpful and courteous and act as if nothing is a bother and nothing is too much trouble. There was not a tea tray in the room, and so they popped one up when we asked for it and it came with mineral water and biscuits as well as all the usual gubbins for making tea and coffee. They were always pleasant and chatty, but never intrusive.
I don't even know where to start with breakfast - absolutely stunning and the choice was incredible and cooked to order - take your time and relax through breakfast, it is fabulous!
We booked a table for dinner one evening and, because the hotel was quiet, it was served in the smaller dining room and a fire was lit to warm the room in advance. Dinner was not cheap, but it was delicious and we felt so well treated and relaxed that it was worth it.

I understand that the Royal Family have stayed here in the past, and we felt that they genuinely treat every customer as if they are royalty. Wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingPicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Staff were fantastic throughout our stay, anything we wanted we were able to get! Nothing was a problem for the staff, the rooms were spotless and bed very comfortable and the outside grounds are stunning the little man enjoyed the duck pond too!

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George_ait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We’ve just returned from a wonderful holiday to London and Scotland and our stay at Culloden House made our trip all the more beautiful. Culloden House is a stunningly scenic and picturesque property. Our kids aged three and one thoroughly enjoyed the lawns and greenery in and around the hotel. The spacious room with a Victorian style bed and two bathrooms was extremely comfortable and added to our pleasure. The hotel staff were very warm, hospitable, friendly and treated us almost like family. We will definitely be staying here again whenever in Scotland.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LetsGetAway123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
161 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

This was our 4th visit to Culloden House and it's just as special as it was the first time. The service is impeccable. Staff are friendly, attentive and polished. Luggage is cheerfully carried up to you room, which is a tremendous bonus since there is a very long staircase to the 2nd floor! We always stay in the rooms immediately over the front door, which are big and airy. They also have the most comfortable beds and pillows of anywhere I've ever stayed in Scotland. Food is very good and it's so enjoyable to have a drink in front of the fireplace (whether lit or not!) before going into dinner. Treat yourself to a stay here!

Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank PK12033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
6.2 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#5 of 34 in Inverness
611 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
3.6 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culloden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culloden House

Property: Culloden House
Address: Culloden, Inverness IV2 7BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#7 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#9 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Culloden House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conde Nast Gold list property, Georgian Country House which boasts first class service in the Capitol of the Scottish Highlands. Award winning cuisine, magnificent walled garden and gracious rooms await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Culloden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culloden House Hotel Inverness
Culloden Hotel Inverness
Culloden House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing