We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice with some special touches”
Review of Culloden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Culloden House
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We had a wonderful stay here. The room was large, the settings were very nice. The restaurant was quite good. But what made this remarkable was the service. The gentleman who seemed to be the manager on duty was everywhere. When my friend and I were considering what to drink in the bar, he gave us a tutorial on Scotch whiskey that was incredibly helpful. He set up several choices for us, one better than the next. When my wife discovered that she hadn't packed an essential item, he quickly arranged for a cab and suggested where she might go to purchase a replacement. The other staff were also friendly and helpful at all times. It became a wonderful experience because of the caring of the people.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Mudge828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear Mudge828,

Thank you for your very kind comments and favourable review, I will ensure that I pass on your kind comments tothe team.

I have been lucky to be at the helm of such a great team for 14 years, in my opinion they are simply the best in the industry and recently it was acknowledged by them winning Scottish Hotel team of the Year at the Scottish Hotel Awards, what we all major on is hospitality, too many mix that up with hostility! Im delighted you enjoyed the malt selections, its a passion for us here at Culloden and brings us great delight when we can introduce guests to new and exciting whiskies.

I hope that your brief stay at Culloden will tempt you back to this beautiful corner of the World and hopefully back to Culloden House.

Kindest regards,

Stephen Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
There are newer reviews for Culloden House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 598 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

From first impressions upon pulling into the sweeping drive until we left this place ticks all the boxes. My friend and I have had quite a few afternoon tea's in a variety of places including the Ritz in London. We both agree this place far surpasses that. Excellent surroundings, friendly discreet service, and the food was beautiful. Scones as light as air, cakes that looked and tasted out of this world, and as much time to enjoy your surroundings without being rushed. Thank you for a lovely time. Will definitely return!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank cuthbert251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Cuthbert251,

Thank you! Very high praise indeed and the team and I are delighted you had such a wonderful afternoon, Ill pass your kind comments onto Dorothy our Pastry Chef, she will be delighted you enjoyed her cakes.

Kindest regards,

Stephen Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I took two special friends here for a treat and we enjoyed every mouthful . Lovely sandwiches and a great selection of scones and cakes . You wont be disappointed. The room is very old fashioned and the hotel has lots of quaint features. The service was excellent .

Room Tip: didnt stay
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank nora312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Nora312,

Thank you for your lovely review, afternoon tea is a very popular event at Culloden House and I am over the moon that you enjoyed your afternoon with us, hopefully we will have the pleasure of your company in the near future, why not try the afternoon tea with Champagne which is our most popular afternoon tea!

Kindest regards,

Stephen Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The Culloden House was located in a very picturesque environment. The service was exceptional and the staff very attentive. The rooms were large and comfortable. The comfort of the beds was just ok. Although there was no coffee or tea in the rooms, service to the rooms was provided at no charge. Breakfast was included in the daily rate and was enjoyable. Dinner was well presented though somewhat expensive for the quality.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VGehrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Dear VGehrt,

I am happy to read that you found our small part of Scotland to be a lovely oasis, our latest edition, the Walled Garden, certainly aids that title and thank you for your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Stephen Davies
General Mamager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at this property for three nights. Our room was lovely on the second floor with views of the back lawn. Our bathroom was amazing. Looks like it was remodeled big jacuzzi tub and two sinks and completely tiled. The bed coverings are not as pictured on their website a little worn. The bed is kind of soft, and the rug need to be cleaned. The house rooms are very nice and kept up like a 18th century aristocrats home. They had a lovely supply of whiskey. The staff was very friendly and helpful with information etc. The grounds are beautiful, and the outside of the building truly breathtaking as well as the secret garden. Loved the bagpiper.
I guess I was somewhat disappointed in the food and the service. I admit I am a food snob, but I would rather have plain good food rather than food trying to be fancy and just doesn't quite get there. The food was trying to be different, maybe the descriptions of the dishes should be more specific like goat cheese cannelloni with beets I thought it was noodle cannelloni with beets in it but the cannelloni was the beets and inside it was the goat cheese. It seemed like the chef was trying too hard to make something unique and when you create meals the first consideration should be the flavor rather then how it appears on the plate.
The staff seemed to be running around a lot and we didn't seem to have a server just for us, as a consequence we poured our own wine and were constantly waiting for our dishes to be picked up.
Loved having a drink in the drawing room and then taken to the dining room when our dinner was ready.
They have a wonderful product here and it just needs to be tweaked to get it right.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank rbjmsol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Dear rbjmsol1,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and I am delighted that there were memorable experiences that made your stay with us a pleasant one.

I do apologies for the short coming in service, it is not the norm for us and I will ensure that we address that immediately. With regards to dinner I will talk with the Chef, our new Summer menus have been well received and do showcase the best of local produce but I do take on board your comments and will personally try these dishes.

All of our mattress's are from the Vi-Spring range, a very high quality mattress, they are medium tenure and some people can find them just a bit soft. We do have bed boards for those who prefer to have their mattress just that bit firmer.

Hopefully you will allow us the pleasure of looking after you in the future, it would be my pleasure to personally handle your reservation should you wish to return.

Kindest regards,

Stephen Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had stayed here on a visit to Scotland in 2008 and looked forward to returning. We were not disappointed. The building is a beautiful Georgian mansion, the staff is helpful and friendly, and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Our room had two full bathrooms and a real king sized bed (as opposed to two twins clamped together as at many other UK hotels). Breakfast is included and lavish. The decor is heavy on antiques and has not changed at all since our last visit six years ago. The grounds are beautiful and the large walled garden that was in progress six years ago is now fully established. A piper plays on the grounds every evening.

Although the interior could stand a refurbishment, this remains one of our favorite hotels anywhere.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Dear ScottM,

Has it bee six years since your last visit? How time flies, we were delighted that you chose to return and even more delighted that we are one of your favourite Scottish properties, we love welcoming back repeat guests as its just like welcoming family back home.

Each year the owners do reinvest back into the house, we have recently completed some bathrooms and work will continue in the off season.

Hopefully you will not leave it six years until your next stay and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to show you what upgrades have been completed.

Kindest regards,

Stephen Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Culloden House is a beautiful historic manor house just minutes outside Inverness. We had lovely rooms and enjoyed the stunning walled gardens! Dinner and breakfast were served in their elegant dinning room. Our favorite part was ordering dinner over cocktails in the drawing room and then being seated when the first course was served.
We were also taught a great deal about Scotch. The well informed manager gave us a full history of the different regions of Scotland.
Like stepping back in time!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Dear DeanneH,

With Culloden House being so richly steeped in Scottish history it is always a delight to talk about.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay, I enjoyed selecting a few different malts for you and your husband and hopefully you managed to find a new favourite Scotch!

Kindest regards,

Stephen Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
6.2 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#5 of 35 in Inverness
644 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
3.0 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#10 of 35 in Inverness
1,758 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culloden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culloden House

Address: Culloden, Inverness IV2 7BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#7 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#9 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: $161 - $560 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Culloden House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conde Nast Gold list property, Georgian Country House which boasts first class service in the Capitol of the Scottish Highlands. Award winning cuisine, magnificent walled garden and gracious rooms await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Culloden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culloden House Hotel Inverness
Culloden Hotel Inverness
Culloden House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing