We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loving our wee stay!”
Review of Culloden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Culloden House
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loving our wee stay!”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

We were married in Culloden House 2 years ago and my hubby decided it was high time we returned. This time with our 8 month old baby and of course, our dog. We were given a room at the end of the house which was brilliant as it had an outside door to let the dog in and out. Massive lounge and 2 bathrooms, ideal for baby to have her own "room". We were given a lovely welcome, and it was so nice to see Kyle and Lorraine again. Kyle deserves the award he was recently given for hospitality as he is on hand constantly and made us want for nothing. Room immaculate, lovely rainfall shower. Okay some reviews make comment of the decor being dated but you wouldnt want to walk in and find the place 'modern' - the decor fits in exactly well with a property over 300 years old - CLASSIC. Breakfast was cooked to order - black pudding gorgeous! Accommodated with a (clean) high chair and cooked the baby porridge! Nothing to complain about. This place belongs in our hearts and I do not understand why people are rating Culloden with one or two stars. They have obviously never stayed in a high class establishment before and I really dont know what they are expecting?! Anyway we love it, so five stars to Stephen, Murray, Kyle and the Team!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank becky48516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    93
    31
    15
    6
See reviews for
105
283
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ardersier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Culloden House recently for the night, we would have been better staying at the nearby Smithton Hotel. Although at times it did feel like we were in a care home.

I have been in Culloden a number of times over the years with work for dinner and I always leave disappointed with the quality of food. It's a genuine flashback to the early 80's, which is no good thing. Boring, predictable menus, childish plating of dishes. The food is very plain and sadly often cold. The food lacked seasoning and freshness. Vegetables had been microwaved. When I asked about the freshness of the fish I was told it was frozen which I already suspected. Surely fresh fish isn't too much too expect when paying the premium charged here.

The restaurant on the whole is cringeworthy. Scottish Chef of the year takes the helms in the kitchen though, ha, I have eaten better in pop up kitchens than the dire food dished up here. Overpricing is a usual theme at Culloden. 3 courses here can be more expensive than restaurants in Scotland rated by Michelin. The dining room is very dated, along with the rest of the hotel needs a total refurb.

Our room was cold, wifi didn't work, toilet had a foul odour, dusty, I could go on.

Breakfast was a let down too. Everything had been cooked earlier in the morning and by the time we had breakfast at 9:30, it was dry, cold, chewy and devoid of any flavour. Come on how hard is it to cook breakfast to order?! It wasn't like it was busy.

When I was asked on check out how everything was I politely gave my views and was shocked by the behaviour of the general manager. He was extremely unprofessional, threatening and incredibly rude. This is a man who obviously has issues and should not be dealing with customers if he cannot control himself. Having just handed over the best part of £500 I felt entitled to my opinion but obviously the truth hurt on this occasion.

I do not intend to ever return to the pretentious Culloden house and do not recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Ironman2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The second time we have stayed in Culloden house and once again we were not disappointed. Definitely our favorite hotel in Scotland, stunning rooms and beautiful grounds. The staff go above and beyond to make your stay very enjoyable and relaxing. Excellent selection of whisky!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Greg M,

What can I say! It was OUR pleasure to have you back and were only sorry we didnt have a celebrity guest for you too meet this time!!

After such a long journey to get too us we were delighted to welcome you and your family back.

Hope to see you again soon at your favourite Scottish Hotel!!

Kindest regards,

Stephen Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Culloden House Hotel is a very charming and grand mansion house close to Inverness and the Culloden Battlefield. We have been meaning to stay here for a long time and finally got round to it recently.

Our experience was very pleasant indeed. Staff were polite and attentive, food was lovely and our room was very nice too.

It's not cheap but we would definitely recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in the Inverness area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fyrishsunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Indeed the highest praise we can ask for is when a guest takes the time to tell people they enjoyed their stay, thank you!

"Happy to recommend" is what we aim for with all our guests, we dont always get it right but the percentages are highly stacked in our favour and we do listen to all the feedback that our valued guest give us.

Thanks once again and I hope to have the pleasure of your company in the future.

Kindest regards,

Stephen Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Some friends and I stayed at Culloden House for the Hogmanay celebrations. The service was exceptional and food was amazing. The staff have created a relaxed ambiance while still upholding very high standards.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akamichelob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
It was our pleasure! Delighted that your party had a great time and hope to see you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Stephen Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Excellent location surrounded by interesting walking routes and an enchanted Forrest trail. Staff extremely welcoming and professional and friendly throughout our stay. The character of the house enhanced our experience as we were made to feel special in a homely manner in a grand setting!

The food was exquisite width portions to fill even the hungriest of us and accommodating a vegetarian menu was seamless.

We would definitely recommend Culloden House as a place to enjoy the company of family and friends and to recharge your batteries.

Room Tip: We slept in room no 11. Large room with a very large comfortable bed with a sunny aspect an uninter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Sandra K,

My team & I are thrilled you enjoyed the New Year celebrations and thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review.

This was the first New Year that we put the Tasting menu on and it was a real success.

Kindest regards,

Stephen Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed here for a night and were in the annex a short walk from the main hotel. I felt a bit miffed at not being in the main hotel but the room we had was beautiful and I was quite happy with it. It had a big comfortable bed and a large bath which was great for a hot soak in after a long day. As we were getting ready for dinner, a lone piper started playing in the garden, loved it!
The food was very good and the staff were brilliant. We stayed at the Three Chimneys the week previously and felt the staff were too 'goody goody' the staff here were professional and very down to earth. You could happily stand next to them in a bar and chat away. The room was fairly expensive but we really enjoyed our stay and out of the Three Chimneys and Culloden house, we would go back to Culloden house in an instant. Beautiful location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rangadog T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Very high praise indeed! Thank you so much, it is always nice to hear that what we do, we do right and make a difference to peoples holidays, thank you!

Ill make sure I pass on your comments to all the team & I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Stephen Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
6.2 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#5 of 34 in Inverness
611 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
3.6 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culloden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culloden House

Property: Culloden House
Address: Culloden, Inverness IV2 7BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#7 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#9 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Culloden House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conde Nast Gold list property, Georgian Country House which boasts first class service in the Capitol of the Scottish Highlands. Award winning cuisine, magnificent walled garden and gracious rooms await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Culloden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culloden House Hotel Inverness
Culloden Hotel Inverness
Culloden House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing