We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning hotel and grounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Culloden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Culloden House
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning hotel and grounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel was beautiful, lovely grounds,very nice staff and good food.only downside was we had a slightly uncomfy bed.Nice touch with the bagpiper playing before dinner. Inverness close by.We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lipstick55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, Jim the Piper will be thrilled to hear you enjoyed his piping! Hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Stephen Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    87
    28
    15
    6
See reviews for
97
271
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is the only place to stay if you are going to Inverness. We stayed 2 nights and it was a dream come true for me. The room was large. Our room faced the rear lawn. At 7pm a bagpiper played in the back of the house both nights we were there. The gardens were beautiful. This place is expensive but worth it for any historian. The food was excellent and the dinner was priced well. Breakfast was included and was delicious. This is not handicap accessible from what we could see.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASurak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear ASurak,

Nice little touches such as Jim the Piper remind you that you are in Scotland!

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments regarding dinner, Michael our Executive Chef and his Brigade work hard to ensure you enjoy a true "Highland" dining experience.

We look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon.

Kindest regards,

Stephen Davies, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I'll start by saying that a lot has happened in the year since our wedding here so much so I can't believe I haven't written the review yet!! My review says October 2012 but it was February 2012. We had our whole wedding party to stay at Culloden and enjoyed two nights all together. The ceremony room was exactly as we wanted, the food was outstanding, there was perfection all round. Any little blips Stephen must've taken care of without us noticing. We look back at our photos all the time with big smiles on our faces. Our family still talks about the whole experience and how they've never been to a wedding quite like it.

Stephen, Murray and Kyle - we will be back next year with our little girl Honor and Max the dog. Big kisses to the staff at this top hotel!x

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becky48516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Becky,

Thank you for your lovely review!

Luckily I didnt have to iron out any little blips as Murray is fantastic at planning, Murray, Kyle and the rest of the team do a fantastic job and it was just such an honour to ensure that your special day was perfect.

Look forward to catching up with you on your return visit.

Kindest regards,

Stephen Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were supposed to be sleeping in a prestigious 4* hotel but felt we had walked into the shell of a classy establishment.
The double stairway, no elevator, was not a problem for us but would have been for anyone with mobility issues (or just a tired elderly couple). We had two rooms and both had problems with the flushing of the toilets. We did indeed, as other reviewers have mentioned, have heated towel racks but these and the entire bathroom furnishing was old and outdated. At the bottom of our 1970s (or earlier?) towel rack there were wires sticking out tied up with scotch tape. The bathtub was antique to say the least. The water ran either freezing or scorching hot. The actual rooms were nice, the mattress comfortable, the temperature good.
Our suitcases were brought up by a staff member that then served us drinks; he was not the only multi-purpose staff member so yes, we too appreciated their versatility. We asked a few questions during the course of our stay and were always helped and treated politely.
The lounge areas were two: one a bit cosier (but the actual temperature was quite low) and the other larger, grander but complete impersonal, sad and creepy at the same time and on the whole not relaxing to sit in.

Dinner at the restaurant was overpriced. Yes, the food was good. But the price was way, way WAY too high. We had:
Salmon starter, which was average;
Mushroom starter (I didn't note the name of the dishes, my apologies) which was good but also not in the "exciting" gastronomy zone;
a decent steak with a good serving of sides;
a tiny portion of lamb ribs, which were also good;
two delicious haggis "stacks", which were incredibly good (the best of the meal).
As a dessert two fellow guests asked for a bowl of Scottish strawberries. A handful of cut strawberries arrived, together with my small portion of Pavlova (which could have been better). In the end we checked the bill: my Pavlova (dessert offered in the menu) cost 9 pounds, each bowl of strawberries...10 pounds. Disgraceful.

The gardens are beautiful, the walled garden a pleasure to walk in.

On the whole a good stay but not to the standard of a 4* hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margherita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Margherita B,

I was sorry to learn of your under par experience and can only apologies if we did not live upto your expectations.

I thank you for your kind comments regarding our steam, we are lucky to have such a great long serving team and is so common in smaller country house retreats we are all "hands on" and multi skill.

I have checked the rooms that you stayed in, our maintenance manager did find your handle loose and did rectify the problem but only after your departure, I apologies for that.

Our toilets are fitter with water saving devices as part of a local authority requirement, they take 3-5 minutes to refill full following on from being used, on checking I personally did not find any fault in either room.

I am sorry you didnt enjoy your dining experience, we are firtunate to have a good kitchen team who do work hard and use the best local produce. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to Michael Simpson our Executive Chef.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure of your company in the future and I would be happy to personally handle and future visit.

Kind regards,

Stephen Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Outstanding experience in historic mansion. Staying in the same room as royalty. Outstanding restaurant. Accommodating staff. What could be better? Close to town And sightseeing attractions. Concierge services.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Andrew T,

There are too few country houses in the Highlands and it is a great experience enjoying the history and style that was so popular centuries ago.

Thank you for your kind review and hopefully we have enticed you to come stay again.

Kind regards,

Stephen Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Culloden House is off the charts. The Adams house is beautiful, the lawns manicured, the walled garden much more attractive then some of the more famous gardens in the UK especially because of it's serenely private nature.
The staff is excellent and take real pride in making guests feel comfortable and well looked after in this country house environment. The only one negative comment is to make sure you get a big bed as the four poster bed we slept in was attractive but too small.
The food at dinner was fabulous, smallish portions of delicious things, whereas breakfast was anything from continental to a heart stopping Scottish breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
I doubt there are many more splendid views available when you first arrive and see the striped lawn with Culloden in the background, it does look spectacular and Cyril our groundsman puts a lot of effort into ensuring it looks good.

Thank you for all your comments, I agree that some beds should be bigger and will pass your comments onto the owners.

Hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Stephen Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night here, just to say that we had stayed one night in a castle. This hotel is very beautiful, the grounds are immaculate and the flower garden is calming after a long day. The staff were all courteous and helpful. This is a beautiful and relaxing place. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Cindy L,

Thank you for your lovely review, and I am pleased you managed to relax and enjoy all that the house had to offer, rooms such as our Adam's Lounge and Library Bar are fantastci for lounging in and enjoying some afternoon tea or reading a book.

Hope to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Stephen Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
5.8 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
6.2 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#6 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
3.6 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culloden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culloden House

Property: Culloden House
Address: Culloden, Inverness IV2 7BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#7 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#9 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Culloden House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conde Nast Gold list property, Georgian Country House which boasts first class service in the Capitol of the Scottish Highlands. Award winning cuisine, magnificent walled garden and gracious rooms await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Culloden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culloden House Hotel Inverness
Culloden Hotel Inverness
Culloden House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing