We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grande Dame”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Culloden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Culloden House
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Grande Dame”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Culloden House for 3 nights and had the best service, food and drink possible. The staff was superb in every way. How they managed to drag my heavy suitcases up the stairs is still a wonder. We ate dinner in their dining room twice to rave reviews. If you are looking for a place to try the Scottish specialty of haggis (and you should) this is the place. The chef is gifted and we thoroughly enjoyed the cuisine. This is a great place to stay, just a couple of miles from Inverness but far enough away from the noise and the hustle and bustle. Truly a grand establishment!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChefBette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Our Haggis is by far the best in the local area!! I am delighted you entered into the "Scottish" experience and enjoyed it! Being Grade A listed we do not have the luxury of lifts but by carrying the suitcases up to guest rooms not only do we save our guests from having to do so but it helps us keep fit!

Hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Stephen Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    86
    28
    15
    6
See reviews for
97
270
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

On arrival we were greeted very warmly by staff. We were taking 2 our room and were informed of what the hotel had 2 offer. We were then shown all about room and asked if we required anything. Later that night we ordered room service which was lovely and delivered very fast. When we woke up our paper that we ordered was outside our door. Breakfast was lovely cooked 2 order and the tea and coffee was served in pure silver. The service was excellent and we would deffenetly visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heather m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, I will ensure that I pass them onto all of the team.

We do try to create an informal relaxed guest experience yet maintain the essence of a traditional Country House, hopefully we will have the pleasure of your company in the future.

Kind regards,

Stephen Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Not just a country hotel,but a fantastic country hotel with great food well prepared and served.
The staff where always there but never in your face with the best of scottish and a bit of irish charm.
The hotel is well presented clean in an excellant location for Inverness,AND HIGHLY RECOMMENED
And as other people have said ask for their shortbread

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor and very quite looking out over the front grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank grandaddave1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Its always heart warming when we know we've fulfilled guests expectations, thank you for your kind comments and I will ensure they are passed onto all of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back and will ensure we are well stocked on shortbread!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed for two nights last April and it was simply awesome. Room was superb, food was amazing and the place just oozed with history. Going back again in April 2013.

Highly recommend and a great experience

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We look forward to welcoming you back in April! We will pass on your past compliments to the kitchen and look forward to ensuring another first class stay on your return!

Stephen Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

What a wonderful and friendly place - beautiful rooms, amazing gardens, and the most perfect setting.

Murray always looks after us with charm and attention to detail.

And never forget to ask for their shortbread...

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrewgbale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We always try to emulate a "homely" atmosphere at Culloden and are delighted that you were absorbed by the experience. Ill pass on your kind comments to Murray and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Stephen Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in September and there were many positives but one big negative.
First the positives- Excellent staff all around- they could not have been friendlier or more accomodating, beautiful exterior and gardens, Restuarant was excellent. They were very accommodating by serving tea and shortbread ( which is outstanding) whenever requested. Our room was very large, big dressing room, and the bathroom was modern, spacious and had the wonderful rain shower head and towel warmer. It was very clean.
The negative- our bed was lumpy, worn, sheets didn't even fit it properly. The sheets and blanket literally did not fit across the bed to cover two people. We were quite uncomfortable and disappointed after having read the great reviews and awards this property has recently received.
All the Culloden House needs is an immediate investment in new high end bedding.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for pointing out the bedding issue, unfortunately we did have a problem with a team member but are happy to reply that this issue has been resolved. I will ensure your kind comments are passed onto the team, our shortbread is well renowned and I am delighted you enjoyed it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed here for two night - 29th and 30th September. Beautiful house (from the outside) with a rich history and a superb walled garden. But the rooms ........Had to request tea and coffee making facilities (kettle and tetley tea bags and instant dried coffee) and no mini bar. Confirmation of booking stated premium bedding including Egyptian cotton linens, triple sheeting and down duvet - infact well worn cotton sheets, no triple sheeting and synthetic duvet filling. Booking confirmation also stated amenities such as slippers - none present and desk with ergonomic chair - actually standard upright chair. Decor in definite need of an update both in the rooms and throughout the hotel. Very disappointed. Saving grace was the pleasant staff and the delicious breakfast but really, for a hotel of this 'standard' you would expect this and much more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our team & breakfast, I will ensure they are passed on to all concerned. I was disturbed to read your other comments and investigated the issues further. It appears you made your rservation through a well known third party website who listed the hotel amenities incorrectly and not as authorised by us, we have sinced contacted the company and amended the amenity listings to proper reflect the correct amenities per room type Slippers are an amenity which are included in Superior and Suite accommodations, tea and coffee trays are provide on request but we do prefer to deliver freshly brewed tea or coffee on a complimentary basis, we do not offer mini bars. I apologise that your stay was not as expected but hope the above information clears up some of your concerns.

Stephen Davies - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
5.8 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
6.2 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#5 of 34 in Inverness
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
1,633 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
3.6 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culloden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culloden House

Property: Culloden House
Address: Culloden, Inverness IV2 7BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#7 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#9 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Culloden House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conde Nast Gold list property, Georgian Country House which boasts first class service in the Capitol of the Scottish Highlands. Award winning cuisine, magnificent walled garden and gracious rooms await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Culloden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culloden House Hotel Inverness
Culloden Hotel Inverness
Culloden House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing