We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing”
Review of Culloden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Culloden House
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We had hoped this hotel would be a wonderful experience. It was not! The room smelled, the toilet didn't work and we had cob webs hanging from the lights. Very expensive and not worth a penny of it. I could go on about our stay with details but I will simply say, don't stay here. Drive up and take a picture of the lawn, but don't bother walking in the door.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank NARSDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenmanager, Manager at Culloden House, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

We were upset that you didn't enjoy your stay. Given the extensive correspodance between us prior to your stay and the fact you stayed two nights, we would have hoped you might have taken time to discuss any issues with us too enable us to correct them. With regards to the room smelling, in both our inspection before your check in and after you posted the review, we found this not to be the case. Our toilets are fitted with water saving devices which require time between use to allow them to fill, normally only a couple of minutes; we have investigated the issue further and all appears to be in order.

Stephen Davies - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 617 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just awful, despite the very nice manager. We were told by locals that Culloden House was purchased in the last decade by an American venture fund and clearly they are hoping to suck every last nickel out of it. Again, according to locals, the fund sold off every last stick of valuable furniture and replaced what they took with junk. Carpets and upholstery have clearly not been replaced in ages and work is LONG overdue. We paid rack rate for two large suites (size at least was fine) but both suites were unfortunately shabby, tired rooms with uncomfortable mattresses, lumpy pillows, and ageing upholstery, nicked, scratched and stained furniture. Disgusting mold on the shower curtains (I'll gladly provide photos if anyone doesn't believe...). I mean, really? How much does a new plastic shower curtain cost??? The food was barely adequate - edible, yes, but a FAR cry from the delicious local/sustainable/seasonal fare we enjoyed at the nearby Boath House (where we escaped for both breakfasts and dinner, once we discovered it). Culloden House was a hugely overpriced disaster. Every other hotel we stayed in while in Scotland was so much nicer. For those looking for recommendations, we enjoyed Prestonfields (Edinburgh), Boath House (near Inverness) and Blythswood Square (Glasgow) and would gladly return to any of them. Never to this dump.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank WeLovSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 10, 2012

We are distressed by recent unhappy reviews and will be taking steps to address the complaints and communicate the changes to you. But first I want to address this reviewer’s statement that he heard we were a “ venture capitalist fund destroying the property by selling off anything of value and replacing it with junk.” We are hoteliers, not venture capitalists, and have been in this business for many years. We love rescuing historic properties and restoring them so our guests can enjoy the history, culture and luxury enjoyed by prior generations. We have spent well over a million pounds restoring Culloden House since we bought in 16 years ago, most recently restoring the walled garden – it was derelict – and redecorating the public spaces with fresh carpet, wallpaper, paint, all new wingback chairs, settees and more. Thank you for reading this and we hope to see you! Susan Cunningham, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

It is hard to fault Culloden House. My wIfe and I stay in the Garden Pavilion, a georgous building offering just four beautiful suites, around 100 m from the main building. The two downstairs suites have direct access to the extensive gardens - ideal for our Labrador, who is warmly welcomed and, with so much ground, invariably well exercised! The food is excellent and service prompt, friendly and helpful - nothing seems too much trouble. A true 'highland experience'!

We would not even consider staying elsewhere when in the vicinity.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank RoadsterMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you! Your kind words mean so much to all of the team and we look forward to welcoming you "home"!

Stephen Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I feel bad panning a place as most everywhere has redeeming qualities. And many TripAdvisor readers seem to love this historic property. To be sure, Culloden House had some strengths, but to us, far too few. We looked forward to our visit, but expectation collided unpleasantly with reality. Based on reviews here, and the hotel's website and apparent reputation, we anticipated a first-class country house experience for relaxing a few days after a number of busy travel days. The drive up did not disappoint. It is magical.

We opted for a suite (for which we paid full rack rate), wanting the highest level of accommodation. Our room(s) were huge. I appreciate "old" as well as the concept of shabby chic, but there nothing chic to it; it was just shabby. Most of the furniture in our room and in the common areas was not of good quality when it was new (in the 1970s I would guess) and some of it just plain (cheap) ugly. Our pillows felt like they were made of foam lumps the size of cotton balls. The sheets were nice. The mold in the shower was not. Nor were the many stains on the carpeting and upholstery (both in our room and in the common areas). The seat cushions on the dining room chairs were, well, disgusting. I didn't see evidence the place was ever really decorated; rather it was a mish-mash, tired at best, trying valiantly to shine under the illusion of faded grandeur.

My husband sensed the receptionist seemed to know she represented something less than what it ought to be, that she seemed somehow apologetic. Perhaps he is right. Perhaps this was the bit of reserve we felt in most of the staff. The people were pleasant enough and helpful, but the little nicities that make for a top-notch experience were missing. I certainly don't blame them.

But the owners? They should really give the place some attention.

Is Culloden House over sold/over promised, or did we over expect? I don't know. But if you are looking for a reasonably comfortable, three-star lodging in an historic building in an interesting location, go for it. But if you are wanting first class, try elsewhere. (We went directly from here to Inverlochy Castle; the contrast couldn't be greater.)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank hoh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We can't get enough of Culloden House. On our most recent visit the weather was supurb, the staff was friendly and the room was great! I have read a couple of these reviews whining about internet service and old decor....you're in a historic site that transcends the mundane....please find a Holiday Inn Express and leave us the timeless classic that is Culloden House.

The total staff experience - from front desk to housekeeping - is excellent. The dining room is very good, with staff who have served us for many years. We can't wait to return to the Highlands!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the front lawn from the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Scotland--a land of great people, better food than I expected-- and NO air conditioning! Another installment on my travels in the British Isles. The Culloden House, as I was reminded on several occasions "like the battle", sits on beautiful grounds with well-manicured lawns, Scotch Pine trees and the occasional cattle and sheep wandering in the background. This place brings to mind the old description from the US Batman TV series of "stately Wayne Manor". Unfortunately, no Batpoles or secret elevators-- in fact, once again NO elevators or "lifts" of any type (a pain), which can be problematic for older or disabled people.

This staff,so far, wins the award for most prompt, courteous and accommodating. This even extends into the air conditioning issue- did I mention they have NO AIR CONDITIONING- when I was sitting in their almost stiffiling hot dining room with completely closed windows "due to being concerned the wind would blow the candles out" (???!!). Fortunately, a young gentleman, who I think was the assistant manager, finally got permission or just got the cojones to open one window as far as it would open. NOTE TO MANAGEMENT: if you think you are saving money by NOT having air conditioning, think again 1) with global warming - and it is happening- it's not.a debate, it's going to get hotter in the northern climates- and you're going to start having dissatisfied customers 2) from what I could tell, every light in at least the dinning room was incandescent- folks, we're talking multiple hefty chandeliers here-- you think that's saving you money? 3) eventhough you have to open the windows, and this ihas been in all the hotels I have stayed in so far in tnphe UK, there are no insect screens- this is not particularly good for sanitation/disease transmission possibilities.

I digress, speaking of food, excellent at the Culloden House. Good selection of wines. I was particularly impressed with the chicken liver pâté which had a very pleasant smooth, creamy texture with some sweeter fruit confit accompaniments. The main was an excellent sliced lamb, only small to moderate portion sizes, BTW, with root vegetables. Presentation of the meal was good.

The guest room was adequat, a bit small, but was very clean with a good sized bath. The floors in both the room (carpeted) and the bath (tiled) squeaked quite noticeably with every step. Wifi was free, but spotty at times, with fair signal strength. The bed left a lot to be desired- harder mattress that seemed to have no ticking or batting and in a few places, you could feel the wire springs- hard to get comfortable. And of course, I had to sleep all night with the window open with a small fan blowing on me- due to NO AIR CONDITIONING!

Overall impression: a 2 to 3 star building with a lot of history, with 4 star food and a 5 star staff. As in the title, there is a large glass-framed piece of tartan material that apparently was part of the bed covers of "Bonnie Prince Charlie's" bed when he stayed there (? two) days before the Battle of Culloden--a remarkable artifact!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mzed12007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were looking forward to our stay in this place and then were utterly disappointed. I had booked the room directly through the hotel and alerted them to the fact that we were traveling with our 17-yr-old daughter and hence needed accommodations for three adults. The website had promised "limited view onto premises" for the category of Classic rooms we were encouraged to select- in our case it meant that one of the two windows faced a wall just one foot away (and covering the window completely), while the other one was obstructed only half-way. The roll-away bed we were provide with would have been comfortable for a child up to pre-teen age, not older. Wireless web access did not work in our room, we had to sit in the hallway (granted, in an old building difficult to achieve), but the worst part was a shower curtain streaked with black mold. We were too jet-lagged to request/move to a different room once we noticed it. The manager was graceful when we expressed our utter disappointment, and 50 pounds were taken off the bill which still left us with $280.- ---- absolutely not in syn with the value we got. There are better options in the vicinity for our next stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Doro1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
3.6 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#2 of 36 in Inverness
681 reviews
5.8 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#6 of 36 in Inverness
1,849 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
3.6 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#14 of 36 in Inverness
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culloden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culloden House

Address: Culloden, Inverness IV2 7BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#7 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#9 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: $162 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Culloden House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conde Nast Gold list property, Georgian Country House which boasts first class service in the Capitol of the Scottish Highlands. Award winning cuisine, magnificent walled garden and gracious rooms await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Culloden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culloden House Hotel Inverness
Culloden Hotel Inverness
Culloden House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing