We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Ranked #28 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Hospitality”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

It is the people that makes the hotel.
Special mention super staff Ms Laura and Mr James from Reception desk.
The hotel does need some maintenance, but still manageable.
The location in a busy area, can become little noisy during the night time.

Room Tip: higher floor facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review your stay.
I am glad that you enjoyed your visit to Inverness and will use you constructive feedback as we continually try to improve our service.
I hope that we can welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    333
    346
    150
    72
See reviews for
121
489
71
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We booked into the Mercure as a bit of a treat whilst spending a few days travelling the highlands with my partners family from New Zealand. We had booked 2 double rooms for 2 nights and were looking forward to exploring Inverness from a city centre location. The room we were given was absolutely tiny with a double bed pushed up against the wall so it was difficult to climb in and out of bed at night without waking my partner. The bathroom was also very small and the plumbing made a hell of a racquet at night......and the toilet bubbled continuously.

I asked at reception if it was possible to move to another room for our second night and luckily we were moved......the size of this double room didn't even compare to the tiny room we were in the previous night so I'm unsure how the hotel can advertise double rooms which are so different and charge the same price!? Apart from the noisy seagulls this room was fine......much more space and a bigger bed!

We went for dinner in the restaurant which didn't have much of a menu......the portions were small and the steaks weren't served with the peppercorn sauce that was advertised on the menu and the salads had no dressing. I informed the waitress who didn't do anything about it!

The hotel breakfast was ok......the usual continental and hot breakfast.....a bit pricy at £10 per head but lots of it so I won't complain about that!

I also think that he car parking should have been included in the room rate as what use is a hotel in the highlands without a car park!

I'm usually not one to complain but thought this hotel could do with a bit of a shake up as the Mercure is a fantastic brand that is being let down by this one hotel.



Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and share your constructive feedback. I believe we have already discussed your stay but once again my sincere apologies that we let you down.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Inverness hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is what's right: Lovely staff, reasonable breakfast, good location, excellent and free wi fi.
This is what's wrong: Noise - Our first room on the town side was plagued by loud music from a nearby pub, seagulls and drunks. We asked to be moved to the river side where there was no pub but we still had drunks and seagulls and also loud voices (Russian, Polish?) from the bin area directly below our room, and slamming doors.
We were on the fifth floor where all the rooms are fitted with deathtrap doors. They are extremely narrow (about half normal size) and set on vicious springs. It is impossible to close the door quietly. In order to enter the room one person has to step sideways into the bathroom. If you are in any way frail do not take one of these rooms! If you are fat - do not take one of these rooms - you will get stuck in the narrow entrance corridor. You need to be strong to open the door and it is impossible to hold it open for any length of time. When the guy next door slams his door, our bed shakes! The lifts were not working on day one (phew!) and the roof sprang a leak. There are still buckets and bad smells on the 5th floor on day four of our stay. The heating is an ancient radiator with no in-room controls and there is no fan or air-conditioner. The carpets are stained and very tired and generally the hotel looks tired and run down - which is how I felt after a few nights here. I would avoid like the plague!

Room Tip: we tried and it didn't work!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justjennie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, please accept my sincere apologies that your stay did not meet your expectations and fell below our normal standards.
We did experience a technical issue with our lifts but this was dealt with as quickly as possible and they were back running as normal. We have been carrying out some extensive repair work on our roof but I am please to say this is now completed and there are no further leaks. I appreciate all your constructive feedback and will use this as we continually try to improve our service.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business in March. The staff were very attentive and a real credit to the hotel. Room was sufficient, but hadn't seen a duster in a while. Breakfast was good. Spa facilities were tired jaccuzi out of service. Great location, great potential if there was a little investment.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank been-a-ramblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I appreciate your constructive and positive feedback. We will use this as we continually try to improve our service.
I do hope that we can welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

As a regular boarder in the Inverness area I booked in here for the first time due to demand elsewhere. This was the most expensive room I have been charged in the area.

Cracking location wasted on the hotel. The fabric of the building was awful and some housekeeping standards were very poor.

On plus side the bed was comfy and the staff service was pleasant, particularly on reception.

My room was on the 5th floor. The bath was ancient and dirty. I wasn't in best mood on reaching my room having had the lift doors open to be greeted by 2 wet floor signs, 3 buckets of water, a wet carpet smell and water running through the roof which continued all evening. Not a mention or warning of this from anyone.

I considered contacting reception but on checking Tripadvisor realised that every other negative comment is met with defensive excuses by a management team conspicuous by absence during the stay. I felt embarrassed for the many tourists whose stay in this beautiful city may be tainted by a stay at Mercure.

I will be sharing my photos with the hotels head office.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 1314queens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
I am sorry that your stay fell below our normal standards and did not meet your expectations. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you, if you would like to contact myself or my Operations Manager, Suzan Latto, at the Hotel then this would be appreciated.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
173 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Unusually I did not read the reviews on here prior to my visit this week. Having now done so it does make me realise how extremely high people's expectations are these days, especially when I hear about complaints to do with seagulls and Scots enjoying their leisure time in the city!

From the outside this hotel is not the most attractive building, I have to admit. I am guessing it replaced an earlier building and was built at a time when we were not overly concerned with architecture. However, inside is a different story.
I had a room overlooking the river, with a fabulous view. The room size was perfectly adequate as was the bathroom. Perhaps some of the guests who think the rooms are small should stay in some London hotels where rooms are little more than cupboards.
The restaurant and bar also have great views and as I was staying alone I was able to enjoy the views and watch the world go by whilst I enjoyed good quality food and drink.
It was the hottest day of the year so far when I stayed, but I didn't even notice there was no air con. I didn't miss it, but was able to open my window. Yes, I could hear the seagulls, which I found quite charming.
All the staff were very friendly and professional at all times. Sadly I don't visit Inverness very often, but when I do, I will stay here.

Thank you.

Room Tip: The river side (Ness Bank) does have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am delighted that you enjoyed your short visit. I appreciate your honest, realistic feedback and hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.1 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Columba Hotel, Inverness
Columba Hotel, Inverness
#26 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Inverness Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Inverness Hotel

Property: Mercure Inverness Hotel
Address: 33 Church Street, Inverness IV1 1DX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Inverness Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Mercure Inverness Hotel situated in the heart of Inverness' vibrant city centre on the bank of the River Ness, with the bustle of the thirving shops and local nightlife right on the doorstep. You can't get more central than this! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Inverness Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inverness
Inverness Ramada
Mercure Inverness Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing