We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beds, great room.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Our entry into Inverness revealed a Mercure located in the middle of the town and close to eat spots and most other things as well as Loch Ness within close walking or driving distance.

Our family was a little pricey being 140 quid but it was central and the beds were soft and clean and the room was nice and spacious and clean as well. A good sized bathroom which had good hot water and accompanying soaps and shampoos was welcome after a long day driving.

The only problem (if I can put it that way) is that the Inverness council REALLY needs to cull those damn seagulls that crap EVERYWHERE. Every building, window, footpath and car is covered in seagull bombing that looks like a bucket of ice cream when it hits it's target, and that's very frequent, apart from that and the feathered sky pirates waking everybody in the town up at daybreak as they fight, it was a really pleasant stay.

The staff were good, the room and fittings were good and apart from the price which we felt a little expensive, it was a great stopover.

Would I stay here again? If the seagull is considered a national pest and culled, it will be high on the list...

Room Tip: We had a quad room on the fifth floor which was very spacious, no real problems encountered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review your visit, I am glad that the Hotel was able to suit your needs and you enjoyed your stay with us.
The local gulls are an issue for us, the local council have been working on reducing the numbers and hopefully we will start to see a difference soon.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

713 - 719 of 1,207 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed at the Mercure hotel as part of a larger group tour.
Pluses: location, beds very comfortable, bar
Minuses: tiny confusing uncomfortable bathroom, dirty, run down balcony with no access, seagulls.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I appreciate your constructive and positive feedback. Please be assured that this feedback will be used as we continually try to improve our service.
I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your visit to our country.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night in a "double privilege room" for £119/ night. We just walked in without any reservation and were lucky to have found the room.
The location is pretty central and very convenient for public transport.
Checking-in was pretty slow (slower than most hotels I've stayed at), but we checked out without any delays.
Room: The "double privilege room" is very spacious and clean. The double bed was very comfortable. Bedroom slippers, bathrobes and coffee (Nespresso machine with cheaper brand coffee pods) making facilities were provided. Bathroom is very small with basic functional amenities.
Parking is at the back of the hotel and is at £2/night.
Overall cleanliness was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azlina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am glad that you enjoyed your short visit and I appreciate your constructive feedback. Please be assured that your comments will be shared with our team and used constructively as we continually try to improve our service.
I do hope that you enjoyed the rest of your visit to our country.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed here in July with friends visiting from the USA. We had adjoining rooms on the 4th floor overlooking the street - other rooms overlook the river and car park. The noise we had to suffer was not at all funny with a variety of seriously loud music and foul mouthed abuse coming into the room, despite windows being closed. To keep out the noise, you close the windows - you close the windows and the room heats up so it was a lose, lose position. So loud was the music it was impossible to read a book - seriously noisy. We also had issues with a shower that sprayed up the wall from behind the tap, rather than through the shower head.
Whilst this hotel is clean and well positioned you would be ill advised to stay here when there are other better hotels in the area. All four of us were shattered next day which is not what you pay for and it meant we did not get as much done next day as we had planned. If you are going to Inverness stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you have to stop at this hotel INSIST on a room overlooking the river - otherwise go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review your visit. My sincere apologies that you were disturbed by the noise from our city centre location, we have recently installed new windows fitted with an acoustic vent to reduce such noise but we do realise this may not be enough for some guests and are currently looking at other solutions.
I appreciate your feedback and this will be used as we continually try to improve our service.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We were booked into the Mecure on a Globus Tour. We were given a first floor room actually one level up from the lobby. The disability room was as far from the elevator as you could get ... quite a hike for my crippled partner. On arrival the room was opened.. I thought "how nice" got us settled and went down to a group dinner. There we sat next to a couple whose luggage was lost in the hotel. After several hours it was discovered it was placed in an empty room instead of the room assigned. The manager came to the table with a weak apology and feeble excuse. He told the couple to please have a drink, which they accepted. At the end of the evening they received a bill for the drink. On a return down the long hall to our room we were locked out. The keys didn't work. Luckily we had the hotel phone number in our cell. The hotel sent up a man in about five minutes while my partner had to stand in the hall. The issue was not our keys, but a broken lock. After about 15 minutes with the man using an electronic box after getting the door open, he told us to go inside and he would fix it from the outside. We thought all was well...Wrong! First there was an issue with the bathroom lights. The wall switch was replaced with a help light. There were help pull cords in the room but a tub too high to get into. In the morning we discovered that the man had not fixed the lock. We complained at the desk again and about not knowing the location of the light switch. They said it would be fixed by our return from the morning tour. On return the keys were fixed and we were assured that there was a sign on the light switch to the bathroom. After another long hike down the hall at 3 p.m. the room was not made up, though the manager knew we were gone all day and there was no sign on the light switch. At this point my partner, who was exhausted, called and asked to speak to the manager about what he presumed to be illegal light switches. They came up told us they were legal and told us to just pull the cord. There was indeed a cord there hung from the ceiling just like all the help cords with no differentiation. On check out day one of the elevators was stuck between floors with people in it. Thank goodness it was not us. The hotel is badly in need of restoration. Lots of noise from adjacent bars closing.

Room Tip: Don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buttle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and my sincere apologies that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay. I would appreciate it if you could contact my Operations Manager, Suzan Latto, or myself at the Hotel to discuss this.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed at the Mercure hotel for 2 nights on a business trip. I found the staff very friendly, clean and comfortable room. The meals I had were of a good quality and well presented. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and colleagues.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Sikorskys92a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you choosing to stay with us recently and for taking the time to review your stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Inverness.
I do hope that we can welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Generally very impressed with this hotel. Great location in the middle of town, friendly and helpful staff, spacious and open reception and lobby (with a pool table), great breakfast, comfortable rooms (with free box of chocolates!)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nph32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and also for taking the time to review your stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Mercure Inverness and the chocolates in your room!
I do hope that we can welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Inverness
Jurys Inn Inverness
#13 of 36 in Inverness
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Columba Hotel, Inverness
Columba Hotel, Inverness
#28 of 36 in Inverness
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 36 in Inverness
1,303 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Inverness Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Inverness Hotel

Address: 33 Church Street, Inverness IV1 1DX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: $76 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Inverness Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Mercure Inverness Hotel situated in the heart of Inverness' vibrant city centre on the bank of the River Ness, with the bustle of the thirving shops and local nightlife right on the doorstep. You can't get more central than this! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Inverness Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inverness
Inverness Ramada
Mercure Inverness Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing