We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

This hotel is an excellent base for visiting Inverness, its location is close to many restaurants, attractions and bus and train stations. The staff are very pleasant and professional and willing to assist if required. We had a river view room which was lovely and it was clean and well presented. The car parking facility is another bonus in a city centre location. The only reason its not a five star review is because I telephoned to ask about accessing the on site parking prior to arrival and spoke to Becky who was rude and abrupt when asked a simple query. Would recommend a stay here if Inverness.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara102007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, I am glad that you enjoyed the majority of your stay. We do not have any Becky working here but I will try to find out who you spoke to and ensure it doesnt happen again.
I hope that we can welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    323
    345
    148
    70
See reviews for
119
478
70
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

I spent five days here in one of their privilege rooms over looking the river.
I booked early and the price was very reasonable. The room was much bigger than i expected.
The pic ive included of the bed was after a tidy up of the room after day 3, not as we found on day one.
Parking was free as was the internet than run at good speed.
It was great to have a bath tub to relax in after walking the attractions.
Its position in the city center makes it ideal.
There were robes, slippers and a coffee machine that i never got round to using.
A ironing boad and iron wernt supplied but i didnt ask for them either. They may of had some somewhere. Staff were excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for sharing the lovely photos you took while staying with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the time to explore our lovely city.
I hope that we can welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

The hotel has an excellent location. I was surprised by the decadently large room by European standards, very nice view over the river, far more comfortable than anything I experienced in the whole Scotland. Parking was right on the river bank with easy access and lots of restaurants in walking distance. Yes, the entrance on the city side is close to a club, very noisy, lots of people hanging out on Saturday night but it was OK. I'll definitely stay there again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Calator438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and chose to share these views.
I hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Booked into the Mercure Inverness on a business trip. The hotel is in a central location with good access to the town and a well equipped gym, sauna and swimming pool in the lower ground floor. I stayed twice at this hotel on separate occasions during this trip. The first time was on the fifth floor in the front of the hotel, the noise from the street at 3am was ridiculous, I nearly went to the street myself to shut them up! For the second visit I requested the back of the hotel (top tip) and the room was very quiet all night. The wifi is rubbish so don't invest in the cost (~£9 a day) as it's not much better than the free wifi and certainly my 3G was faster. The breakfast is ok but make sure that you arrive early or the breakfast food sits on a heated counter drying out, as standard breakfast food is not cooked to order. The rooms are adequate; clean, equipped to a reasonable standard and comfortable. Little surprised to see graffiti on the wall of room 512 that hadn't been removed or repainted. All in all an adequate hotel for an overnight business stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank g30fftodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I appreciate your constructive feedback and will look into the issues you have mentioned.
I do hope that we can welcome you back to the Mercure Inverness in the future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

We spent a week-end at the Mercure Inverness in January 2014, the location is very central in the town centre, we arrived by train and it's a five minute walk from the train station.

We stayed in a superior room and it was OK for the money, not luxury but clean and comfortable. Other areas of the hotel were looking dated, windows are old and some carpets worn but not to the point of being unacceptable just probably in need or a refit.

The staff were all friendly and the breakfast buffet was good, hot English/Scottish breakfast items and coffee as you'd expect.

If you can get a good price for a room it's a good location, go for the rooms at the rear that over-look the river.

Room Tip: Choose superior rooms, at the rear, as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLR1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Mercure Inverness. I appreciate your constructive feedback, we do have a lengthy programme of work planned for the Hotel and hope to have this started very soon.
I am glad that you found our team friendly, I will share your thoughts with them and I am sure this will encourage them to keep up their hard work and efforts.
I hope that we can welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.1 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#22 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Columba Hotel, Inverness
Columba Hotel, Inverness
#26 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Inverness Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Inverness Hotel

Property: Mercure Inverness Hotel
Address: 33 Church Street, Inverness IV1 1DX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Inverness Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Mercure Inverness Hotel situated in the heart of Inverness' vibrant city centre on the bank of the River Ness, with the bustle of the thirving shops and local nightlife right on the doorstep. You can't get more central than this! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Inverness Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inverness
Inverness Ramada
Mercure Inverness Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing