We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and location; some problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Parking is limited, and it's not clear that as a resident you don't need to pay at the ticket machine, but you must ensure correct registration is given to reception. Car park is frequently blocked by delivery wagons so park near exit if you can.

From the car park, you have to take the lift to the first floor to get to reception. Again, this is not clear.

I'd recommend leaving the bags in the car until you've confirmed access to your room!

The first key card we were given didn't work. The second worked, but the room smelt strongly of cigarettes. This room, on the second floor, also had a small double bed against the wall, which is unacceptable for a couple.

We were then given a room on the third floor, but yet again the keycard didn't work. The next card worked on the second or third attempt, so we decided to live with it, and the room had a decent sized bed with access on both sides.

During this whole process the receptionist was very helpful and apologetic, and generally we found the service from the staff to be very good.

From reception, there is access directly onto the streets of Inverness centre, with plenty of shops and places to eat.

Breakfast had a good selection of hot and cold items from a well-stocked buffet.

Room Tip: Get a river-facing room to avoid noise. Insist on access to both sides of bed if more than one of yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark_f_peterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, I am sorry that the 1st room you were allocated was not acceptable and not to our usual standard. I am delighted that you found our team to be helpful and they will appreciate your comments.
I appreciate your constructive feedback and we will use this as we continually try to improve our service.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

860 - 866 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

Room 232 - right next to Bank Lane, it appears - kept awake from 23:00 until 03:30 by wandering drunks shouting at each other. Then wakened at 06:20 by a delivery lorry right underneath me, with a road sweeper shortly after. Gulls making a noise most of the night too. So, less than 3 hours sleep in a boiling hot room. Was completely knackered for my meeting the next morning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, I am sorry that it was not entirely satisfactory.
I appreciate your constructive feedback and we will use this as we continually try to improve our service.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Avamandina
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We booked this stay a year ago (to attend the Scottish Open) and received a good price. However we were allocated one of the tiny double rooms with the bed up against the wall. It overlooked the town and was very noisy late at night and early morning. Due to the heat (!?) the room was stifling which made it difficult to sleep. The staff were helpful and the location is very good but we are unlikely to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grumpywise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, I am sorry that it was not entirely satisfactory.
I appreciate your constructive feedback and we will use this as we continually try to improve our service.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Had a peaceful 1 night break in July at this contemporary hotel located just nine miles from the famous Loch Ness. On arrival the receptionist was very helpful in dealing with any queries. I was in a river view double room with a comfortable bed, flat screen TV and en suite bathroom facilities. You receive full access to the hotel's Sebastian Coe Health Club which includes a Finnish sauna, heated swimming pool, spa bath and gymnasium. The next morning a traditional selfservice buffet breakfast is included and the choices were excellent. I spent the morning exploring Inverness' historic attractions and took a peaceful stroll along the scenic River Ness.
My only complaint is that customers have to pay £2 for the car park per day (you are not told when you book). This is the only hotel I have ever stayed where car parking is charged!! Oh and be prepared to go to the car wash afterwards as well as the local Seagull population is very active!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bubbles73uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your very helpful review, we appreciate all feedback and will use your comments as we continually try to improve our service. I am glad that our team were able to help you, I will share your comments with them.
I am sorry that our local seagulls left their mark on your car, as you said they are very active at doing this!
I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

we booked 1 night and decided to make it 2 at short notice. We had paid £90 for the original night booked, but when calling to book for the night before, the hotel would not match the price, so we paid £100, but was told it was really £125. Thank goodness we didn't pay that, I think it is not worth the price, I have stayed in better IBIS budget hotels. When we arrived we were given a river view room which we liked but soon noticed that we were overlooking the roof and the fans from the restaurant were very noisy and because it is so hot we would need to keep the windows open. So we complained and were moved to street view room which was smaller and not so nice and much noisier due to street noise. Didn't seem much point complaining again. Also breakfast not that great - when we went to breakfast on first day, there were just a couple of people eating, so not busy but many tables were not cleared and so we couldn't sit by the window. Generally it was scruffy. The hotel is quite shabby so it definitely isn't worth the full rate. But it is central so if you need that it is an advantage.

Room Tip: look over river but higher than level 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 858Lyn59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback, it is always welcome and we use this as we try to improve our service. I am sorry that you encountered issues while staying with us. We do have a rolling programme of investment and improvement planned so I hope you will notice the changes if you choose to stay with us in the future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This was a disappointing hotel. The room was OK but not great. Toilet was difficult to flush. There was a steady stream of hotel water from faucet in bathtub but couldn't get the shower to work. Staff was notified twice about the problem but I felt like I was brushed off.

Good location in the heart of town on the river

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZ PAUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, I am glad you enjoyed our city centre location. Please be assured that we will take you constructive comments on board and use them as we try to improve our service.
I hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 36 in Inverness
1,284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Columba Hotel, Inverness
Columba Hotel, Inverness
#30 of 36 in Inverness
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#19 of 36 in Inverness
1,881 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Inverness Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Inverness Hotel

Address: 33 Church Street, Inverness IV1 1DX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: $85 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Inverness Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Mercure Inverness Hotel situated in the heart of Inverness' vibrant city centre on the bank of the River Ness, with the bustle of the thirving shops and local nightlife right on the doorstep. You can't get more central than this! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Inverness Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inverness
Inverness Ramada
Mercure Inverness Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing