We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dissapointment” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Inverness Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“dissapointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Where to start that is the point! Overall the hotel is nice looking but looks are very deceptive. The Lobby and reception area looks nice and professional however the rest of the hotel fails to live up to the same standards. The bedrooms where of a nice size but be warned the walls of the hotel are very thin!!. I recently stayed in room 212 and the rooms where so thin that nearly every night i could hear the bathroom taps dripping in the next room!!. And also avoid room 214 as the window won't open at all and the bottom of the room doors does not touch the floor with the carpet their is about a 2 inch gap between the bottom of the door and the carpet.The level of service was poor and this was clearly evident on my first morning when i was rudely awakened by the ringing of the hotels fire alarms and guests staying in the hotel at the time where given conflicting messages one member of staff told us to get out the rooms whilst another member of staff told us not to worry about the sound of the fire alarms. Now surely if the fire alarm is ringing then its best to evacuate the hotel to be on the safe side right? That's what i taught but no with the fire alarms still ringing we were told to just wait down in reception until further instructions. The breakfast was not what i expected!! Im used to staying in hotels and expect most breakfasts to largely the same. Oh how wrong i was the breakfast menu stated what was on the buffet however when you went up to the buffet half the items that were on the menu were not present throughout the whole length of my stay!! And when i asked a member of the breakfast staff for a pot of tea i never received it at all so im still waiting on my pot of tea. Overall the hotel looks nice but the looks are very deceptive my advice to the hotel is get some money and finish making the rest of the hotel look like the nice reception lobby area and then work on your standards and staffing issues and you might just have the makings of a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robross_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, I am dissapointed to hear that your stay was not to our usual standard and you were not satisfied. I would obviously like the opportunity to address your issues but feel that may be better in conversation so please feel free to contact me or my Operations Manager, Suzan Latto, at the Hotel where we will be happy to discuss your stay.
I would like to note that during your stay we had an issue with another guest setting our alarm system off with the shower in the room, when our staff told you not to worry we had already found this problem so knew there was no threat to any other guests.
As we were not given the opportunity to address these issues during your stay or on check out I would appreciate it if you could take the time to contact Suzan at your convenience.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    313
    336
    141
    68
See reviews for
116
462
67
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I found this hotel very comfortable. My room was facing the street and I was in no way affected by noise..it was very quiet (perhaps this was because it was a Monday night). I found the front desk very helpful and accomodating.
I needed and additional pillow to prop myself and the staff was only too willing to provide :-)
The night that I stayed there it was snowing and I didn't really feel like dining out so I brough back some Indian food from a local establishment. Although it was delicious, the restaurant forgot to pack cuttlery with my take out so the dining room of the Mercure was very accomodating and allowed me to bring some cuttlery up to my room.
The water pressure was strong and the bathtub was nice and deap.
The breakfast buffet was plentiful and I really enjoyed the mix of hot and cold.
I would recommend the Mercure!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emymym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Mercure Inverness. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that my team were on hand to help you out when needed.
I do hope that we can welcome you back to the Hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager

Why not follow us on Twitter or like us on Facebook for up to date news and offers?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days and can only say that it is a central location. The rooms Suit not as described and were cold with only small radiator the second room had sofa 2 seater which had small bathroom. Mostly used i think by workers in local area to stay. My Car was bashed 2 times as space is limited. One good thing was the Breakfast anything you wanted could be had and they also have great staff who were always willing to help.

Room Tip: Okay for a night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oo7Ched
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and also to review your stay. I appreciate your constructive comments and I will look into these issues. I am glad that you enjoyed your Breakfast with us and that my team were on hand to help when needed.
I hope that we can welcome you back in the future and you will see the improvments we are making around the Hotel.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
157 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Avoid 518 room or ask before for noisy room. All the nigth a fan worked over our heads, seem to be in a boat machine room.
The silly thing is I complied it, but a girl from the hotel ensured us it stop from 10pm to 6:30 am. It was a lie, don't believe them.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Qualimero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, I am sincerely sorry that you were disturbed by the extractor fan on our roof. It is normally on a timer but on the night of your stay this did not work, we had an engineer in to repair this the next day to avoid any further disturbances.
I appreciate your feedback and hope that this will not deter you from booking with us in the future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Inverness hotels

Thurso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel a few times before and because we're always satisfied we return, the staff are friendly, the location is central and its cleanliness is guaranteed, was most surprised this time when I asked could we leave our cases as we had a hospital appointment - this was at 10.30 in the morning - and the receptionist said our room was ready for us so we just checked in then

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank visitor707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and again, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay again. Our team work very hard to try and ensure our standards so your feedback will be appreciated by them as well.
I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Centrally located near shops and great nearby restaurants. (Mustard Seed restaurant was fantastic and only on next street). Parking was £2 overnight.
All staff were very friendly and eager to help...at reception, bar, breakfast, spa/gym, and rooms. Really welcoming.
Small pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and gym were an added bonus. Other feedback mentions smell of chlorine from lower ground floor, but, whilst I agree, it's enticing!
Breakfast was varied and all very fresh. We were well looked after with tea and coffee. The river views from the breakfast room were lovely.
Enjoyed time in relaxing bar. River view again.
Room was spacious, 2 TVs (one in separate, adjoining room with sofa bed). Bathroom okay. Bottled water in rooms in addition to tea/coffee making facilities. Room had good view. Nice quality bedding. Very comfy.
Bedrooms are a bit tired and not overly luxurious but this didn't detract from an enjoyable stay and I'd recommend and would return to stay again if the price was right.
Thanks to all the lovely staff. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophieP665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review your stay, I appreciate your feedback and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us again.
I do hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great central location. Good swimming pool and steam room. Did not use restaurant or the gym that did look well equiped. Good sized room and bathroom. Parking was available at the hotel. The hotel was close to the train and bus stations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank mash1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for sharing "Graham's Opinion", it is much appreciated and I am glad that you found the time to make use of our leisure facilities.
I hope that we can welcome you back to the Hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#22 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#19 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Columba Hotel, Inverness
Columba Hotel, Inverness
#27 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Inverness Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Inverness Hotel

Property: Mercure Inverness Hotel
Address: 33 Church Street, Inverness IV1 1DX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Inverness Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Mercure Inverness Hotel situated in the heart of Inverness' vibrant city centre on the bank of the River Ness, with the bustle of the thirving shops and local nightlife right on the doorstep. You can't get more central than this! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Inverness Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inverness
Inverness Ramada
Mercure Inverness Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing