We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“graham's opinion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“graham's opinion”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great central location. Good swimming pool and steam room. Did not use restaurant or the gym that did look well equiped. Good sized room and bathroom. Parking was available at the hotel. The hotel was close to the train and bus stations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank mash1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for sharing "Graham's Opinion", it is much appreciated and I am glad that you found the time to make use of our leisure facilities.
I hope that we can welcome you back to the Hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    342
    353
    153
    79
See reviews for
122
508
75
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed here for a number of days while working in the area. The service was always pleasant and helpful. Some of the rooms could definitely do with a bit of a revamp especially the bathrooms. The bar has an ok selection and the evening food was generally quite good. Breakfast is good with a wide selection. Didn't get the chance to use the facilities so cannot comment on that.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Mercure Inverness. I appreciate your constructive feedback, we do have future plans to refurbish our bathrooms and hope to have this work started in the very near future.
I hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager

Why not follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

First the good..

Friendly staff and fantastic location in city center. Close to shops and station and some excellent restaurants (Rockpool across the bridge was superb).

Now the bad...

This is a 70's hotel that needs much, much more than just yet another coat of paint in the bedrooms.
We paid £200 for a 'junior suite' which, was daylight robbery!
This was for no more than a VERY dated double room with a small room off with some shabby random furniture and a tiny sofa which looked fresh out of a charity shop!
The bathroom had broken and missing tiles, rusty door hinges, the top insert missing from a tap and generally grubby looking, due to age rather than cleanliness.
The public areas had obviously had some attention, but everywhere stank of chlorine from the basement spa.
Breakfast was 'OK' with a view of the river and a newish looking Premier Inn...which, is where I would recommend you go!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pitliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Mercure Inverness. I appreciate your honest and constructive feedback, we do take all our feedback and use it to try and improve our service.
I do hope that we will get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel and you will notice the improvments we are making.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Inverness hotels

FORFAR
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Hotel is a great place for shops, nightlife and has its own carpark. Breakfast was good in the morning, plenty of choice. Bed wasnt the comfyest, bathroom isnt the biggest could do with some shelving to put toiletries on, had to put stuff on back of the toilet. Shower will just about blast you out of the bath, so beware.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank MRSMFORFAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Mercure Inverness. I appreciate your honest and constructive feedback, we do take all our feedback and use it to try and improve our service.
I do hope that we will get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel and you will notice the improvments we are making.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Hotel clean and friendly! Good facilities for children i.e. swimming pool! Room at the back and at the weekend, no noise from the street being a couple of floors up! Breakfast adequate. Car park proved a bit of a problem, struggle to find a space free and when we did, very tight for a large vehicle, but did always manage to squeeze in somehwere! Excellent location for walking in the city, in great area for restaurants close by!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review after your recent stay with us at Mercure Inverness, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and took the time to tell other travellers.
As you found out, our location has a wealth of choices for dining on our doorstep and it is ideal for having some leisure time around the city centre.
I do hope that we can welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager

Why not follow us on Twitter or like us on Facebook?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed weekend here and really enjoyed.Its a quality hotel in the centre of town and a pleasant place to stay.Rooms are large,clean and very comfortable.Staff very pleasant and polite.Facilities are excellent and breakfast very good.Can't fault this hotel in anyway

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Metcalfe22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and then taking the time to review your stay, your feedback really is appreciated. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
I hope we can welcome you back to the Mercure Inverness in the future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager

Why not follow us on Twitter or like us on Facebook!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a Special Package - 2 nights B & B with dinner on the first night.
We had a room overlooking the river which meant that we not only had a pleasant view but it was also quiet at night (on previous visits we have been at the other side and have experienced some noise from the late night revellers). The food was good, the service excellent. It's central location is ideal for anyone travelling by train (as we were) as it is only a short walk from the Station. Equally it has a fairly large car park at the rear. Looking forward to a return visit before the end of the year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again and for taking the time to post your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, it is always a pleasure to welcome back returning guests.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 34 in Inverness
1,190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Inverness
Jurys Inn Inverness
#25 of 34 in Inverness
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Columba Hotel, Inverness
Columba Hotel, Inverness
#27 of 34 in Inverness
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Inverness Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Inverness Hotel

Property: Mercure Inverness Hotel
Address: 33 Church Street, Inverness IV1 1DX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Inverness Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Mercure Inverness Hotel situated in the heart of Inverness' vibrant city centre on the bank of the River Ness, with the bustle of the thirving shops and local nightlife right on the doorstep. You can't get more central than this! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Inverness Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inverness
Inverness Ramada
Mercure Inverness Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing