We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional - 4 stars is not enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westbourne Guest House
Ranked #44 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional - 4 stars is not enough”
Reviewed September 21, 2009

Lovely comfortable large double room with plenty of space for the 2 seater sofa. Everything about this guest house is top notch. Plenty of useful information provided on local amenities and restaurants, your hosts will book you a table at the restaurant of your choice.
Ideal location right on the River Ness, 5 minute walk into the centre of Inverness - so no need to drive in the evening.
Breakfast and service were superb. The attention to detail on the small things, like providing a bath robe, port and sherry for an early evening tipple after a day out really made a difference. Comfort and cleanliness could not be bettered.
If I had to make a criticism it would be the availability of parking, there are a couple of spaces off road, and a couple of parking permits for the on -road residential parking, but we had to take a chance on not getting a ticket parking on the main road - even then our hosts assured us we would be OK and would even pay our ticket if we were unfortunate enough to get one (we didn't). However, this is a city centre location, so parking at any of the hotels is difficult.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppy046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    31
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
35
62
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2009

The Westbourne is centrally located adjacent to the Ness River, just a few minutes walk from downtown Inverness. We found it to be a warm, friendly place to stay with hosts Richard and Nan Paxton gracious and always extremely helpful. Our rooms were clean, cozy and had every amenity we could have wanted. The morning breakfasts were outstanding. Eggs, sausage, bacon, fruit, cereal and toast with perfectly steeped hot tea made the mornings something we awaited eagerly. We will definitely return and recommend this B&B to friends and relatives.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homefolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Room was clean and well serviced, Nan's shortbread was delicious also small cakes and Port or Sherry in lounge. Small fridge in room plus fresh milk in fridge on landing to help yourself ,all little things but made our stay very pleasant. would stay there again if in area. Good Breakfast

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westender87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2009

We had a very comfortable stay. Westbourne Guest House is located near the city centre, but very quiet, the river ness is just across the street. Everything we needed to reach (supermarkets, restaurants, bus station, tourist information, Happy Tours) was in a comfortable walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenaGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2009

Located along the beautiful riverside of Inverness, I was disappointed to find that our window looked into a back lot. The room was clean and well stocked (including some amazing homemade shortbread) but not very romantic. I'd recommend it for a business trip, but not for a second honeymoon. The hosts were very friendly and helpful--Nan spent a good half-hour helping us plan our day when our original plans fell through. Breakfast was a good home cooked meal.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HumphreyBogart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

A handy, central location, friendly hosts and excellent facilities. The room was lovely with every facility we required and ample room for us and our lively 12 year old. Breakfast would have satisfied any appetite and was friendly and welcoming. Our son was delighted with the games and DVD's available as was I with the shortbread! Clearly much thought has been applied to making this a home from home and I would encourage anyone visiting Inverness to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValiantGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

This guest house is in a great location, just 8 mins walk from centre of Inverness. It is extremely well equipped with all you might need to combat the vagaries of Scottish weather: good sitting room, nice bedrooms, plenty of tea and coffee, good breakfast with lots of healthy options plus the traditional full breakfast if you prefer. Also dogs can be accommodated which for us was really important. We had to go to a midday function at the Castle the day we arrived and Richard and Nan were extremely helpful in giving us early access to our room for changing etc. All in all we were delighted with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust_Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mardon Guest House
Mardon Guest House
#53 of 231 in Inverness
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ardmeanach House
Ardmeanach House
#42 of 231 in Inverness
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Carisbrooke Guest House
Carisbrooke Guest House
#73 of 231 in Inverness
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acer Glen B&B
Acer Glen B&B
#60 of 231 in Inverness
59 reviews
0.3 mi away
MacDonald House
MacDonald House
#127 of 231 in Inverness
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westbourne Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbourne Guest House

Property: Westbourne Guest House
Address: 50 Huntly Street, Inverness IV3 5HS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top 20 Finalist AA Landlady of the Year 2006. Riverside location, five minutes walk from city centre, train & bus stations. Rated AA 4 Red Diamond, Les Routiers, Welcome Host. All rooms en-suite, CD Alarm clock radio, TV, DVD Player, Hospitality tray, Trouser Press, Hairdryer, Refrigerator, Cooling fan, Safe, Central Heating. Free Internet workstation in residents lounge. Highland Hospitality Assured. George and Kirsteen look forward to welcoming you to Westbourne ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Westbourne Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbourne Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing