We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The position and the breakfast are the best things of the GH.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westbourne Guest House
Ranked #59 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The position and the breakfast are the best things of the GH.”
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Very good service: we enjoyed the help of the owners.
The room was small, we could'nt open the suitcase on the floor (not too big suitcase!). Location very nice and in a central position.
Excellent breakfast.
Useful free Internet.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ersa76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    30
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
31
59
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saginaw, MI
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2009

The owners were fantastic and very helpful to us. Room were clean and orderly. Breakfast was unbelievable! We were located close to everything we needed. Will definitly stay here again when i bring my kids to Scotland!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atropine828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB. Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

What can I say. Richard and Nan offer only the best in service and hospitality. Location is fabulous with scenic views in three directions, right on the river, 10 minutes walk to the high street and the castle. Food, night caps and rooms are just terrific. I plan on staying with them again on my next trip. Richard even made us a dinner reservation just over the footbridge. Fantastic! Thanks for everything, Br. Warren and Br. Brian

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hosekileather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepton Mallet
2 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2009

Nan was a great host, the room and facilities are everything that you need and more.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacksam0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2009

If someone asked me what I think about the Westbourne Guest House, I'd say "It's no good... for me to try to put it into words. One just has to come and try out the magnificent hospitality himself/herself. Now, the only reason my fiance and I are not stil there is that they have managed to get us out of the room with a trick - they've put a bait, consisting of their homemade shortbread, out on the street.". Now that was a wee joke, but with a lot of truth to it. For myself, I couldn't find anything to complain about - just the opposite. Highland hospitality at it's best. You don't believe it - go try it out.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dream_harder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

We stayed here for a night in April while visiting Scotland. Inverness was a lovely city and this guesthouse was just like staying with family. Everything was in walking distance and our hosts treated us like we were old friends. Nothing could disappoint.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2008

Everything was as advertised - we particularly appreciated the EXCELLENT location, literally a few minutes walk (and a scenic one, at that) from the city centre, convenient to all public transit, wonderful restaurants and entertainment.

There are many nice touches that made this stay memorable - including homemade shortbread (along with the tea service). The Scottish breakfast was wonderful, cooked to order.

Free internet (and computer) in the residents' lounge was an added bonus.

Our stay at Westbourne helped make our visit to Inverness a terrific one!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — na
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillyAnglophiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.5 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#15 of 34 in Inverness
580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carisbrooke Guest House
Carisbrooke Guest House
#70 of 231 in Inverness
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ardmeanach House
Ardmeanach House
#45 of 231 in Inverness
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
MacDonald House
MacDonald House
#132 of 231 in Inverness
43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mardon Guest House
Mardon Guest House
#54 of 231 in Inverness
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acer Glen B&B
Acer Glen B&B
#52 of 231 in Inverness
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westbourne Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbourne Guest House

Property: Westbourne Guest House
Address: 50 Huntly Street, Inverness IV3 5HS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top 20 Finalist AA Landlady of the Year 2006. Riverside location, five minutes walk from city centre, train & bus stations. Rated AA 4 Red Diamond, Les Routiers, Welcome Host. All rooms en-suite, CD Alarm clock radio, TV, DVD Player, Hospitality tray, Trouser Press, Hairdryer, Refrigerator, Cooling fan, Safe, Central Heating. Free Internet workstation in residents lounge. Highland Hospitality Assured. George and Kirsteen look forward to welcoming you to Westbourne ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Westbourne Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbourne Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing