We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try Here First...!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westbourne Guest House
Ranked #125 of 247 Inverness B&B and Inns
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Try Here First...!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

I have stayed at Westbourne a number of times and can confidently say that you will not find a better B&B in Inverness - and possibly not anywhere else in Scotland. The facilities are nothing short of excellent and the overall experience is one to be thoroughly enjoyed. Well-run, fairly-priced, with thoughtful and caring hosts. If you go, you'll go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    28
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
30
53
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caithness and Sutherland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed one night as it was very handy for Eden Court Theatre. Was made to feel really welcome and was pleased that there was everything you needed to hand, hairdryer, iron, fridge etc the owners really have thought of everything. Fridge was stocked with bottled water and fresh milk which was a lovely touch, although I would have preferred it if the milk had been unopened as I was a bit wary using the previous occupiers leftovers. Stayed in the Davidson room which was spacious although the single bed was really quite hard and I had a great deal of difficulty flushing the toilet, which with hindsight I should have mentioned to the owners. Cutlery and crockery are of a high standard, no leaky teapots here! Breakfast was lovely, high quality produce cooked very well, although a larger plate would have made it easier to eat from. Overall a really nice place to stay marred only by a few niggles.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bank66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here in June (2 adults and 2 teens) in the family room, it is small but very cozy it has anything you may think you will need. The room is full of small details and perfectly clean. My daughters enjoyed the movie selection. It has an unbeatable location, from the room you can see the river and you can walk to the town in no time. Hosts are very warm and helpful, you feel welcomed the minute you get in. Parking is not a problem just in front of the place. Sadly we only stay here 1 night, it is a great place! Would stay again, no doubt.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iliana70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

My son and I stayed a night in late August. Our room was clean and comfortable, and the location was absolutely perfect. Very scenic quiet street on the riverside, across a nearby footbridge from the town center. Our hosts were warm and helpful in every way. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here two nights in August on our way from London to the Orkney Islands. From here you can walk anywhere in Inverness as it is very close to the foot bridge over the river. There are several good restaurants within walking distance. The rooms are very clean and very well appointed. The bed had a fairly heavy duvet but in the closet were two blankets so we are able to use one of those in place of the duvet and make our sleep more comfortable. Nan and Richard are wonderful hosts - Richard cooks a great breakfast and Nan is so friendly and helpful. In the lounge at all times is a selection of home baked goodies and self-serve sherry and port for a night cap. A very homey feeling guest house! We would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wantoroam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here the night after we finished our 80 mile great glen way walk. The hosts were lovely and the rooms and bathrooms were great! Only two slight issues and they were that two dvds we wished to watch didnt work and they only had orange juice with bits and no smooth, other than those miniscule problems a great stay!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

The rooms were clean, the breakfast was fine, really no complaints. We chose Westbourne because we like the idea of being right on the river. Of course, once you're inside, it hardly matters! But, as i said, it was fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy48254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 mi away
MacDonald House
MacDonald House
#140 of 247 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stanford House
Stanford House
#182 of 247 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.3 mi away
Strathness House
Strathness House
#16 of 247 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Arisaig-Guesthouse
Arisaig-Guesthouse
#106 of 247 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carisbrooke Guest House
Carisbrooke Guest House
#71 of 247 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bridge Street Apartments
Bridge Street Apartments
#18 of 40 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westbourne Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbourne Guest House

Property: Westbourne Guest House
Address: 50 Huntly Street, Inverness IV3 5HS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 247 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top 20 Finalist AA Landlady of the Year 2006. Riverside location, five minutes walk from city centre, train & bus stations. Rated AA 4 Red Diamond, Les Routiers, Welcome Host. All rooms en-suite, CD Alarm clock radio, TV, DVD Player, Hospitality tray, Trouser Press, Hairdrier, Refrigerator, Coling fan, Safe, Central Heating. Free Internet workstation in residents lounge. Highland Hospitality Assured. Richard & Nan look forward to welcoming you to Westbourne ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Westbourne Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbourne Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing