We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location for staying in Inverness.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westbourne Guest House
Ranked #17 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Location, location, location. This is literally right across the street from the footbridge in Inverness...an easy walking distance to great restaurants and pubs. We were a little taken aback at first as we were told that we were "late" to arrive...we felt like we had a curfew and were in trouble. ;) Parking is on the street. There are stairs to the rooms, no elevator. We were on the top floor. We stayed in the Bruce room, a twin. It was very clean. I don't think the tv worked, but there were plenty of dvds. A very nice little tea set up was in the room. Breakfast was very good. I'd stay here again for sure because of the location and price.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Azalea17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 196 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2011

With our baby girl we stayed our last night in the Highlands in the Westbourne Guest House. It was a good choice - although the house and our room was slightly run-down in details. But without renovation that might become critical in the future. Friendly and helpful owner. Good breakfast. A cot was provided free of charge.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Classy guesthouse on the left bank, of the river, in Inverness. Room was like a palace, with excellent en-suite facilities and well furnished, also TV/DVD player in room (with a collection of DVDs available to borrow). Cooked breakfast was excellent, a true highland feast, and service was very quick. Computer with internet access available in a lounge. Note that this guesthouse is a good/brisk 10 minute walk away from Inverness railway station (it took me 20+ minutes but my knees don't allow me to walk as fast as in my youth). However this B&B is still closer to the railway and bus stations than several guesthouses and hotels located on Ness Bank. Run by efficient and helpful owners to high standards. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigedNorthShields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

This is a lovely guesthouse. It's squeaky clean, breakfast is wonderful, and our room was excellent, with a lovely view. Parking was not a problem at all. But what impressed me most was the attention to detail. Nan and Richard have thought of everything. It would be a pleasure to return to Inverness and see more of the city, and our first choice of accommodation will be Westbourne. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSchindells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed for three nights while attending a Regimental re-union and could not have wished for anything better - even if we had opted for a top-class hotel. From the moment we arrived, everything was perfect; the welcome from the owners; the exceptionally well- appointed and immaculately clean room; the extra touches such as Nurofen tablets in the bathroom; and the special touches such as complimentary port, sherry and home-baked cakes in the lounge.

Breakfast was outstanding both in quality and quantity; the selection of dishes was superb and we wished we could have stayed longer to work our way through the menu (especially the smoked salmon).

We would recommend this B & B to anyone as exceptional value for money.

Room Tip: Book as early as you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarryFBirkenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

What I loved about this place were the thoughtful extras - slice, port, sherry and games in the guest sitting room, recommendations and city maps from the host, even neurofen in the bathroom. The breakfast was also comprehensive - not a word I'd usually use for breakfast, but there was fruit, cereal, cheese, toast and cooked food, served by a lovely hostess. the only downsides were an aged mattress and the fact that I lost a hair elastic and noticed a few dust clumps under the bed and bedside table when I went looking for it. Overall, the care taken by our hosts more than made up for the aged mattress.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amirim014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Very efficiently run guest house nicely located on the bank of the Ness where birds gather in the pebbles at low tide. Charming short walk over the footbridge into the town centre and to bus and train stations. Has sittingroom on ground floor which even includes a PC. Excellent breakfasts promptly served. Lots of guests when we visited.

Room Tip: Book well in advance for room-with-a-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomandJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Inverness Fairways
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Ardersier
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roseneath Guest House
Roseneath Guest House
#41 of 232 in Inverness
97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fraser House
Fraser House
#70 of 232 in Inverness
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westbourne Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbourne Guest House

Address: 50 Huntly Street, Inverness IV3 5HS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: $87 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top 20 Finalist AA Landlady of the Year 2006. Riverside location, five minutes walk from city centre, train & bus stations. Rated AA 4 Red Diamond, Les Routiers, Welcome Host. All rooms en-suite, CD Alarm clock radio, TV, DVD Player, Hospitality tray, Trouser Press, Hairdryer, Refrigerator, Cooling fan, Safe, Central Heating. Free Internet workstation in residents lounge. Highland Hospitality Assured. George and Kirsteen look forward to welcoming you to Westbourne ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Westbourne Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbourne Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing