We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Waterside Hotel
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Nyon, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wedding location”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We recently had our wedding at the Waterside Hotel and would thoroughly recommend it as a wedding venue. Prior to the wedding day, Mr. Manson was very helpful and attentive in assisting us with our planning. My husband and I stayed at the hotel in the 'honeymoon' suite a few days before and after our wedding (and our room was offered on the night of our wedding). This room is gorgeous - spacious and with a view on the river Ness.
We had our ceremony in the function room which was tastefully decorated and arranged, we then went through to the lounge bar/conservatory area for our aperitif (which we had exclusive use of) and our guests were served champagne and canapes. Following this, we went back into the function suite for our wedding meal and party. All of our guests agreed that the food was just fantastic and that the service was curteous and efficient (we had table service for the wine and our glasses were never empty!). There was a large dance floor area for our ceilidh. In terms of location, we were able to have beautiful photos taken in front of the river and with the cathedral in the background. The hotel is a 15 minute walk from both the train and bus stations which was very useful for travelling guests.
In relation to the hotel itself, the rooms were clean, the breakfast offered is ample and served by friendly waiting staff, the restaurant meals were good. The only points that we'd mention in terms of potential improvement would be the installation of a lift (it was quite hard to move our luggage up and down stairs) and the night porter needs to be trained on how to serve after hour drinks to residents - unfortunately he was fairly clueless as to how to make any drinks or where to find the stock. Overall - a wonderful hotel with lovely staff members - thank you for making our day so special.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEWILSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your complimentary review. We try very hard to consistently deliver what you experienced. It was a great pleasure to look after your wedding and all your guests over a few days. I take your point about late night bar service but it is rare here that the night porters are required to serve a busy bar until 5 am so their expertise in this area is somewhat limited. Their principal responsibility is the security o the hotel and its occupants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    202
    92
    52
    28
See reviews for
86
281
34
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed in The Waterside Hotel in early September. Prior to arrival we had asked if it was possible to provide a fan as the hotel doesn't have air conditioning. The room we were given was fine and turned out to be very quiet which was good. The fan was broken so the girl on reception very kindly offered to find another one. She arrived shortly after with a huge commercial type fan which was covered in grease, so obviously it was from the kitchen and when turned on absolutely stank of grease. We wheeled it out into the lobby where it remained for the 3 days were there. I have to say it wasnt the receptionists fault and it was very kind of her to go to the bother. The room was unbearably stuffy and when we opened the windows the room filled with flies.
Apart from that it was ok and the breakfast was good. Wouldn't stay there again I`m afraid

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandyquoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We are very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay on a night when the ambient temperature was exceptionally humid for the time of year. We are equally sorry the fan you were given with the best intentions wasn't suitable.. Reviews of this nature are regrettable but thankfully the many recent ones with high praise both on and off line Suggest our experience was a rare event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I usually get a choice of hotels to stay in while travelling through Inverness. The time my company asked if I woud stay here so I gave it a shot.

I was met by a friendly receptionist who explained what the crack was and it was all good.

I went up to my room. Okay so its not a very modern room but it is still very cozy and the noise levels are a minimum, very good sleep.

The food was just fantastic. The staff were very friendly, there main focus is always the diner. I saw one waiter generous enough to help an old man up from his seat.

Sitting in the restaunt at dusk on a nice night with the river running by you is a nice setting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IM895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased you found everything to your liking; we do try very hard to please everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

I was at a wedding at this hotel. The wedding was perfect my friend said the hotel was excellent at organizing the event with her. I did find the rooms a tad expensive for what they were, despite the discount for one night. But the location is great, clean. One tip to give is your reception needs to be a bit more "awake". It would have been a nice touch if an email had gone out to guests about the road being closed. We struggled 40min to find the hotel and we were not the only ones. We just caused frustration when arriving to check in. When asking directions to a restaurant the staff needs to be specific, understand that there are guests from out of town. Not just say "it's close, or next door". Besides that the food was excellent, the bar nice, the check out was easy. If I go back to Edinburgh I might try to find a better price. Also best to get the online booking fixed it has not been working for months so you have to call.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lora F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
M\any thanks for taking the time to post a review. I am glad you found the hotel as it should be clean, friendly, great food and attentive staff. Thank you for highlighting a lack of local knowledge - our receptionists are all out of towners so they need a wee lesson which we will take on board. Our price is fair in the market place in Inverness - indeed over last weekend to stay in one of our competitors would have been 30-40% more than the discounted rate you had for attending a wedding here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at the hotel after attending a concert in Eden Court, the twin room was spacious & clean, the ensuite shower was a lovely size, everywhere clean & comfortable. Breakfast next day was lovely, piping hot food served by pleasant staff. The hotel is in a great setting beside the river, will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishalice54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to tell everyone you experienced what strive to deliver. This gives my team and me great motivation to continue the good work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I have nothing great to say about this place at all, apart from the menu looks great. Didn't manage to get served at all after waiting queuing at the entrance, then waiting for a waitress to to speak to us, and when she did, she told us to wait some more...then came back to stand and polish cultery before looking up at us and the other staff member playing about with her uniform...then tapped at the reservation book, looked out the window and said Can I help you?! We said we would like a table for 2 please, She - no reservations no dinner. End of story.
wow..what a way to treat guests!! Quite appalled at her outcome and this was roughly sunday evening 7.15pm ish.. ! What's going on here?!! Please re-train the staff to appear a little bit more professional and learn manners.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sin-ling L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
The Sunday in question was incredibly busy all day. We had a large Bridge tournament using the restaurant for traditional high teas and a large number of bookings for dinner from around 7.30. This was also the Loch Ness marathon weekend which is mega busy. We are really sorry that the reviewer felt that our supervisor was being rude as this is simply not her style. However, she was extremely harassed and may have made a greater effort to be more apologetic that we were full.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were keen to eat in the hotel's restaurant as it had an interesting menu.

When we arrived at the restaurant reception we were asked to wait by the restaurant supervisor, expecting to be sat down after our 10 minute wait. However, she eventually came back to tell us they had no tables available.

Still not sure why she made us wait?

Thankfully we found the excellent, Aspendos restaurant in town where we received a fantastic welcome and enjoyed their superb food. Every cloud has a silver lining!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IAS_46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We are very disappointed you felt you had an unwelcome reception when you arrived without a booking at our restaurant.. In apologising very sincerely you felt this way there was no lack of welcome intended during what was an exceptionally busy all day service. Perhaps you should have been told "sorry we are full" rather than keep you waiting in the hope a table became free quickly. Advance bookings is a must for our restaurant most of the year and especially over a weekend like the Loch Ness marathon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#13 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside Hotel

Property: The Waterside Hotel
Address: 19 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully and centrally located on the river Ness banks, The Waterside Hotel offers comfortable accommodation, very friendly staff and outstanding cuisine. Management at staff will help you plan your stay in Inverness making sure you make the best of your stay in the capital of the Highlands. Inverness city centre, Eden Court Theatre, Saint Andrews Cathedral and The Ness Islands are all within 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Loch Ness is 8 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Hotel Inverness
The Waterside Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing