We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Waterside Hotel
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great little hotel”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed at the waterside recently while on a tour of Scotland and booked in forone night through laterooms. We were warmly welcomed by Helen at the front desk who despiteu s arriving 2 hours early checked us straight in to a room on the first floor. the room was clean and well furnished but small and cramped with a view on to a car park. We were told there was a function on that night which didnt bother us too much as we were going out that night. The veggie breakfast in the restaurant was delicious and served to us by a lovely young waitress called Rima who was a delight. we decided to spend another night in Inverness and approached Helen again at the front desk who booked us in for the Sunday night. when we mentioned the cramped room she asked us if we would like to move rooms and moved us to a lovely large room overlooking the river. wow! it was stunning with lovely views, a luxury shower room and fluffy white robes..we were over the moon and spent a second fantastic night. Breakfast the second morning was again delicious and set us up for our travels. all in all a great little hotel with great welcoming hospitality. we would most certainly stay here again

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveller712013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Absolute.y delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much with us. Yes a few of our castle view rooms are on the smallish side but no worse than many others elsewhere. Our river view superior rooms are something else! Thank you for taking time to post your appreciation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    202
    92
    52
    28
See reviews for
86
281
34
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

In August, my elderly mother and I stayed at The Waterside for a week. The hotel is situated right on the bank of the River Ness and a few hundred yards walk from the City Centre.

All staff were professional with the reception staff particularly welcoming. On arrival, we discovered that our room was on the first floor and there was no lift. My mother has mobility issues and the stairs were a problem for her. Reception staff did try to move us to a ground floor room however could not due to bookings for a Wedding. Prior to booking the room, no where on the hotel's website did it state there was no lift and that people with mobility issues should request a ground floor room when booking. This is something to think about if mobility is an issue. Prior to writing this review I checked the hotel's website to see if it had been updated to mention there is no lift - it has not.

We had a standard twin room with en-suite shower room. The bedroom was functional although there was not much storage - enough for two/three days but for two people for a week, there could have been more however when requested, more hangers appeared! The room was clean but rather bland. There was no view - the window looked out onto the pebble dashed wall of another part of the building. If you looked sideways, you could see the River.

The shower room was spacious and smart. Towels were replaced daily if you wished.

Breakfast was in The Reflections restaurant - plenty of choice of juices, cereals, fruit, cheese, ham, pastries, croissants with an excellent cooked breakfast. Restaurant staff were prompt, courteous and professional.

We ate one dinner in The Reflections restaurant - the best Aberdeen Angus beef burger tasted for many a year with Onion rings to die for! It was, however, somewhat expensive.

If we venture north again, I am sure we will stay at The Waterside, however we know now to request a ground floor room.

Room Tip: If you want a view - pay the extra for a superior room. If you don't want to walk outside to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrissyG24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. You raise a good point amount mentioning no lift on our website and I will instruct this. After 50 years of hotel-keeping and travelling myself I had the view that if not mentioned it doesn't exist. I am, however, always open to constructive ideas and will embrace this, thank you.
I am pleased to learn you enjoyed the rest of your experience and will return to stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thebes
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

On the River Ness close to the centre, the Waterside looks good. Floor levels throughout vary slightly; just enough to make you stumble.
Some rooms (top floor at least), though spacious enough, lack a usable work surface. WiFi is a botched job. Room instructions still refer to a simple 'user password' - surely the simplest way to offer a service; in practice you have to go through an arcane system designed to harvest your email and/or cellphone number for some local internet company. Talk about off-putting!
A reasonable stay, but it needs some fresh thoughts & actions.

Room Tip: The best rooms (facing the river) are kept for premium prices. Avoid weekends as wedding parties do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Epimetheus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Waterside is in a good location making it easy to walk to shopping area. The walks along the river are lovely. On the downside: the rooms varied greatly - I stayed there twice - before and after a tour - one room had an uncomfortable bed and mould in the bathroom, the other was much nicer. I felt that for the price paid it was not up to standard. The staff were friendly and helpful and the included breakfast was good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TassieDavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Room and food OK; staff in bar and restaurant fine. Reception dreadful; managerial staff superficially helpful but not really that interested.
Arrived and tried to book in but was told that they had no record of our booking (made via LateRooms.com). On showing the e-mail confirming the booking, receptionist simply said, "We have no record of it." and turned away and ignored us. (She was then pretty rude to another customer on the phone.) The duty manager then appeared by chance and was gushingly helpful but hardly sincere. Eventually, issue was resolved and they "found a room" for us but we were never given an apology nor made to think it was anyone's fault but ours.
Correspondence after visit with manager produced a half-hearted apology; contacted LateRooms to inform them of the difficulties we had had and they offered to speak with the hotel on our behalf. Only then were we offered a partial refund - best described as "token" I would say. My acknowledgement of and thanks for this refund has so far (3+ weeks) received no reply.
Definitely won't be back.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack_Bosworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. I am sincerely sorry that your reservation may not have been properly recorded in the first instance,. I have never known an extranet booking not to be both hard copy reserved and entered on our reservations system. We had no record of either!
I am not pleased either with how the situation was handled, but when guests arrive mid evening in the high season when Inverness is jam packed it is a nerve racking affair. This panic may transmit in ways that can be misunderstood. I apologise again that you felt you were not being looked after.
I really don't accept that my duty Charlene was unhelpful. Indeed, she apologised at the time for the inconvenience and it was her who resolved the situation by discovering that a single occupant for a double room had not yet arrived and we had one room with a single bed available. This freed up the double that you eventually occupied.
Your letter of thanks for the refund sent was taken by our Head Receptionist to be conclusion of the matter. neither she nor I was aware that you expected return correspondence.

I am disappointed that your stay was marred by the arrival experience. We will try to learn from that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very comfortable clean hotel in a good location overlooking the river.The staff were friendly and efficient.The restaurant in the hotel was excellent with an extensive selection of fresh local produce on offer and cooked to perfection.The breakfast was' to die for ' the best we have ever had.We tend to visit the hotel in Low Season when it is less expensive.We have enjoyed four visits so far and hope our fifth visit will be at the end of this year.

Room Tip: Back facing rooms tend to be best,with less noise as the reception area is at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My partner and I have stayed at the Waterside on a few occasions and it became our favourite hotel in Inverness. The rooms were spacious and the staff friendly. We enjoyed the quiet pleasant location by the river offering walks on the paths and along the canal, and yet with easy access to the city centre facilities. We were planning a return trip in September intending to stay in one of the superior rooms in the Felstead annex but were very dismayed to discover that it now costs £170 per night for a superior room and £140 for a standard one. This tariff is ridiculous and way above what we're prepared to pay even for a great hotel. In an economic downturn I'm surprised hotels survive charging this kind of rate. In the UK there's a huge gulf between the cost of goods, products & services and what they are actually worth. The sooner prices drop dramatically to reflect what things are actually worth, the better. Sadly unless the Waterside's tariff reduces significantly we will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonCrawford_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Inverness, like other big tourist cities in Scotland, enjoys a huge demand for bedrooms in the high season. This reflects, a bit like airline seats, on the prices charged. Even so-called budget hotel prices are no longer budget. it is simply a case of supply and demand. Our prices really are competitive in our market place all year round. Obviously, prices plummet in the off-season and I do hope you return to us and take advantage of these.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#13 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside Hotel

Property: The Waterside Hotel
Address: 19 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully and centrally located on the river Ness banks, The Waterside Hotel offers comfortable accommodation, very friendly staff and outstanding cuisine. Management at staff will help you plan your stay in Inverness making sure you make the best of your stay in the capital of the Highlands. Inverness city centre, Eden Court Theatre, Saint Andrews Cathedral and The Ness Islands are all within 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Loch Ness is 8 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Hotel Inverness
The Waterside Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing