We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent room & food; reception dreadful; expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Waterside Hotel
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Room and food OK; staff in bar and restaurant fine. Reception dreadful; managerial staff superficially helpful but not really that interested.
Arrived and tried to book in but was told that they had no record of our booking (made via LateRooms.com). On showing the e-mail confirming the booking, receptionist simply said, "We have no record of it." and turned away and ignored us. (She was then pretty rude to another customer on the phone.) The duty manager then appeared by chance and was gushingly helpful but hardly sincere. Eventually, issue was resolved and they "found a room" for us but we were never given an apology nor made to think it was anyone's fault but ours.
Correspondence after visit with manager produced a half-hearted apology; contacted LateRooms to inform them of the difficulties we had had and they offered to speak with the hotel on our behalf. Only then were we offered a partial refund - best described as "token" I would say. My acknowledgement of and thanks for this refund has so far (3+ weeks) received no reply.
Definitely won't be back.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack_Bosworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. I am sincerely sorry that your reservation may not have been properly recorded in the first instance,. I have never known an extranet booking not to be both hard copy reserved and entered on our reservations system. We had no record of either!
I am not pleased either with how the situation was handled, but when guests arrive mid evening in the high season when Inverness is jam packed it is a nerve racking affair. This panic may transmit in ways that can be misunderstood. I apologise again that you felt you were not being looked after.
I really don't accept that my duty Charlene was unhelpful. Indeed, she apologised at the time for the inconvenience and it was her who resolved the situation by discovering that a single occupant for a double room had not yet arrived and we had one room with a single bed available. This freed up the double that you eventually occupied.
Your letter of thanks for the refund sent was taken by our Head Receptionist to be conclusion of the matter. neither she nor I was aware that you expected return correspondence.

I am disappointed that your stay was marred by the arrival experience. We will try to learn from that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
There are newer reviews for The Waterside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 609 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very comfortable clean hotel in a good location overlooking the river.The staff were friendly and efficient.The restaurant in the hotel was excellent with an extensive selection of fresh local produce on offer and cooked to perfection.The breakfast was' to die for ' the best we have ever had.We tend to visit the hotel in Low Season when it is less expensive.We have enjoyed four visits so far and hope our fifth visit will be at the end of this year.

Room Tip: Back facing rooms tend to be best,with less noise as the reception area is at the front.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My partner and I have stayed at the Waterside on a few occasions and it became our favourite hotel in Inverness. The rooms were spacious and the staff friendly. We enjoyed the quiet pleasant location by the river offering walks on the paths and along the canal, and yet with easy access to the city centre facilities. We were planning a return trip in September intending to stay in one of the superior rooms in the Felstead annex but were very dismayed to discover that it now costs £170 per night for a superior room and £140 for a standard one. This tariff is ridiculous and way above what we're prepared to pay even for a great hotel. In an economic downturn I'm surprised hotels survive charging this kind of rate. In the UK there's a huge gulf between the cost of goods, products & services and what they are actually worth. The sooner prices drop dramatically to reflect what things are actually worth, the better. Sadly unless the Waterside's tariff reduces significantly we will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonCrawford_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Inverness, like other big tourist cities in Scotland, enjoys a huge demand for bedrooms in the high season. This reflects, a bit like airline seats, on the prices charged. Even so-called budget hotel prices are no longer budget. it is simply a case of supply and demand. Our prices really are competitive in our market place all year round. Obviously, prices plummet in the off-season and I do hope you return to us and take advantage of these.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the night after a days work up north. Got a discount on the room because it was above the function room and there was a wedding on. The room was large, clean and bright. The bathroom was a little cramped and the shower lacking in power.

Breakfast in the morning was awesome! It's been ages since I had a tattie scone, chuffed!

Downstairs wasn't to loud and we slept very well.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marty289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our room had no sound proofing. There was a lot of talking laughing and door banging which went on for hours on the first night - fortunately they checked out only to be replaced by someone with a hacking cough who also happened to do a good line in snoring. Apart from the noise the hotel was in a fab location and the service was good. I did complain about the noise after the first night and received an apology but no suggestion of a move. I also mentioned it on check out to be told that they were aware of the noise problem from previous comments. In my opinion the hotel is overpriced for what is on offer and if you do decide to stay here take your ear plugs!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caranderson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We were on the river side, large bed with pull-out couch for our daughter - room huge! Quiet and good sleep, despite their advance apologies for the wedding band that was going until 1 am - we couldn't hear them at all! Breakfast was great, service at the bar good, people very nice and helpful. Location an easy walk to shopping, did use cab to bus station due to luggage.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfairbanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My room was light, airy and spacious. Both the room and en-suite were spotless. The room overlooked the roof of next door's restaurant, and sounds of extraction fans continued well into the night. The hotel sits right on the river Ness. I had a beautiful walk by the banks of the river watching trout fisherman casting their lines. The food for both dinner and breakfast, was exceptional and the service outstanding. There was no lift and I had a fair hike to get to my room. All in all, a terrific little hotel which could be even better with a few changes.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenant343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#14 of 35 in Inverness
767 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#10 of 35 in Inverness
1,758 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#19 of 35 in Inverness
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside Hotel

Address: 19 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: $100 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully and centrally located on the river Ness banks, The Waterside Hotel offers comfortable accommodation, very friendly staff and outstanding cuisine. Management at staff will help you plan your stay in Inverness making sure you make the best of your stay in the capital of the Highlands. Inverness city centre, Eden Court Theatre, Saint Andrews Cathedral and The Ness Islands are all within 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Loch Ness is 8 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Hotel Inverness
The Waterside Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing