We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twilight Zone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Waterside Hotel
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We ate in the conservatory restaurant: "RefleXions" [sic], which was mostly empty during this twilight zone between the commercial kick-off of Christmas and the time when all the office parties would liven up this sort of place. All a bit depressing really!

The food was adequate but the waiter brought the wine to the table already opened. We then discovered that it was the wrong one but, by this time were too disheartened to comment.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank spycatcher007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

i am really disappointed to learn your recent experience dining at The Waterside. twilight Zone may be a fair assessment. Sadly, in the industry and sometimes we are no different, when things are very quiet the focus dwindles. Shouldn't but can. However, fundamental good service service points should not be comprised. These obviously were.

Please email me at gm@thewatersideinverness.co.uk to tell me a little more (descriotion of waiter e.g. British or foreign, appearance) so that I can investigate this, correct for the future and try to make amends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (648)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 648 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at the hotel as a wee treat for ourselves. And yes, it was a treat from
the lovely warm welcome we recieved from Helen on reception, to our IMMACULATE room, and the lovely well cooked HUGE breakfast.
Our room (103) is classed as a superior room, and it certainly was in every way. What a lovely, spacious comfortable room it was. There were even 2 large comfy lounge chairs to sit in while watching TV, or just gazing out the window enjoying the view over the river Ness. The HUGE superking sized, super comfy bed with gorgeous bedlinen and super pillows was certainly in my top three of beds which I have slept in on my travels. And the bathroom was almost certainly the cleanest! Not a fingerprint, smear or watersplash or a mark of any kind in this lovely contemporary bathroom. I could rave about the cleansliness of this bathroom for HOURS......I have been head housekeeper of several hotels and I know just how hard it is to have staff who KNOW how to clean properly and can be trusted to keep up the standards which are expected.
Overall the room was excellent.
The staff we found to be pleasant, relaxed and very freindly, which adds an awful lot to your stay in any hotel.
Breakfast was hot, well cooked and tasty and the service from the breakfast staff was cracking. Lovely, cheerful Lassies which made us smile.
The exterior of the hotel is well cared for and well maintained, as well as plenty of car-parking at the rear of the building. The high standard appearance of the outside of the hotel in maintained throught the interior. It is warm, welcoming, and cheerful with lovely decor and comfy seating areas.
Oh, and I must mention its location......no more than 5 mins walk in BIG heels to town! (Its about a 10 minute walk from train and bus station to the hotel). Ideal location for shopping and a night out in this vibrant city with its buzzing nightlife and some terrific resturants

I have stayed in many hotels over the years, and most I havent reviewed because the were indifferent, impersonal, and "just a room to sleep in". Absolutly NONE of these descriptions applied to the Waterside

Even though we were only able to stay 1 night, we certainly enjoyed our time there and would never hesistate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackiexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed for a long weekend (Fri-Mon) at the end of November 2012. The staff were very welcoming & friendly and the log fire in the lounge/bar was a much appreciated feature when coming in from the sub-zero temperatures outside. The wi-fi throughout the hotel was fast & reliable, the breakfasts were good and plentiful and the view from the restaurant, by it's riverside setting, was enchanting. The double room was bright & spacious - my only criticism would be of the toilet/shower room which was a fairly cramped affair (a larger person may have struggled to get through the shower door). The location, a 5 minute walk away from the centre, was ideal and I would recommend to any couples or groups of friends looking for a good base to explore Inverness & its stunning surroundings.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We booked at front of house (Helen ?) early on arrival at Waterside, for a table for 6.00pm on 3rd November 2012 to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and 6.00 pm because I have a diabetic condition. We asked a staff member (serving meals) the next day if we could reserve table 12, because we wanted a quiet area, she went to (Helen?) front of house and we saw her reserve table 12 against our booking, for us. On the 3rd when we arrived in the dining area at 6.00pm for the meal, there were other guests sat at table 12, the room was full and noisy also, the woman serving meals said there was no reservation on her list for table 12. If we came back at 7.00pm we could have table 12 or else she could push us in somewhere else, and have a large table, where children were. The dining room was full of people celebrating a 60th birthday, which made it worse for us, we felt the waterside did not care about us. We refused this alternative table, because we wanted a quiet space without children and noise. We were very upset at this time, the waterside ruined our celebration. As I have a diabetic condition I planned for 6.00pm meal and had to go back to the room have some food to help me make it to 7.00pm and table 12, there was a frosty atmosphere when we arrived in the dining area the second time, and a girl serving offered us a bottle of water or a drink (we don`t drink alcohol) as an appeasement gesture. We did not accept this offer, also it would not make up for our upsetment over the experience. We decided we would not celebrate my birthday at Waterside on the 5th, because things were just no right there. Overall the service was not that special. Some staff were not that friendly, robotic and seemed like they were just doing a job for cash, not really interested in service and hotel work. Also I would say to anyone, there is a chance Waterside will mess up on a celebration or arrangement, which you can`t ever get back.

This is a small hotel and we stayed here solely to celebrate our wedding anniversary and my birthday. A couple of staff members had good customer interfacing skills. Others were too full of their own importance, ego driven and not customer driven, they had a personal agenda, and were not present when servicing customers. They just parroted out information in a strange impersonal way. The rooms we stayed in were clean and the staff that serviced the rooms were thorough. Problem with the heating making a noise one day and a tap noisy. There was one staff serving meals, (think she was Polish) was very customer orientated, she was a hard worker, polite and nothing was too much trouble for her, very much skilled in customer relations. The view of the river ness from the front windows was good also. Breakfast (bacon and sausage ), was often hard and burnt or over cooked on two occasions. But on the whole the food was OK but not special.

You can be put in an annex to the hotel. There are stairs, and no lift. There is a noisy cooler fan outside, and they do have ceilidhs and other celebrations on some week ends, which may be noisy.

It is a shame waterside messed up for us, as there was a nice touch, like a card for an anniversary in the room, so they were aware we were staying at the hotel for a celebration.

Things did not come together though, POOR communication and we picked up things were just not flowing and right and some staff were just not happy .......

Room Tip: ask for room with a view. Annex is quieter. Some top/attic rooms are very small eg 245. Room 142 is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterside1819, General Manager at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear Guest

I am sorry to hear of your bad experience at The Waterside Hotel. After speaking to the staff involved it would appear that a mistake was made where a High Tea customer had been sat at Table 12 in error. I am so sorry this has upset you greatly and can obviously see why it was important for you to eat at a pre-arranged time. I hope you can see past this human error and perhaps consider The Waterside Hotel for a future trip.

Kind regards, Gill Omand, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I have stayed here on two occasions now whilst away for business. I had hoped that my first stay was just a bad night fluke, but I had a repeat performance the following trip.

First trip I was upstairs in a double room, had problems with the wifi making working from my room impossible. Also had holes in the bed sheets. The bathroom was not particularly clean either. I ate outside (it was a rare sunny evening- plus no room in the restaurant!) and enjoyed a huge portion of fish and chips. I missed the breakfast as the smell of bad fish when coming downstairs really put me off!

However, I thought I was being slightly picky, so due to the great price I booked here again on my next trip up north.

I was put in one of the single rooms along the corridor to the back door and near the kitchen. Not only did the back door wake me every time it closed, I was also woken very early by the noises from the kitchen. Again, problems with the wifi. The bathroom was fine, if very tiny, but at least clean this time. Oh... And again... Holes in the sheets!

I ate in the restaurant this time and had a creamy pasta dish, which was lovely, but had been garnished with fresh tomato pieces! In the low lighting I thought it must be smoked salmon, which I thought strange in a chicken and bacon dish, and was almost sick when I realised it was tomato! Who puts tomato with a creamy chicken and bacon dish? Especially without stating on the menu. Anyway, the rest of the dish was fine, only ruined slightly by the very noisy couple sat next to me. It seems they have tried to fit too many tables in as not much space at all. Breakfast, I must say was yummy. I'm sorry I didn't get it last time!

For my next visit up north, I will be spending more of the budget on a different hotel.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank redandwhiteroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

To the wonderful staff at The Waterside a big thankyou for making my sister-in-law and myself feel especially welcome. Our room was immaculate, quiet and very well serviced. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and I have recommended this hotel to all my friends, here in Australia, who wish to visit Scotland, and advised them not to miss this experience when they visit Inverness. Excellent meals, too.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We spent a lovely weekend at this hotel. The highlight was sitting at the log burning fire on a cold afternoon with friends, it was so cosy. The room was fine, clean and functional. Staff very attentive. Good breakfast, in a lovely restaurant overlooing the River Ness.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#13 of 36 in Inverness
796 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#5 of 36 in Inverness
1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside Hotel

Address: 19 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: $76 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully and centrally located on the river Ness banks, The Waterside Hotel offers comfortable accommodation, very friendly staff and outstanding cuisine. Management at staff will help you plan your stay in Inverness making sure you make the best of your stay in the capital of the Highlands. Inverness city centre, Eden Court Theatre, Saint Andrews Cathedral and The Ness Islands are all within 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Loch Ness is 8 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Hotel Inverness
The Waterside Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing