We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,095)
Filter reviews
2,095 results
Traveler rating
526
778
445
183
163
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
526
778
445
183
163
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsash restauranttrain stationgrand staircaselimited parkingcentral locationhospitality traytwin roomnight breakbuffet breakfastpublic areasbiscuitsbottled waterhotel restaurantlocation is excellentshort breaktea and coffeehaggis
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 2,095 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2018

Well enjoy the staircase in the lobby because that’s the end of the enjoyable part. We chose this hotel for a one night stay mindful of other reviews because of location. The rooms are exceedingly cramped though the bathroom was huge by comparison. A shame they didn’t co-opt some of that floor space into the room. Double beds, not queen, keep in mind. No room to lay down a suitcase except in path between bed and door (not safe) or bath. Windows do not open though we got ours to hold open with a small block. Not great as the pigeon droppings and pigeons/gulls are plentiful. Very unpleasant but it was so hot and the small rotary fan was mostly useless. A friend paid for breakfast and found it disappointing. Other friends had a room over the alley and had to listen to teens drinking and smoking all night despite repeated calls to the desk for a room Chaney. Desk employees we met seemed put out to help. More interested in filing her nails or checking her phone. The bar was nice enough though it took awhile for a drink even when not busy. Overall don’t choose this for the location. It’s unnecessary as there are many hotels and guesthouse in town that aren’t much further. Just choose one of those.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank dnjscheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHighlandHotel, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2018

Thank you for the review and we are disappointed that we did not come upto your expectations this time and we apologise for any inconvenience. Being a historic hotel operating for nearly 170 years now - a few of our Cosy Rooms have dimensions which are smaller than our Classic and Royal Rooms and the prices normally reflect that. We have noted your observations very carefully and would definitely initiate corrective actions wherever necessary and we would look forward to welcome you again to get another opportunity to make your stay experience similar to what a majority of our guests take back with them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2018 via mobile

We arrived at the beginning of Check in time. So rooms had not all been given out yet. We were some of the first to arrive. I had twisted my ankle, so it was hard to walk, yet they gave us the highest (hottest) and furthest room in the hotel. It was incredibly small and stuffy, with no window view at all. Just a tiny window in the lower part of the far corner where the ceiling was very low. But you couldn't see out of it, and there was nothing to see anyway. We didn't complain, or ask for a closer, or cooler room. We just made the best of it. But, we were so far, the internet didn't work in our room either! So, we were hot (no ventilation and no air conditioning), and we couldn't access the internet. The restaurant staff were not very nice either. We were lucky that most of the other hotels we stayed at on this trip were exceptional, so all in all, not so bad. But we will never stay here again.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BeKindDoKind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHighlandHotel, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2018

Thank you for the review and we are disappointed that we did not come upto your expectations this time and we apologise for any inconvenience. This year- the summer is indeed much fiercer than we normally expect in the Highlands of Scotland - as it is usually a salubrious temp range of 17-19C - which has surprised us as well and we aopologise for that. Being a historic hotel operating for nearly 170 years now - a few of our Cosy Rooms have dimensions which are smaller than our Classic and Royal Rooms and the prices normally reflect that. We have noted your observations very carefully and would definitely initiate corrective actions wherever necessary and we would look forward to welcome you again to get another opportunity to make your stay experience similar to what a majority of our guests take back with them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2018 via mobile

Very accommodating and clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. It was very convenient right next to the Railway station and bus station. The storing of our luggage when we toured this beautiful city was an extra bonus. I would highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHighlandHotel, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2018

Thank you very much for the kind review - we would look forward to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2018

Our room was very comfortable and had all of the amenities we could have hoped for! Staff was kind and answered all of our questions. The train station is literally next to the hotel, and it is in a central location, meaning that there was a shopping center, restaurants, and plenty to see nearby! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHighlandHotel, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2018

Thank you for the kind review - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we would look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2018

My husband and I stayed in this wonderful hotel for four nights in July. It was a great location as we were a short walk from the Caledonian Canal, the city center and also glued to the train station. We didn't even have a problem parking our rental car.

The room was spacious and clean. It did run a bit hot *however* this isn't the hotel's fault. We were there during a heatwave, which is very unusual for the Highlands. Keeping the window open at night was enough to keep us comfortable at night. The full Scottish breakfast we had was absolutely amazing. The dining room was beautiful and the staff was helpful and kind.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AlexCeeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalHighlandHotel, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2018

Thank you for the kind review - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and being so understanding of the very unusual heat wave that we are experiencing. We would look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews