We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keith & Karen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Highland Hotel
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Just returned from a lovely stay at this wonderful Hotel. Having read some of the negative comments, I get the impression that some people would complain about anything. For example if the room was a little bit cold due to the single glazed windows? Why not switch the heater on in your room. After all it is single glazed because it happens to be a Victorian Listed Building. As for 'It smells like an old peoples home', I did not notice it. The Hotel is lovely and clean and the staff were very professional. A special mention must be made to the team in the breakfast area, Especially Gail who was so funny and like a breath of fresh air. Gail was so helpful and friendly. We are looking forward to a return visit soon.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank keith b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for the review and we look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,883)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,062 - 1,068 of 1,883 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2014

Room was clean, bathroom built to a decent quality, bed was comfortable and well-made. Slightly cold due to single-glazed windows, but not a massive problem.
Breakfast, however, was poor quality. The hotel also smelled a bit like an old-people's home...! I think overall somewhere between £50 and £60 pp per night would be a fairer price. For £94 you should have a better overall quality of hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Alexander A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for the review and we look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Stayed here one night on a 2-day tour of the Midlands and Isle of Skye. This place is disgusting, dirt, shabby and the staff were useless. Couldn't get the wifi to work and staff could not help. Skip this place at all cost.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hugalex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for the review and we apologise for any inconvenience - while we are disappointed that we could not come upto your satisfaction this time , but let us reassure you that this is not the experience that a majortity of your guests take back with them. Thanking you once again and we look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We noticed a mixture of reviews about this hotel. Some positive, some less positive. We are very positive about this hotel We stayed in the Royal Highland in a very nice and rather large room. Of course it is an older building with its pro's and cons, but we were very happy with our stay. The location is very central. Several good restaurants are close by.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaap10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for the review and we look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Simple rooms, fairly basic but very comfortable. Good position and easy walk around Inverness. Some free carparks just out the front. The restaurant and breakfast were lovely and staff very helpful and friendly. Very much worth the price.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Brianalily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for the review and we look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Right next to the train station, but beautiful and quiet. I have a romanticized view of this hotel having been sent here by my Scottish relatives 20 years ago. However, it did not disappoint in its current day. The beds were comfortable and they accommodated my daughter also having a bed in the room. We found the staff friendly and helpful. We had dinner at the restaurant, which we also enjoyed, but was loud and a bit expensive (Don't mind expensive, for expensive atmosphere, but this felt a little more pub like). Very convenient location for sightseeing in the town and we drove over and back to Loch Ness very easily. Price did not include breakfast, which it should have. Hotel was overpriced for what it was in comparison to our other hotel stays. (Also had weird alarm going off with no explanation--luckily, we were already up--apparently, it happens on Mondays). Oh, and you have free Wi-fi for 45 minutes each day.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4cofn8er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for the review and we will share your kind words with the entire Team Royal Highland we would look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

In June we spent three nights at the Royal Highland Hotel, where we had room # 120. We found it to be a pleasant room with an interesting view of the station platforms, although this made the room quite dark. However the room was very warm, and this was not helped by the fact that the window would not open. There was a small fan provided in the room, but this wasn’t the same as being to open the window to let in some fresh air.

The bathroom was very hot because of the heat coming from the towel rail. It was most unpleasant to have a shower in there – you certainly did not feel refreshed afterwards. And, I wonder if it is legal to have an interior bathroom with no ventilation of any kind.

However, the worst part of our stay was that we were kept awake for several hours every night by men using pneumatic drills to dig up the station platform – just a few yards from our window. To complete the programme of misery, on two of the nights, just as we had managed to get back to sleep after the drilling, we were woken again by the fire alarm.

We spoke to the people in reception about the noise, but no offer was made to give us a different room. We hope to return from a short holiday feeling revived and relaxed. To be honest, we are glad to get home to enjoy a good quiet sleep at night and a refreshing shower.

We have sent these comments to the hotel manager (twice) who hasn’t even had the courtesy to reply.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank vem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for the review and we apologise for any inconvenience - while we are disappointed that we could not come upto your satisfaction this time , but let us reassure you that this is not the experience that a majortity of your guests take back with them. Thanking you once again and we look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.1 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 36 in Inverness
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Mercure Inverness Hotel
#29 of 36 in Inverness
1,181 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 36 in Inverness
1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Highland Hotel

Address: 18 Academy Street, Inverness IV1 1LG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range: $75 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Highland Hotel is the oldest hotel in the centre of the Highland capital, Inverness. In 2000, the property was carefully restored, retaining its unique character associated with the bygone age. As soon as you enter the hotel you will appreciate this. In the foyer the grand staircase, the inspiration for the Titanic's staircase, leads to the 84 spacious refurbished bedrooms - all with very high ceilings. The decor is rich with traditional furniture and deep colours. The rooms all have soft furnishings and antique style furniture. The excellent bathrooms are generally medium to large in size. For over 151 years, the hotel has been looking after travellers from all over the world. Perhaps its popularity stems from the fact the hotel is a grand place to stay. Large bedrooms, large lounge areas, quiet meeting rooms, good food, prime location and friendly staff all play their part. All local amenities close to hand, but within a 5 minute drive you are out into the dramatic Highlands. Lochness is only 7 miles from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Highland Inverness
Hotel Royal Highland
Royal Highland Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing