We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Highland Hotel
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay ”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Nice clean hotel!!

We stayed for my birthday weekend and was great!!

The daytime staff can be a bit rude but the night the staff are tremendous!! We came in hungry after a night out and the night shift staff gave us crisps on the house :)

Rooms are small but you get what you pay for! Shower isn't the best and was either roasting got or freezing cold.

Breakfast was amazing, fresh and hot!

Great location for shopping, drinking etc! Would recommend bar one across the road as there cocktails are to die for!

All in all a great stay, will be back for sure :)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for the kind review and we have noted your comments very carefully. We hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    691
    389
    162
    140
See reviews for
263
891
149
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Had a 3 night break at the Royal Highland in March and I speak highly enough of this hotel. It has a perfect central location in the city of Inverness next to the railway station.
We were greeted by pleasant staff and our room was very large and comfortable and also quiet.
The breakfasts could not be better and on the one night we dined in the hotel our meal was very good with plenty of choice.
Based on our stay I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quaker_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for the review and we are all delighted here that you enjoyed the stay. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Highlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The location of the hotel is perfect. Very central and close to both the bus station and the train station.

The general state of the hotel is typical of a hotel that has been around for a while. It has lots of character but could perhaps do with a spruce up.

I had a single room which was adequate if a bit small and the front of house staff were pleasant enough.

There ends the positives!

We were a party of around 16 and had booked for 2 nights bed breakfast and evening meal. The breakfast was good. The evening meal was close to the worst eating experience I have every had. On the first night we were told that we could have steak or nothing, There was no-one on hand to explain why this was the case but the next day we were told that it was because they had given us the best possible price. Why would you give people paying bottom dollar steak? The answer is because the steak was a cut that I had never seen before and certainly hope to never see again. No-one bothered to ask how we wanted the steaks done. The service was dreadful. The drinks took about 15 minutes to arrive from a bar about 10 feet away and the staff seemed to treat everything as a joke. We were entitled to a sweet but when one of our party asked what the sweet was, the waitress, holding the sweet, looked at it and said she didn't know.

After a discussion with the staff the following day, we were told that we could have a choice of chicken or pasta - yippee - but when we got to the restaurant that evening there was only chicken. The experience was very similar to the night before except that when one of our party touch the scalding plate, the waitress laughed.

It's a real shame that the restaurant .... and it's management.... are so poor. I would stay in the hotel again but wouldn't eat in the Ash Restaurant if it was the only place in Inverness!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andycoull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for the review and we would like to apologise for any inconvenience. The confusion probably arose as there could be a communication gap between the group members and the group coordinator from your side who had discussed and confirmed the menu offered with our team here and we served what was agreed upon. We hope this clears it, and we hope that we will get another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Inverness hotels

Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Have just returned from a two day stay at the Royal Highland. As it is so close to the rail station - actually attached to it, we chose not to have the hassle of driving - also there isn't a hotel car park as such - just 9 slots outside which were usually filled during our stay. We arrived before the 3pm check-in but the friendly receptionist offered us the use of the luggage room for our cases. Hello to the moaners below who have complained because they can't check-in early - it's 3pm check-in to give the staff time to make up your room as it's a 10.30 checkout....quite late compared to some other hotels I've recently stayed in. I'm sure these same moaners would be the first ones to complain if their room wasn't pristine - this gives the staff time to ensure rooms are ready. Rant over - but I overheard so many whingers in the lobby when we arrived!! I can understand if there wasn't anywhere secure to store bags if you are early - but there is. We set off to explore and returned at 3.30 to get our room and book dinner - after the dust had settled! Room 202 was a lovely good-sized room with quality furnishings and fittings - huge bathroom, double bed and a view into Station Square. There was a bit of noise later on - but this is a city centre hotel and it didn't keep us awake. Hospitality tray was replenished daily with quality brands, as were the toiletries and towels. We had an iron and board and a huge telly - although we never had time to watch any. We had a meal in the Ash restaurant on our first evening as it was faultless - see my review. Breakfast each morning was plentiful - porridge was excellent - with a good selection of cold and hot options, cereals, fruit etc. Would recommend highly as a good, central place to stay in Inverness with excellent transport links - and of course these is the famous staircase inside!.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LolabelleScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you so much for the time taken to write the review - we are all delighted that you enjoyed the stay and we look forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Excellent location. Very handy for the bus station, too.
Lovely room very quiet. Nothing was too much trouble for the reception staff when I arrived. I fully intend returning there in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: . Mon,Tues & Weds are the best days on which to stay. Service is excellent then. Restaurant staf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you so much for the time taken to write the review - we are delighted that you enjoyed the stay and we look forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Spent 2nights here didn't want to leave . Room excellent hospitality tray filled up on both days. Breakfast and food in restaurant was excellent with really big portions Can't wait to go back there even had some sun!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeamacGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you so much for the time taken to write the review - we are delighted that you enjoyed the stay and we look forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle england
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Recently visited the royal highland hotel for a 2 night break break and i found the hotel to be ideal for a break. great location for the town, the hotel staff were friendly and very efficient, the hotel itself still looks great, with the staircase a sight to see. The room was very nice , a good size and everything you needed was there , also had an umbrella, didnt need it, an iron plus board. The food in the hotel was very good, service is very patchy so of the staff are excellent others need a bit more training . Will certainly stay there again, when we go back to Inverness, which is a great place for a short break ad the train journey is second to none from Newcastle.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lrb18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you so much for the time taken to write the review - we are delighted that you enjoyed the stay and have noted the suggestions. We look forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 34 in Inverness
1,229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Mercure Inverness Hotel
#28 of 34 in Inverness
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Highland Hotel

Property: Royal Highland Hotel
Address: 18 Academy Street, Inverness IV1 1LG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Highland Hotel is the oldest hotel in the centre of the Highland capital, Inverness. In 2000, the property was carefully restored, retaining its unique character associated with the bygone age. As soon as you enter the hotel you will appreciate this. In the foyer the grand staircase, the inspiration for the Titanic's staircase, leads to the 84 spacious refurbished bedrooms - all with very high ceilings. The decor is rich with traditional furniture and deep colours. The rooms all have soft furnishings and antique style furniture. The excellent bathrooms are generally medium to large in size. For over 151 years, the hotel has been looking after travellers from all over the world. Perhaps its popularity stems from the fact the hotel is a grand place to stay. Large bedrooms, large lounge areas, quiet meeting rooms, good food, prime location and friendly staff all play their part. All local amenities close to hand, but within a 5 minute drive you are out into the dramatic Highlands. Lochness is only 7 miles from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Highland Inverness
Hotel Royal Highland
Royal Highland Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing