We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friday Night Stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Highland Hotel
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friday Night Stopover”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We arrived at the hotel late on a Friday night and we found a decent sized clean room and bathroom. We requested a late 2pm checkout and had a great night sleep. Breakfast was good in the morning and there was a wide variety of food on offer. After we stuffed ourselves we promptly returned to bed for a few hours before checking out in the afternoon.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cain F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for the kind review which we shall share with the entire Team Royal Highland - we look forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    662
    374
    156
    133
See reviews for
246
856
141
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Great location -right in the center of town and right next to the train station-but parking was not good. We had to park several blocks away in a garage; an OK walk but a little scary at night. The staff was ok but not especially gracious. Our room was fine, clean and full of character. Heated towel racks were a nice touch. The décor is beautiful, the lobby especially. We had tea there several times and it made me feel like I was living in the era or at least a time from the past. We walked during the day anywhere we wanted; lots of tourist type shops as well as department stores and grocery nearby. It was especially easy to drive from the parking garage to points of interest.
We would stay here again but come by train. The station really is right next door and cabs and cabbies congregate in front of the hotel if you need to get to a destination.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTEnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for the kind review which we shall share with the entire Team Royal Highland - we look forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Spent a couple of nights here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Centre of Town, and lots of attractions very close.
Walking distance to Castle. Museum, Art Gallery etc.

Room very comfortable with large bathroom. Excellent mattress gave very refreshing sleeps.

Enjoy the splendid breakfast buffet. All you could ask for, with smoked haddock or kippers prepared to order. Quite a rarity and a very much enjoyed treat.

Bags kept secure from check-out to when we wanted to leave. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in 128 and would ask for it every time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CS2012-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for the kind review which we shall share with the entire Team Royal Highland - we look forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

A nice hotel attached to Inverness station , we drove up, parking is not easy you have to park in carpark at the back of station the hotel has a very impressive stairway, the food was excellent, and staff very friendly, well situated for the wonderful lochs and glens thoroughly enjoyed it

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank skywalker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for the kind review which we shall share with the entire Team Royal Highland - we look forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoking
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have stayed at the Royal Highland before and always found the hotel pleasant. The welcome seems to vary but goes from OK to very good. The last guy we saw on reception was very helpful. The rooms are very spacious and the bathrooms generally clean but getting tired. The rooms are well appointed with good curtains and blackouts, the traffic noise at the front is not a problem except for the inevitable rubbish lorry early in the morning!

The thing about this hotel that always perplexes me is the eating arrangements. The strange arrangement of the Ash restaurant does not work. We had dinner bed and breakfast and went for dinner at 8.30, not late I would suggest and they could not wait to get rid of us and shut up the place. The food was not a triumph, a goats cheese salad with half cooked goats cheese on an enormous slices of apple and a very wet salad of lettuce and childlike lumps of pepper under neath, I couldn't eat it. No one asked why not. Tempura prawns were OK but tinned pineapple with ice cream mmm? A reasonable bottle of wine was included in the price which was not excessive.

Breakfast is strange, a large room with a sort of buffet, not very pleasant juice, tea from a machine, no pots. Porridge good. One of those dreadful bread burning machines that pass for a toaster. No one seemed that interested except to tick your name off. A bit of a bun fight.

The hotel is great for the centre of Inverness and for the station, for which it was obviously built, on all our visits we have travelled by train but I can see that travel by car could be awkward as there is very little parking.

The food needs looking at and the staff need training. It is a lovely building and still worth a look.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank infoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your stay and we apologise for any inconvenience experienced. We have noted your points and will definitely take corrective action wherever necessary and we hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

After years of visiting family in inverness and staying in b&bs i noticed this hotel on kgb deals for a good price so i booked it but when i phoned they told me they didnt have any family rooms for the date i wanted, i was ok to book a double room as it would be me my partner and my 6yr old son could just share with us, it couldnt be tht bad..?? Well we arrived got charged extra £15 a sat nyt stay got given our room key and as i opened the door this tiny little room with a three quarter bed in it, as u could imagine tht night was uncomftable then all night we could hear glass bottles smashing as we were above a glass recycling bin and the windows were like paper. In the morning breakfast was terrible, we will be sticking to b&bs

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caringclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your stay and we apologise for any incovenience experienced. We will take this opportunity to point out that the Weekend Surcharge was very clearly mentioned on the Booking Voucher you were carrying which you can possibly recheck and verify for yourself. Our Scottish Buffet Breakfast consist of a wide range of Hot and Cold items as well as cereals and tea/coffee/breads and we are surprised that you did not enjoy the same. We would have loved to take note of anything which you found lacking in our staff, however, apart from the heading, we do not find any elaborations of the same and hence, are unable to respond. We hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you again so that we can offer you the experience which a majority of our guests take back with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Inverness hotels

Swinton
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel is an old fashioned hotel which is furnished accordingly. Although clean and comfortable it seemed to be lacking atmosphere. To say the Car Parking is a nightmare is being kind. There are so few spaces that when I asked where else I could park, I was told to use the public multi-storey car park and pay £6 for 24 hours, not quite what I expected when I booked. However, if you come on the train, the hotel is next door so no need for taxis.The breakfast was done on a massive scale, although edible, not as tasty as it could have been. .II would not stay here again but would prefer to stay outside Inverness, perhaps on the Black Isle.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pitpony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your stay and while we appreciate your concern about the car parking, but being in the heart of the City Centre of Inverness, we are fortunate that apart from 8 free car parking space that we have within the Station Square attached to the Hotel, the railway parking opposite to ours charge no parking fees between 8pm -7am and if you leave instructions with our Night Porter, he will happily do the needful in the morning. Then of course, is the Multi Storied car parking which is less than 4 mins walking distance away and which charges one of the most reasonable overnight parking in entire Scotland. We definitely hope to welcome you again over here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
3.4 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Highland Hotel

Property: Royal Highland Hotel
Address: 18 Academy Street, Inverness IV1 1LG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Highland Hotel is the oldest hotel in the centre of the Highland capital, Inverness. In 2000, the property was carefully restored, retaining its unique character associated with the bygone age. As soon as you enter the hotel you will appreciate this. In the foyer the grand staircase, the inspiration for the Titanic's staircase, leads to the 84 spacious refurbished bedrooms - all with very high ceilings. The decor is rich with traditional furniture and deep colours. The rooms all have soft furnishings and antique style furniture. The excellent bathrooms are generally medium to large in size. For over 151 years, the hotel has been looking after travellers from all over the world. Perhaps its popularity stems from the fact the hotel is a grand place to stay. Large bedrooms, large lounge areas, quiet meeting rooms, good food, prime location and friendly staff all play their part. All local amenities close to hand, but within a 5 minute drive you are out into the dramatic Highlands. Lochness is only 7 miles from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Royal Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Highland Inverness
Hotel Royal Highland
Royal Highland Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing