We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only the location is good” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Highland Hotel
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Winchester, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Only the location is good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our stay here was very disappointing and we were glad it was for one night only.

We booked a Royal Room which is supposedly one of their premium rooms. It was so small that there was no room for even one armchair. To watch TV you had to sit on the bed. It did not have a bad view; it had no view at all as the station roof blocked out the window.

Breakfast was like eating in a canteen - everything was DIY.

The only member of staff we met was the receptionist and she seemed to relish being unable to help with any request. Highland hospitality was entirely lacking.

Even its excellent location next to the railway station will not tempt us to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank becadapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for the review - we hope we have clarified the points raised thrugh the email sent to us and replied to. We look forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    648
    365
    153
    131
See reviews for
236
831
140
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The staff was so friendly. The rooms were quaint and well appointed for the age of the hotel. The hotel is well placed for adventures in Inverness being central to shopping and a short walk to the water. I would highly recommend staying here for the history and the fun.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for non smoking if you don't want a smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TortiCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for the kind review - we will share it with the entire team and we shall always try to provide the best of services to our guests. No brief description that describes the Hotel can be better than the one you had stated and we hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights on a Groupon - researching the area for a possible move. Can't fault the price - peanuts. Car parking is, yes, limited but there's a multi-storey not too far away once you've dropped the stuff off. If you have disabilities then an able-bodied driver is a must! Nice lobby - but I'm not a great hanger-round in lobbies! Nice staircase but not assisted by some awful corporate 'art' together with side-lobbies of 'thinking' art (i.e. the artist wanted to explain something - usually himself). It's a big station hotel from the era of steam and so is a bit tired in places. Room good (though small), bed good, bathroom good, dinner in Ash restaurant good.
BUT I shall never, ever forget what was, to me, the worst example of mechanised self-service breakfast I've ever eaten - sorry, left half-eaten. This was coach-tour-chicken-battery processing at its worst. A fruit juice machine, a coffee-tea machine, a packet cereal selection, a tub of congealing porridge which tasted burnt (i.e. burned during cooking then allowed to go cold), a range of the most appalling congealed and cold 'hot buffet' choices I can remember. Even the revolving toaster - usually efficient (in other places) - produced limp lukewarm toast.

The staff were fine although your chance of actually communicating with one of them was slim.

But maybe everyone had an off day and this slop wasn't typical? My advice, if the location is what you're after and the 'titanic stair' turns you on, is to give the breakfast canteen culture a miss and have breakfast in one of the numerous good eateries around (though maybe you'd have to fast a little longer on a Sunday)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrockdeVille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for the review. In all our sales literature- both off and online- we mention that we offer an extensive Scottish Buffet Breakfast and, as can be seen from the reviews immediately before and after this, it can be seen that the majority of our users enjoy the same. However, we have taken note of all the points raised and shall certainly look into whichever area needs our attention. While apologising that we did not come upto your expectations this time, we would definitely like to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

It's an excellent place with the best location in town; next to the train station. Our room was very clean and spacious; bathroom was lovely with nice toiletries. Breakfast buffet was a pleasant surprise as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCfromEdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for the kind review - we will share it with the entire team and we shall always try to provide the best of services to our guests. We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with colleagues for a night will visiting Inverness for business purposes.

Hotel is smack bang in middle of city centre, right next to rail station. Excellent location for city hotel. Car parking extremely limited which we found a down side however, we did manage to get a space eventually.

The rooms are clean & well presented. I would add they could do with a little updating as did feel rather dated. Pleasant & comfortable enough. The duvets are very thin so if you feel the cold I would recommend an extra blanket. All in all, the rooms were average to good standard & what you would expect.

Service was very average to the point we had to chase staff for 20 minutes so as we could pay for our drinks before leaving. I would suggest this is not great customer service. When we did deal with staff they were pleasant enough. Nothing amazingly outstanding or above & beyond.

Food for breakfast was what you would expect with plenty choice so no complaints. We didn't eat dinner here as went elsewhere so cannot comment on the evening dining.

Taking all the above into consideration I would stay again if staying in Inverness for business & required a very centrally located hotel. Not much above average in my humble opinion but dies the job you would expect.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rennie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for the kind review - we will share it with the entire team and we shall always try to provide the best of services to our guests. We have noted your comment on the bar services for which we apologise and we would like to reassure you that appropriate corrective action has been initiated. We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
158 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights DBB. Great location as we travelled by train. Very helpful staff. Impressive surroundings with a beautiful staircase and tartan carpet. Had a great room, very big, lovely new furniture and freshly decorated. Huge bathroom with nice toiletries. Tea, coffee biscuits and sweets replenished daily, also still and sparkling water too.
Good choice for dinner at night, huge portions. Good choice for breakfast too, something to suit everyone. My wife does not eat eggs, but there were 2 choices of fish, cold meats cheeses etc
also hot buffet. She does not mind getting our own coffees as we get them when we want instead of served when we sit down means they will be cold after we have had juice, fruit etc.
Would recommend and return.

Room Tip: It says on the hotel information book all rooms are different. Take a chance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JORGE848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for the kind review - we will share it with the entire team and we shall always try to provide the best of services to our guests. We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Have just thoroughly enjoyed my first visit ro The Royal Highland Hotel Inverness. Staff and food both excellent, hotel very well appointed and in good order. Great public areas. Bedrooms are a good size, clean and great attention to detail with a safe, iron and ironing board and a brolly in case the weather is bad! Would recommed and will certainly stay again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank groupsagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for the kind review - we will share it with the entire team and we shall always try to provide the best of services to our guests. We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
3.4 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Highland Hotel

Property: Royal Highland Hotel
Address: 18 Academy Street, Inverness IV1 1LG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Highland Hotel is the oldest hotel in the centre of the Highland capital, Inverness. In 2000, the property was carefully restored, retaining its unique character associated with the bygone age. As soon as you enter the hotel you will appreciate this. In the foyer the grand staircase, the inspiration for the Titanic's staircase, leads to the 84 spacious refurbished bedrooms - all with very high ceilings. The decor is rich with traditional furniture and deep colours. The rooms all have soft furnishings and antique style furniture. The excellent bathrooms are generally medium to large in size. For over 151 years, the hotel has been looking after travellers from all over the world. Perhaps its popularity stems from the fact the hotel is a grand place to stay. Large bedrooms, large lounge areas, quiet meeting rooms, good food, prime location and friendly staff all play their part. All local amenities close to hand, but within a 5 minute drive you are out into the dramatic Highlands. Lochness is only 7 miles from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Royal Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Highland Inverness
Hotel Royal Highland
Royal Highland Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing