We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Highland Hotel
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend break. Room was very clean although a bit on the small side. Our room was not the most scenic overlooking the kitchen and the windows were old and in a poor state so wee bit of noise but nothing unbearable.Had a problem with the TV which was very speedily resolved. Breakfast was a bit chaotic but overall decent choice, reminded me slightly of Channel 4 programme " The Hotel ", would much have preferred tea and coffee served to table as well as more tables for two - not keen on having to make conversation with others at breakfast!!Excellent central location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moira m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,912)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,401 - 1,407 of 1,912 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights last weekend. Our room was small but adequate and very clean and comfortable. Bed very comfortable. The hotel was very busy as there was a Burn Night function. We had dinner in Ask on the Friday which was ok but food could have been served a bit warmer. The waiter and waitress who served us appeared however to be void of any personality and there was no attempt at interaction at all. Perhaps they didn't understand us! Breakfast was served in a large room with all tables set up for 6 people. The buffet style service felt a bit like 'school dinners' and the food was quite tepid. None of the food was hot. We were there as part of a deal, so all in all it was quite good value for money. If I'd paid full price I would have been a bit miffed.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayCee193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterside1819, Owner at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

NOT OUR HOTEL!!!

This review a;plies to another hotel/ restaurant in the centre of the city. Please remove and a wee apology would be appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My wife and I recently spent a weekend here and really enjoyed it. The hotel is very stately as you enter with the grand staircase and ornate reception area. The bedroom was warm and comfortable. There were a couple of decoration problems, but these were minor and did not spoil the overall picture. Breakfast is buffet style and can be a bit hectic if the hotel is busy, but food was good and plentifull. We were there on a special offer and found it great value for money. If the same offer came up again, we would not hesitate to book again.

Room Tip: We were in room 225 which overlooks the roof of the train station. Only problem was with the pigeon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Booked this through Groupon ..great value for money £89 two night B&B for the both of us with a free bottle of wine when we dined in the restaurant ...we also had vouchers in our room to buy on get one half price drinks in the hotel bar (the bar was overpriced) but most hotels are

From the moment we arrived the staff were excellent
We had room 111 right at the top of the lovey staircase ...our room was small but adequate bathroom a nice size with shampoo conditioners and body wash, our room had tea coffee and hot chocolate..biscuits sweets also complimentary bottled water .

Breakfast was a self service buffet all the normal bacon eggs sausages black pudding , cereals fruit yogurt cakes croissants .

Fruit juice,tea flavoured teas coffee

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 1st floor we where with my husbands brother and his wife they stayed in 112...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annie1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed for one night and really enjoyed my stay. It was a romantic night away. It was lovely but sadly decor-wise the hotel has lost it. There is way to much outdated fittings and clashing carpets. Perhaps they have done it up since last winter though. It was comfortable and warm and the staff were friendly and laid-back. There wasn't much staff going about however. The building itself is stunning and would look incredible were it done up and restored in a fashionable way just like the other railway station hotels around the country. The bar/restaurant looked a bit barren and did not look too enticing. I think the place is a bit of a mish-mash. Though not run down or shabby, it just lacks identity and atmosphere. Upstairs a bit of a rabbit warren but we were comfy enough in the room which was small. I think we paid £60 for the night for both of us and that seemed ok because of it's central location. Lovely hot shower, very very clean, everything fresh. The whole hotel was clean. STEER CLEAR OF THE GUINNESS which was awful!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reja G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Beautiful hotel very nice walk to everything outside everything right there. charming area Best place to stay definatly going back there very safe people in inverness are beauitful. A must see resturants mall shops right there Castle resturant best steak pie. Inverness is a must see and Royal Highlander BEST place to stay. Dont forget to visit Nessie when your there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

You cant get more central than this hotel, great rooms and a great buffet breakfast included. The bathroom was well equipped with toiletries and was very spacious. My wife said she'd be happy to stay there again.Praise indeed from her!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnnyfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.4 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Inverness
Jurys Inn Inverness
#13 of 36 in Inverness
199 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#7 of 36 in Inverness
1,826 reviews
0.3 mi away
Columba Hotel, Inverness
Columba Hotel, Inverness
#29 of 36 in Inverness
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Highland Hotel

Address: 18 Academy Street, Inverness IV1 1LG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range: $72 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Highland Hotel is the oldest hotel in the centre of the Highland capital, Inverness. In 2000, the property was carefully restored, retaining its unique character associated with the bygone age. As soon as you enter the hotel you will appreciate this. In the foyer the grand staircase, the inspiration for the Titanic's staircase, leads to the 84 spacious refurbished bedrooms - all with very high ceilings. The decor is rich with traditional furniture and deep colours. The rooms all have soft furnishings and antique style furniture. The excellent bathrooms are generally medium to large in size. For over 151 years, the hotel has been looking after travellers from all over the world. Perhaps its popularity stems from the fact the hotel is a grand place to stay. Large bedrooms, large lounge areas, quiet meeting rooms, good food, prime location and friendly staff all play their part. All local amenities close to hand, but within a 5 minute drive you are out into the dramatic Highlands. Lochness is only 7 miles from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Highland Inverness
Hotel Royal Highland
Royal Highland Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing