We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delight, a treasure trove and a haven.”

Leakey's Second-hand Bookshop
Ranked #2 of 26 Shopping in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scotland's largest collection of old, rare and second-hand books and maps.
East Linton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A delight, a treasure trove and a haven.”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

It was a freezing, wet Inverness afternoon. Leaky's was perfect. I sat up in the cafe with our sons while hubby lost himself in the Scottish section. Everyone in the building seemed perfectly content, browsing, reading or having a cuppa. Huge log burner. Thousands of books on every imaginable topic. Just fab. We all found a book we'd like. Happy days.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    29
    10
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Book heaven”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My B&B mentioned this store and I'm so glad. It's a great rambling store (fireplace, spiral stairs, comfy chairs) with tons of second hands books. I browsed for hours. They are semi-organized which is just right. Only luggage-space kept me down to just 2 hardbacks.
The prices are fairly high. I paid 10GPB for a 1940s book on training gundogs.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Book worms and Harry Potter fans will love this place....”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Fantastic building that houses a wonderful second hand book shop....floor to ceiling shelves and a massive wood burning stove to keep the place warm in the centre....a balcony with more books and a cafe. Could have spent hours in there just browsing at the books. Difficult to describe the magic....you have to see it to understand.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must see in Inverness”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

A wonderful place converted from a former church. A real temple to the written word. The whole place is stuffed to brimming with every type of book; there really are some fantastic gems to be had. The lady assistant behind the desk could have been more friendly, but the staff in the upstairs coffee shop were great.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 6 Contributor
626 reviews
215 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
“A Jewel”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Every place we go we try to find a used book store. This had to be the best store in our entire trip to Great Britain. We were overwhelmed with the numbers of books. In an old church it is crammed from top to bottom. The staff are eager to help you. There are prints, maps, books etc. We spent an hour browsing all the while we were smelling the delightful smells of soup being made for lunch. Needless to say, we ran another errand or so while visiting and then came back for a hot bowl of broccoli soup served with brown bread. It was a very busy place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank One2travelUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leakey's Second-hand Bookshop also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Leakey's Second-hand Bookshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing