We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jacobite Cruises” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Ness

River Ness
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.74*
and up
Dolphin Boat Trips On Purpose Built Passenger Vessel
Ranked #1 of 79 things to do in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This wide peaceful river flowing through the city of Inverness is great for fishing salmon.
Portpatrick, SW Scotland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Jacobite Cruises”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Hubby and I took a cruise along the Caledonian Canal and along Loch Ness to Urquhart Castle. The boat was lovely and clean - although we didn't go inside the lounge area - the staff were friendly and polite and the three hour cruise was just delightful with plenty of opportunity to take photos en route. We'll definitely do it again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Doonsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    982
    505
    78
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

the weather was wonderful so that will influence my view.
We walked from the bridge near the castle on the hill up stream and the ambiance to the walk was lovely. Crossed over the river on a lovely bridge to an island and back down the river stopping for coffee and beer and the local hotels

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chaser D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Oasis in the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Having visited Inverness many times over the years, I have witnessed its growth and expansion. Though many things in the town centre may change, the Islands remain a haven for walking, wildlife, in a beautiful, safe well lit, day or night, area - right in the heart of the city. It is a credit to the local council here that it perfectly encompasses all things modernly highland - artistic hand crafted signage, benches and bridges. This is what makes Inverness the city it is - a glorious , accessible area right in the heart of the city. Exclusive, different from any other uk city.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely river walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Walking along the River Ness is a lovely way to pass some time in the city of Inverness. There are paths alongside the river which you can enjoy a nice scenic walk and look out for the birds as I saw a heron on the banks of one of the islands. You can cross over the river by one of the bridges and do a complete circle and you will pass many other visitors and locals doing the same of an evening and it is especially good if you have a dog as they will love the walk as well.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“"Actually I think Nessie was on vacation too"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We were there on a very beautiful clear day. The loch was calm and placid it appeared almost glassy. The air was pure with the scent of the water and surrounding greenery. Looking out over the water really has such a calming effect that you can really imagine yourself way back when. It was a grand experience..

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Ness also viewed

Ardersier, Inverness
 

Been to River Ness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing