We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sniper33
Columbus, Ohio

Either over-priced, or under-nice

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 8, 2010
This hotel was the only real disappointment on our 10 day trip through Scotland. We thought this was going to be a real treat, but the hotel was just mediocre. Our room was very small, very hot, and the bathroom was very dated. For over $200 a night, it was a very bad value. We expected a beautiful room and a modern bathroom. Warning -- the wake-up service doesn't work (we heard the manager say "again?") when the receptionist told him of our problem. Lack of wake-up call caused a great inconvenience (there are no alarm clocks in the rooms, either). On the positive side, the breakfast was good and the location is great.
Date of stay: June 2010
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
$133
  • Vio.com
0.5 miles from Glenmoriston Townhouse Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
$271
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $271
  • Skyscanner.com
    $260
  • Hotels.com
    $272
0.2 miles from Glenmoriston Townhouse Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
$426
$368
  • Expedia.com
    $368
  • Tripadvisor
    $368
  • Priceline
0.7 miles from Glenmoriston Townhouse Hotel
Free parking
Pool
$322
$289
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $322
1.2 miles from Glenmoriston Townhouse Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$174
  • Expedia.com
    $167
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
    $167
0.5 miles from Glenmoriston Townhouse Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$97
  • Vio.com
1.7 miles from Glenmoriston Townhouse Hotel
Free parking
Exterior view
$213
  • Booking.com
    $201
  • Expedia.com
    $201
  • Hotels.com
    $202
0.4 miles from Glenmoriston Townhouse Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$203
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.2 miles from Glenmoriston Townhouse Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
    $120
  • Skyscanner.com
    $96
  • Travelodge
    $100
1.4 miles from Glenmoriston Townhouse Hotel
Free parking
View more hotels in Inverness
Reviews (1,163)
Filter reviews
1,164 results
Traveler rating
445
372
195
89
63
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
445
372
195
89
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews piano bar the river main building no lift lovely hotel top floor venison first morning full scottish bed was very comfortable plenty of parking town centre one night stay double room lovely room breakfast was excellent afternoon tea
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,015 - 1,020 of 1,164 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2010

Very nice city center location next to the river bank in Inverness. Plenty of car parking & hotel looks nice. Did not try restaurant for evening meal & breakfast was OK.
Room I had was in an annexe & quite small; different to rooms you see on their web site....Room furnishings & bed were good quality.
TV in the room had poor picture quality & limited channels
Bathroom shower only & quite small with no window.

Date of stay: June 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

Stayed at the Glenmoriston for one night in February 2010, and had a magic time. we had a superior room overlooking the river with modern furniture, an extremely comfortable bed, and a massive bathroom.

Breakfast was lovely, and also enjoyed a nice candlelit dinner at the Abstrakt restaurant downstairs. Would defintely stay here again, but would be paying the extra to stay in the superior room onve again.

Date of stay: February 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tk53
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

My husband and i booked a stay at the Glenmoriston May bank holiday to celebrate our 5Th wedding anniversary. The location of the hotel is ideal on the banks of the ness river with lovely views. Unfortunately the problems started when we went to check in at 4pm as advised on our arrival an hour earlier. When reception staff were presented with the pre paid hotel voucher it was noted that there was no record of our reservation.(The hotel booking was made through travel republic) We were asked to wait in bar area. Fortunately we were lucky to receive the last room in the hotel or not as the stay progressed (Room no 1). The room we were given was a standard room similar to what we had booked. It was extremely small,cluttered,dated and not in the best repair i.e broken tiles in the bathroom. Room security was poor with one flimsy lock insitu. I personally did not feel safe in the room. The room adjacent and upstairs was noisey when they flushed their toilet or turned their taps on a huge racket could be heard. As we were celebrating our wedding anniversary i had pre booked dinner in Abstract restaurant in the hotel.The menu choice was fair. The food quality was good, its presentation fair. We were given complementary food items in between courses. Between each course there was a considerable wait. Do not eat here unless you have lots of time on your hands and expect poor service. From starters to completion of desert took approx 2.5 hours. However when you ask for the bill and it doesn't arrive 30 minutes later and you haven't been asked if you drinks would like to replenished we left the restaurant. In the bar area we ordered post dinner drinks and for the restaurant bill. The bar staff alerted the manager on duty. We explained what had happened.Apologies were given and told that it would be followed up. Complemantry drinks were provided however still no restaurant bill appeared. We were asked by hotel manager to eat in other retaurant in the hotel the next evening where he would personally look after us. The next evening we decided to eat early 6pm booking. The service to begin with was satisfactory even though the restaurant was very quiet and their was only one waiting staff. Menu choice good. Food quality good. We had starters, main course and asked to see dessert menu. After 45 minutes we managed to get the attention of the only waiter and asked for the bill. which was incorrect as were charged for drinks ordered which never got to our table.Well where do i begin with breakfast the next morning. Terrible service for start to finish. Ordered the full cooked breakfast. Delicious. Continental buffet selection poor. No cold meats or cheese to choose from. Poor bread selection unless you ate sliced bread or croissants only. On our last morning breakfast experience didn't improve was told no brown bread available in the hotel as it didn't get delivered. There ars lots of small shops within hotel proximity where brown bread could be purchased. Upon check out lots of unhappy people checking out complaing about poor service and lack of staff in the hotel. We checked out of the hotal swiftly as possible not wanting to spent another moment there. Did get to see final sum for our restaurant bill from first night but no breakdown. Will definately not be returning or recommending to friends or family .will be advising against them staying here. In my opinion hotel does not deserve to keep its current star rating without lots of imput from management to improve this hotel overall.

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CatsPawsAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

My wife and I stayed for the weekend, booked through laterooms at £75/night, but was forced to pay the at upgrade of £30 because the reserved room was really cramped. The room were extremely basic and for 4* this was not right. We ended up with a family room in an attic conversion, which again was fairly small - I'd hate to have 4 people in it! I have stayed in several hotels of all class and 2* guesthouses have been on par. Beds were extremely uncomfortable, far too soft, left bones aching next day.

Nevertheless, the dining areas and bar have nice modern decor and breakfast was varied and nice. Staff could not have been more friendly or helpful and I cannot fault them on this.

Location is perfect, 5 minute walk and your in the heart.

In summary, not worth the money. If your after a bit of luxury, which I was, then this is not the place.

Date of stay: April 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevemcl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

Stayed in Inverness for a night to do some shopping and hear a band... Was going to book a budget hotel but decided to increase the budget a bit and choose somewhere a bit more comfotable..... The Hotel was a real surprise... We stayed in a seperate building with 2 large windows overlooking the River. I upgraded to a superior room - it was spotless and really comfortable, but a bit on the small side. There were plenty of other guests but it was perfectly quiet - didn't hear a door bang once! We didn't take advantage of all the Hotel's facilites - the lounge areas downstairs would be perfect if you were stying with friends - big comfy sofas, nice lighting etc. Breakfast was tasty - no cheap and greasy sausages :) Would definately book again...... ps Did spot some rooms at the back and side of the main building that looked a bit like a motel extension?

Date of stay: April 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews