We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Glenmoriston Town House
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Mapua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
255 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed December 14, 2009

wonderful hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Our room was very comfortable, a little small but not too bad. We had a meal in the restaurant and it was delicious. Overall our staff was A+

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    254
    129
    54
    39
See reviews for
63
413
41
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2009

Having entered the Loch Ness marathon I was looking for a convenient b&b to stay for one night, but after trying countless places, none were interested in my wife and I only booking for one night.
It was quite by chance that we came across the Glenmoriston on the internet and we are so glad that we did.

The staff throughout the hotel were so friendly and helpful, from reception to restaurant, they couldn't have done more for us.
We arrived early and were told that the room was still occuppied, which we expected as we had got an early plane, but we were allowed to leave our bags in a secure room. The reception staff then suggested walks we could take along the river, or local points of interest.
The room overlooked the river, which was beautiful. Very clean, bed very comfortable and the bathroom was great.

We ate in the Contrast Brasserie in the evening, which is attached to the hotel, and the food was terrific, especially the scallops. I was being affected by the air-con and without asking me the staff obviously noticed this and turned it down.

Even after we checked out, we returned once I had finished the marathon, we were allowed to use the toilets and the staff ordered us a taxi,.

If ever we go back to Inverness, which is not likely, we would definitely use this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xe_cross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

When I arrived at the hotel after a long day. The receptionist informed me they had booked me in to another hotel as the room allocated to me had 'plumbing problems'.
The car park was empty, I'm sure another could have been allocated.
The hotel I was allocated to was a bit run down but they gave me the best room they had which I have to say was fantastic and the staff were very pleasant.
I have also heard from another source that the Glenmoriston pull this stunt on a regular basis.

Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank SanSebastian18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Stayed here in August for 2 nights. Location and service is great. Staff very pleasant.Our room was very clean, however I was a little disappointed with the interior for a four star hotel. Breakfast excellent. Would probably still stay here again if returning to Inverness because of the location.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauraann79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Very difficult to get into the bed on one side without banging your head on the wall. We felt this room should have been designated a single room rather than a double. TV signal was flaky, but good internet access. Would not stay again unless we could afford to upgrade to a superior double. The room we were allocated was not 4 star standard. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horace999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

First, the positives. The hotel is in a great location as you can walk to many restaurants and along the river. The service was top notch. Both the girl at the front desk and the kind man at breakfast were extremely cheerful and helpful and made us feel at home. On the negative side, for the price we had a very average room. I was expecting to have a water view for that price. I think we were put in an older part of the hotel that had not been refurbished as the other photos I've seen look nothing like the room we had. It was warm in the room so we opened the window but some woman was talking very loud for a few hours so we closed the window. This was the most expensive place we stayed in Scotland and was by far the most disappointing....

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krinkrinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2009

The bed was comfortable and the bathroom large and functional but overall the room was small and rather expensive given the quality of the furnishings. We were right over a kitchen -- not loud, but warm. OK. The location is great within Inverness, but there really isn't anything special about Inverness. Just a pit-stop for us.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#15 of 34 in Inverness
580 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.5 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmoriston Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmoriston Town House

Property: Glenmoriston Town House
Address: 20 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Inverness
#7 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenmoriston Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenmoriston Town House Inverness is a stylish four star deluxe property on the banks of the River Ness, perfectly located within the heart of the capital of the highlands it provides an impressive contrast to the cities more traditional hotels. Experience unparalleled luxury in one of our 30 stylish bedrooms, designed with comfort in mind and boasting heavenly beds, delicious duvets, fluffy towels and luxury toiletries not to mention the impeccable service you'd expect! The hotel encompasses the finest in Scottish culture with luxury and style and provides an ideal base for those who wish to explore Scotland's abundance of unique landmarks. The Glenmoriston Town House is conveniently just twenty minutes from Inverness Airport and only ten minutes walk from the city main line station. Great food and wine are very much entwined in the Glenmoriston Town House experience and we offer an exceptional restaurant. For a memorable culinary experience, visit our chic and stylish Contrast Brasserie. In addition, the hotel's destination Piano Bar offers Scotland's finest whiskies from over 250 distilleries and our mixologists are constantly developing the most wonderful cocktails to tantalise even the most demanding taste buds. The Glenmoriston Town House will ensure a quality stay whether business or pleasure. Just over 3 hours from Edinburgh or Glasgow it is the perfect property for any number of occasions, be it family get together, sporting holiday, romantic escape, or just a break away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenmoriston Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmoriston Town House Hotel Inverness
Glenmoriston Town Hotel
Glenmoriston Town Inverness
Glenmoriston Town House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing