We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame on them”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Glenmoriston Town House
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
510 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Shame on them”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We paid 180 pounds for one night. In a tour of 14 nights, this was double than any other hotel.
And the least on the list. No lift, we had to carry our suitcases to second floor.
The room was tiny, had bad smell.
Open the window the view was the next wall.
Went to the bathroom to find a cubicle with shower.
Wifi had to be worked with them for half an hour.
The excuse is that they sit on the river bank.
Than they charge whatever comes up to their mind. What a bad bad bad experience.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor. Avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DANIELLA107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Recent Guest,

Thank you for the review of your stay with us. Considering the number of things you felt were deficient, any one of our managers including myself would have welcomed the opportunity to discuss your concerns in person while you were onsite so we could have addressed these concerns.

Our team takes great pride in our product and service execution and we are very disappointed that you perceived your stay so poorly. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations and we will continue to work on improving our offerings.

We do hope that we are afforded the opportunity to welcome you back to The Glenmoriston Town House so we may restore your faith in our product and hospitality.

Kind regards,

Joanthan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    254
    129
    54
    39
See reviews for
63
413
41
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

...to the other rather scathing reviews as my stay was perfectly acceptable albeit well over-priced at £196 room only per night. Mind you, that's my only complaint. It wasn't worth that amount of money, but in general the staff in the restaurant were very pleasant, polite and helpful, particularly the two guys working the bar (one called Ewan). My room (detached from the main hotel building) was very comfortable and decorated tastefully with dual aspect windows; one overlooking the River Ness the other overlooking the main hotel building. Bathroom spacious enough and very clean. Bar was comfortable if a bit cramped but drinks / cocktails were made and presented well. Food in Contrast Restaurant was pretty good too. All in all a good independent hotel but couldn't help feeling a bit 'taken advantage of' regarding the price. I'd go back for sure, but only if the room rate were more realistic.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

In the 'abstract' restaurant excellent and very nicely arranged food is being served, accompanied by good wines and of course rounded up by excellent whisky, whereof they have about 220 different ones, including some really rare experiences. We had a perfect stay at Inverness.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rscrsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
285 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Whomever took the photos for the website deserves a star!!

Beware of the place that doesn't show a photo of the OUTSIDE, having seen this photo I would have said, "no thank you"!

This is a refurbished house-motel, with add-ons everywhere. It is not a Town House. It is not a Hotel. It is not 4 star if you are of American standards.

We arrived at 2 pm and were "greeted" by a grumpy twenty-something who ONLY said to us upon entering the "lobby"..."put your luggage in that room down the hall and come back after 4 pm, that's when check-in is'!!! Oh, then she interrupted us to ask if we wanted to reserve a table for dinner. NO and NO!!!

The room; It is clean. It has nicely appointed drapery and quilts and a small flat screen TV. It has a nice location.

The full size mattress - NOT a queen, nor a box spring included either, JUST a mattress - was fashioned over a few 4x4 boards on top of a wrought iron child's bed frame (my husband is 5'10" and his feet hung over the end!). THE most uncomfortable bed ever. The shower was a plastic walk-in shower that was too small for me (I'm 5'!). The walls were sloped and too imposing even for us. NONE of this was explained to us. The towels and robes shed all over us...imagine taking a shower and attempting to dry off only to be covered in lint! Had to take another shower. No face cloths either. Hmmm.

The room was above their piano-bar where few people visited, expect for the local drunks each night. They conveniently hung out until 4 AM talking and keeping us awake. Sure, there is security...except they are hanging out with the drunks.

We didn't give this nasty place any additional business or money.

Upon check-out, the nasty girls mother...chewing her toast and glaring at us with her bright red hair made a big deal when my husband asked for a receipt for the stay. Really? Receipts are customary.

Mind you, neither of these women welcomed us with a "hello", or "welcome". They certainly didn't ask how the stay was either.

Nasty to the core.

We were charged 144 BPS per night! What a rip-off!!!

When we returned I sent a copy of this review...never received a response. They know this place is not as advertised. Now, so do you!!!

Room Tip: Try the Best Western across the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AOneWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Really must be better choices in Inverness. Room cost the equivalent of $300/night and we were told that a fan (which was included in some rooms due to no air conditioning) and face cloths were not part of our room. This was corrected when we spoke to the new person at the front desk the next morning but we had to sweat out the first night. Then they did not set our wake up calls as promised, nor did they arrange for the cab to pick us up at 8am as requested. To top it off when we were checking out we asked to have someone help us with our bags (we on the 3rd floor with no elevator). They pulled some kid out of the kitchen to help us, who we tipped, and then found out they added a charge for porter service!! all this a wallpaper pealing off the walls in the room! Cross this one off your lists!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Putter4459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

I read your review with great concern. I would very much like to liaise with you personally and if you will kindly allow me to may I please invite you to contact me directly on jon@adeoconsult.co.uk.

I hope to hear from you.

With all good wishes,

Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Check in was great considering we arrived at mid-day after being told the day before that our room probably wouldn't be ready until about 4o'clock but we could get changed in the toilets!! (We had a wedding at 2 and had driven quite a bit to get there) Room was a good size and very comfortable. Bar prices were a bit of a shock £4.75 for a pint of lager!! Breakfast was nice but again over priced at nearly £13. Location was lovely looking over the river but if not for the wedding probably wouldn't have stayed there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigredAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
10 August 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your views. I am confident that our pricing is at the right price point and I am sorry that you felt that the the pint of Peroni lager was somewhat pricey, as I am sure you may be aware it is a premium lager and normally retails at over £5 per pint.

Please be assured that being complacent is the last thing on our minds.

With good wishes,

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The receptionist was nothing but helpful and pleasant anytime I had questions. The rooms are small but I don't mind it and I loved that my bathroom had a huge window letting in tons of natural light. The rooms are a bit dated but everything was functional. My only complaint is that housekeeping entered my room at 10am without even knocking and while she was opening the door, I kept yelling "excuse me, no!" but she was too preoccupied by something in the hall to hear me so she walked in on me. It wasn't a huge deal as I was decent and just hanging around but I didn't want to be disturbed and I could have easily been changing my clothes or something. It was very unprofessional and 10am isn't even that late where I would expect something like this.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADesai90024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Whilst it is never pleasant to read a review that shows that we have not achieved our goal of providing our guests with an exceptional experience I certainly want to look at it as an opportunity to improve.

I very much agree with your annoyance about the housekeeper accessing your room at 10am without knocking. I apologise for this error and have ensured that the team are clear on this.

I naturally do not want this to be your lasting memory of our hotel. When you plan your next visit to The Glenmoriston Town House I would be very happy to liaise with you personally.

Thanks,

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#15 of 34 in Inverness
580 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.5 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmoriston Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmoriston Town House

Property: Glenmoriston Town House
Address: 20 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Inverness
#7 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenmoriston Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenmoriston Town House Inverness is a stylish four star deluxe property on the banks of the River Ness, perfectly located within the heart of the capital of the highlands it provides an impressive contrast to the cities more traditional hotels. Experience unparalleled luxury in one of our 30 stylish bedrooms, designed with comfort in mind and boasting heavenly beds, delicious duvets, fluffy towels and luxury toiletries not to mention the impeccable service you'd expect! The hotel encompasses the finest in Scottish culture with luxury and style and provides an ideal base for those who wish to explore Scotland's abundance of unique landmarks. The Glenmoriston Town House is conveniently just twenty minutes from Inverness Airport and only ten minutes walk from the city main line station. Great food and wine are very much entwined in the Glenmoriston Town House experience and we offer an exceptional restaurant. For a memorable culinary experience, visit our chic and stylish Contrast Brasserie. In addition, the hotel's destination Piano Bar offers Scotland's finest whiskies from over 250 distilleries and our mixologists are constantly developing the most wonderful cocktails to tantalise even the most demanding taste buds. The Glenmoriston Town House will ensure a quality stay whether business or pleasure. Just over 3 hours from Edinburgh or Glasgow it is the perfect property for any number of occasions, be it family get together, sporting holiday, romantic escape, or just a break away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenmoriston Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmoriston Town House Hotel Inverness
Glenmoriston Town Hotel
Glenmoriston Town Inverness
Glenmoriston Town House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing