We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glenmoriston Town House
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not the best value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a prime position by the River Ness, but on the night of my recent stay, nearby roadworks and very heavy traffic caused me a 30 minute delay as there seemed no way that the hotel could be reached. Not the hotel's fault of course but if you are travelling here soon, chances are you will also be delayed.

The room was very comfortable, although there seems to be an obsession with placing multiple cushions on the bed! My evening meal was quite imaginative, well cooked and presented - the service was perhaps too attentive although all of the staff were very polite. The breakfast however, was distinctly average.

Overall, I feel the price charged for bed and breakfast is more a reflection of its location (& the number of cushions!) than its real value.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Steve_T429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    247
    122
    52
    39
See reviews for
62
399
39
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bonnie Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed here on business for one night and was pleasantly surprised

The reception area was quiet busy when we arrived and unfortunately the receptionist not very welcoming very robotic almost, which was a shame.

I had dietary requirements and she did say she would sort it out for me in the morning. So of course when I came down in the morning and asked if this had been sorted, it was as if I had offended her, she went off to find out and didn't bother to come back to me and say someone will be with you she just left it to the waiter to sort out. And then they were discussing it behind me and it made me feel very uncomfortable.

Breakfast was a bit like faulty towers the young girls working there seemed to be a bit clueless on what to do, I had to ask for a coffee I wasn't offered which is a let down these small things really do make a difference.

That aside the room itself was amazing, the bed was so,comfortable I didn't want to get up!! The room had everything I needed although I was in the other building it was quiet and quaint and full of character

The location of the hotel is very very central, which was a bonus as we ate at Cafe 1 which is only a 5 minute walk.

If they can sort the breakfast out and if the receptionist would be more welcoming i would give this place 100%

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blondie2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, NY
Level Contributor
255 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. The ladies who run the hotel were very nice - we felt very welcome. The hotel is in a good location, just outside of downtown on the river. Easy walk to downtown and a very nice view. Our room was in the back section, upstairs, so we had a view of the river over the front of the hotel. There is a bit of a shelf in those windows – perfect for sitting for a few minutes to enjoy the view. A nice bonus given that the rooms are pretty small – not a lot of room for moving about with two large suitcases. We ate in the bistro in the hotel for dinner the first night. Possibly my favorite meal of our entire vacation. Breakfast was decent. The first morning we were in a bit of a rush to make a scheduled tour in Speyside and did not order from the menu, but the continental breakfast was sufficient. We did order from the menu the second morning and it was pretty good. The bar has an extensive whisky list and comfortable chairs. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was clean. Had a bit of a struggle with the door on the shower – got stuck and wouldn’t unfold either morning. (But if that is the biggest problem with the room, I consider that a win.) Bathroom amenities are: shampoo and shower gel dispensers in shower, small lotion bottle (unfortunately not replaced on day 2 even though mostly empty. Glad I had extra in my luggage), mouthwash, one bar of soap, shower cap. No conditioner. Pack accordingly. (Hair dryer is in room and worked fine.) Would recommend this hotel to friends.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wraar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from a touring holiday of Scotland and stayed here for 2 nights. As other reviewers have said the location and setting are very good. Our room had a partial side view of the river but it was so small. We had to move the chair beside the window to get into the wardrobe and there was very little space down one side of the bed. The bathroom was spacious enough but the shelving very narrow, nowhere for a soap bag or a make up bag on either shelf.

We ate in the Bistro restaurant, at the Hotel, an early bird supper, which was Ok. 3 star at best but the staff were very pleasant. In fact the staff were all delightful throughout our stay.

The Eden theatre is a short walk over a footbridge and we saw Bohemian Rhapsody there. The Castle pub is a very short walk from the hotel and is lively and full of atmosphere. The Hotels Piano Bar was empty on both nights we were there and very few people in the high spend restaurant.

Many places do early bird meals along the river, ranging from £12.95 to £16.95 for 2 courses before 7pm. We were very lucky on the second night of our stay snapping up the last available table for 2 at 8pm at the Riverhouse Restauarant. This is a must. It is very popular so next time we will definitely go back and not risk it without booking.

Breakfast at the hotel was very disappointing. Poor choice of continental. Fruit salad on the second day hadnt been replenished so just included melon with one bit of apple. Service was excellent with a friendly young staff.


All in all we wont return to this hotel. Its too expensive for what it offers. However, we did have an enjoyable Scottish tour.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jenNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Pros: Location, service, cleanliness, easy parking, nearby and on-site bars and restaurants
Cons: Potential for a slightly wacky room set up, creaky hallway floors, and fairly pricey

Our group of 7 adults required 3 rooms, and each room was unique. But, the hotel was ready for us - placing a Z bed in the room with 2 double beds, and having all three rooms ready when we checked in. We really loved the location of the hotel: looking at the sun setting over the River Ness (and the hotel is smack dab on the river), enjoying the scenery, taking walks along the water, walking to the Loch Ness Cruise pick up point one mile away at the Tomnahurich bridge, zipping up to the Castle Tavern for beer, scotch, and a view, crossing the bridge to check out the eating places, walking 5 minutes up to the souvenir store, and having drinks at the hotel's lovely bar. Breakfast was very nice - eggs cooked to order and served quickly, and the choice of a full Scottish breakfast for those who are up for that (!). This location was a good central base for people who want to drive out to see distilleries, Cawdor Castle, Culloden Moor, or golf during the day, and have a few drinks out on the town at night. The front desk was very helpful, providing directions, assistance with booking tee times, and just generally dealing politely with random requests, or 'don't have the key on me!' issues.

The 3 rooms were charming/genuine/not an American chain in any way shape or form. One room had a decent view and a very large bathroom, but was a bit tight around the bed. The other double room had a less-than-impressive view of a gravel parcel, but included a coffee/tea setup, and more room around the bed. One room had a great view of the river, but a bathtub without a shower head mount. So.. each room was very clean, the beds were comfortable, and the neigborhood was very quiet.. just the sound of the river flowing by.

The Waterside restaurant next door served a wonderful meal, with great service, and lovely atmosphere. There was plenty of parking at this hotel, so you can park your car and walk anywhere in town. And the food was great everywhere we went. Granted, the Glenmoriston is not a cheap hotel, but I really couldn't have had a nicer time. This is a wonderful home base for exploring Inverness and the environs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MustSeeThis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We booked last minute on line, we had a deluxe room with a kingsize bed but it was very tight for space and needed an upgrade. However, I have to say the bed was very comfortable!

The hotel was good in parts but overall missed the mark. The restaurant menu was good but the quality of the food was very average at best, and price wise at the higher end, not good value for money.

Great location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Timeout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Arrived for a two night stay to find that they had given our room to somebody else. As we had booked in December it obviously wasn't a case of prioritising those who had booked first.The excuse given was that the booking agency computer had only just advised them of our booking. We were relocated to a another Hotel outside of town which was very inferior and after several attempts to contact the Manager about this no satisfaction has been gained as to compensation for the inconvenience although we were "upgraded" when they found us a room for the second night of our stay.
When we did finally get to stay there, the room and food were fine, but I suggest that you confirm your booking in advance to make sure you don't have the same hassle the we endured.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trusler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
3.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#15 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmoriston Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmoriston Town House

Property: Glenmoriston Town House
Address: 20 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Inverness
#7 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenmoriston Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenmoriston Town House Inverness is a stylish four star deluxe property on the banks of the River Ness, perfectly located within the heart of the capital of the highlands it provides an impressive contrast to the cities more traditional hotels. Experience unparalleled luxury in one of our 30 stylish bedrooms, designed with comfort in mind and boasting heavenly beds, delicious duvets, fluffy towels and luxury toiletries not to mention the impeccable service you'd expect! The hotel encompasses the finest in Scottish culture with luxury and style and provides an ideal base for those who wish to explore Scotland's abundance of unique landmarks. The Glenmoriston Town House is conveniently just twenty minutes from Inverness Airport and only ten minutes walk from the city main line station. Great food and wine are very much entwined in the Glenmoriston Town House experience and we offer an exceptional restaurant. For a memorable culinary experience, visit our chic and stylish Contrast Brasserie. In addition, the hotel's destination Piano Bar offers Scotland's finest whiskies from over 250 distilleries and our mixologists are constantly developing the most wonderful cocktails to tantalise even the most demanding taste buds. The Glenmoriston Town House will ensure a quality stay whether business or pleasure. Just over 3 hours from Edinburgh or Glasgow it is the perfect property for any number of occasions, be it family get together, sporting holiday, romantic escape, or just a break away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenmoriston Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmoriston Town House Hotel Inverness
Glenmoriston Town Hotel
Glenmoriston Town Inverness
Glenmoriston Town House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing