We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing room” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenmoriston Town House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenmoriston Town House
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very disappointing room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I booked this room as a special Birthday treat for my Boyfriend as he works away from home and will be away on the day.....I was very disappointed with our room, the view from the room was of a chimney and a horrible flat roof! I did previously email and ask if it was possible to get a room with a river view but I never got a reply.....

The room (number 3) was very small and more suited to a single person certainly not a couple! The bathroom was no more than a cupboard with no bath just a shower...again disappointing (especially being 6 months pregnant).

We had originally decided to eat in the restaurant but I felt so let down with the room that we went out instead.....

I really felt like I could be staying in a Travelodge there really was nothing at all special about our room and I wouldn't recommend it to others.....certainly not room 3!

Room Tip: Unless you confirm a river view I would not recommend this hotel at all, it really isn't special...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It is incredibly disappointing to learn of your experience at The Glenmoriston Town House. I apologise profusely that we did not provide the quality of stay that we pride ourselves on delivering.

Please note that a private message has been sent to you with my contact details and would appreciate the opportunity to offer you a personal apology and discuss any of the issues raised.

Kind regards,

Jonathan McConnachie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    241
    120
    52
    39
See reviews for
62
391
36
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Berwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

An extremely friendly and welcoming hotel situated ideally on the riverside. Staff very attentive, food first class, excellent selection of wines. Tastefully decorated and the bar was very relaxing with a vast selection of drinks to suit every taste. Unfortunately did not get the opportunity to try out the cocktails so a great excuse to go back! Look forward to returning soon and enjoying more excellent scottish hospitality.

AF

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissA1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to leave such kind feedback on your recent visit to The Glenmoriston Town House. I am delighted to read how much you enjoy staying with us and how highly you value the experience. It will be my pleasure to share your comments with our team and I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Jonathan McConnachie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orkney
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have stayed here a number of times while travelling south on business from Orkney. The central location is terrific for lovely walks down the riverside. We upgraded to an Executive Double Room in the building next door and were delighted with the room. Although it was small, it was perfectly appointed and the bed was very comfortable. Lovely views of the river out our window. The Wifi seemed to work better here than in the main building so we will ask to stay in this building next time as we have to "stay connected" for work.

Room Tip: If you need a good wifi connection ask to go in the building next door to the main.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review of your recent stay at The Glenmoriston Town House. It was our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel and to read how much you enjoyed your stay once again.

I look forward to welcoming you again on your next stay with us.

Kind regards,

Jonathan McConnachie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in January, a break from the kids. Disappointed in our king room. View was lovely, enjoyed sitting on the window seat looking over to the cathedral, but the small iron bed was not what I was expecting and the furniture was very basic flat pack. From the pictures on the website was expecting a lovely big bed. The breakfast was also disappointing and put us off having dinner there. My French toast was 1 slice of ordinary white loaf bread, left me wanting more. A bit disappointed overall unfortunately, although was very clean and in a great situation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback of your recent stay at The Glenmoriston Town House. All feedback we receive is invaluable and I am deeply concerned to read that we did not live up to your expectations. I would very much like to discuss this with you further if you could kindly contact me at the hotel directly.

Kind regards,

Jonathan McConnachie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here at the start of December 2012 whilst on a christmas shopping trip, The hotels location is very nice situated on the river and the standard of the hotel is very nice also. Although we visited in the winter i would like to return to the hotel in the summer the beer garden would make for a lovely tranquil setting on a gorgeous summers night whilst being so close to the city centre. We did not eat an evening meal in the hotel as we were booked in at a nearby restaurant so it would be unfair of me to comment on the standard of the dinner available so i wont! We had a couple of drinks in the bar before heading for our meal and found the bar very relaxing and very well stocked (especially for the malt whisky lover) ,for those that dont enjoy this tipple there is a good selection of beers,wines and cocktails avaible also. All in we had a very pleasurable stay at the hotel and will definitely be returning in the future of that there is no doubt.

Room Tip: a room in the main hotel would maybe suit some travellers although we found the annexe rooms very ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
It is always wonderful to read feedback from our guests, many thanks for taking the time to post this review on TripAdvisor. The Glennmoriston Town House has created a luxurious environment for its guests and has become a destination for anyone looking for escapism. I urge you to dine within one if not both of our restaurants durring your next stay, we are very much a well recognised food destination in the city and have a number of accolades under our belt, so come and enjoy the fruits of our labours!.

Best wishes,

Jonathan McConnachie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We traveled by train to inverness for the hogmany celebrations. The hotel was very good breakfast excellent and the staff were very helpfull and friendly. Location right by the river and we watched the fireworks from the front door. Town was only a 5 minute walk and river walks were bracing

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear “Nigel H”, Thank you very much for your complimentary review. We hope to see you again soon.

With all good wishes,

Jonathan McConnachie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

My wife booked a surprise break at what she thought was an exceptional hotel, the evening meal, tasting plate and tasting wine was fantastic, what a huge disappointment the room was the bed was rock hard and the shower which took 10 minutes before any hot water manifested itself, looking forward to the same standard at breakfast from the previous evenings superb dinner we were soon disappointed with the full breakfast, dull and tasteless would be a compliment. I would certainly recommend the evening meal but little else.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Iain W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We were disappointment to read that you were left feeling displeased with your stay at The Glenmoriston Town House . We encourage all of guests to raise any issues with the members of staff on duty, which not only maintains our reputation for four-star luxury but also ensures that every guest has an unforgettable experience.

Best wishes,

Jonathan McConnachie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
3.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmoriston Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmoriston Town House

Property: Glenmoriston Town House
Address: 20 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Inverness
#7 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenmoriston Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenmoriston Town House Inverness is a stylish four star deluxe property on the banks of the River Ness, perfectly located within the heart of the capital of the highlands it provides an impressive contrast to the cities more traditional hotels. Experience unparalleled luxury in one of our 30 stylish bedrooms, designed with comfort in mind and boasting heavenly beds, delicious duvets, fluffy towels and luxury toiletries not to mention the impeccable service you'd expect! The hotel encompasses the finest in Scottish culture with luxury and style and provides an ideal base for those who wish to explore Scotland's abundance of unique landmarks. The Glenmoriston Town House is conveniently just twenty minutes from Inverness Airport and only ten minutes walk from the city main line station. Great food and wine are very much entwined in the Glenmoriston Town House experience and we offer an exceptional restaurant. For a memorable culinary experience, visit our chic and stylish Contrast Brasserie. In addition, the hotel's destination Piano Bar offers Scotland's finest whiskies from over 250 distilleries and our mixologists are constantly developing the most wonderful cocktails to tantalise even the most demanding taste buds. The Glenmoriston Town House will ensure a quality stay whether business or pleasure. Just over 3 hours from Edinburgh or Glasgow it is the perfect property for any number of occasions, be it family get together, sporting holiday, romantic escape, or just a break away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Glenmoriston Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmoriston Town House Hotel Inverness
Glenmoriston Town Hotel
Glenmoriston Town Inverness
Glenmoriston Town House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing