We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream spot! Wonderful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bunchrew House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I had an overnight stay here recently and was totally pleased with the hotel, the service, the amazing food and to top it all the most wonderful location!
Even though the hotel could be doing with a bit of TLC, that did not in anyway spoil my stay there, can't wait until my next visit!

Room Tip: Redcastel or Wyvis suite if you want a view of the Beauly Firth!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyLiz555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R J, General Manager at Bunchrew House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Lady Liz,

It looks like you were born to be Lady of the Manor with such a great moniker! Thanks for such a great review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us.

Kind regards,
Roddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (641)
There are newer reviews for Bunchrew House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

330 - 336 of 641 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband and I were visiting Scotland and traveled up to Inverness to see the Highlands. We stayed one night at The Bunchrew House Hotel. Upon arrival, we had a very nice gentleman show us to our room. He was very chatty and super sweet. Our room was just up the stairs overlooking the water. Yes, the rooms are old and the floors creak, but that added to the charm of this house for us. I envisioned the original owners living there and how their life was. Not much to do in the immediate area, but we just wanted to relax and so it was perfect for us. We went down to dinner and was amazed at the quality of the food! Especially the "sticky toffee pudding." I would love that recipe! The staff was very attentive and the food was great! Breakfast was also satisfying. Overall, we had a great time and would love to revisit if we ever get to Scotland from the US again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the water.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R J, Manager at Bunchrew House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Joni G,

Many thanks for reviewing us! We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and soaked up Bunchrew's unique atmosphere. Hopefully you'll remember us for your next visit too. We love making new friends here.

Kind regards,
Roddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

What a lovely hotel. Our room was wonderful overlooking the Sea, the staff was amazing and the food outstanding. Be sure and have cocktails in the library and enjoy breakfast and dinner in the dining room overlooking the sea. We stayed in some really nice hotels on our three week trip but this is a very special place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JudyBellingham_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R J, General Manager at Bunchrew House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Judy,

Wow - what can we say - praise indeed! Thanks a million for taking the time out to review us in such glowing terms. It's great when it all comes together for our guests like this.

Hopefully we'll see you back again for a return trip in the future!

Best wishes,
Roddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We probably did Bunchrew House a disservice by staying there directly after staying at Culloden House, as we were so enamoured with that hotel. That being said, we did enjoy our stay there. The cozy sitting room had a real coal burning fireplace that my husband enjoyed playing around with, the food was delicious, and the servers charming. As for the building itself, let me say that people should not stay at this type of historic property if they are looking for European sleek, or North American type amenities. These amazing old buildings are just that...old! So, the floors creek, the doors sometimes stick, and the plumbing does not look or operate as if it came from the pages of a bathroom renovation magazine! But they are enjoyable for their character, history, and cozy feeling, and pure endurance. Of our only real complaints, one probably seems petty and the other our own fault: the rooms were hot, even though it was not hot out, and the duvet was swelteringly heavy. An option of just a blanket would have been nice and, if we had stayed more than one night, we would have asked for one. The other thing was location. It was much further away from Inverness, and anything else to do, than we had anticipated. We had not rented a car because everything looked very close on a map. Possibly, if it had not been raining, we might have walked into town, but I think not. So it was taxis everywhere. We did enjoy our stay but would recommend it only if you had your own transportation and were staying more than one night.

Room Tip: You need your own transportation to enjoy a stay here. Rooms and bedding are very warm.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manorlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R J, General Manager at Bunchrew House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Manorlady,

Thank you for writing your lovely review of Bunchrew! We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us. It's a pity you hadn't mentioned to us about your bedding as it could so easily been fixed. We can swap for lighter blankets any time you like.

Our location on the edge of Inverness is great to be close to town yet miles away in our feeling of seclusion which you enjoyed so much.

I'm not sure why you felt we were further out than the other hotel you visited in Inverness? We are actually a little closer? We do feel like we are far out of town though but that can be a nice thing.

We do hope you come to see us again when there was so much you enjoyed. Thanks for reviewing and hopefully see you soon!

Best wishes,
Roddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had our wedding here in June 2013. We had an absolutely fantastic time as did our guests. We spent three nights here, and felt at home from the minute we checked in! The staff are great, food is great, everything is great really!

Lovely rooms with lovely views whether you have a sea view (Moray Firth) or garden view both are nice.

It's also in an excellent location, just 5-10mins from Inverness, but its so peaceful and has lovely secluded gardens.

Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We had the Wyvis suite, amazing sea views.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R J, General Manager at Bunchrew House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Jennifer,

Thank you so much for such a lovely review! It was a real pleasure to have you all with us and we are all delighted that your special day went well for you.

Please pop in when you are passing through Inverness next and let us know how you and John are getting on!

Best wishes,
Roddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I recently stay there, as a stop off on my way to Wick. As the hotel is very centraal to a lot of key destinations, and only 5 mins drive from Inverness. The location is simply stunning, you have the grounds of the hotel to enjoy a walk, or you can walk along the waterside, either way, you'll enjoy it.If you are a keen photographer, this is the place to stay, the photo oppertunities are endless.The hotel itself is an old castle style hotel, the decor has been well thought out, and it has a really great "rustic" feel about it. The service from ALL the staff was 1st class, especially the 2 gents that greeted me as i arrived, as I arrived quite late on they quickly got me checked in and served me a much needed drink, before i sat down to dinner. Although they did this very quickly, not at any point did i feel as if i was being rushed, they were both very friendly and took the time to chat away with me. Unlike so many other places i have stayed at, where the staff get you checked in, as quick as they can and barely give you the time of day. The dinning room has a large bay window, where you can enjoy the views overlooking the water, while enjoying your meal. And you will enjoy your meal, because the food is to die for. All credit to the chefs, as that is some of the best food i've tasted in a long while. I have never stay here before this visit, but I guarantee, the next time i'm going to be staying in this area, I'll be staying in the Bunchrew.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jh03ham18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R J, General Manager at Bunchrew House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Jh03ham18,

Thanks a million for such a great review - It really gives us a spring in our step when your stay comes together so well. Extra-large gin for you on the next visit! From memory I think by the time you arrived with us you thoroughly deserved it!

We look forward to seeing you next time you are up and thanks again for leaving such lovely feedback.

Best wishes,
Roddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My partner and I stayed here during our visit to Europe and it was definitely a highlight! The whole house is beautiful!!! We stayed in the Wyvis suite and were blown away by how beautiful it was. The bed was this huge thing that needed a step to get into it and the view out of our windows would have been much better if it wasn’t raining but impressive all the same (what’s a Scottish holiday without some rain). The food offered in the restaurant was delicious and I think I had some of the best mussels I’ve ever had here! I would defiantly recommend a stay here if you are venturing into the Scottish highlands and would return in a heartbeat if I return to Scotland!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kartia123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R J, General Manager at Bunchrew House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Kartia123,

Thank you for such a lovely review! We are so pleased we made your holiday memorable - especially when you had come such a long way.

When you make the return trip be sure to look us up - we'd love to have you back.

Best wishes,
Roddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
6.2 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 35 in Inverness
595 reviews
2.2 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
2.7 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
3.5 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 35 in Inverness
1,754 reviews
2.8 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#14 of 35 in Inverness
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunchrew House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunchrew House Hotel

Address: Bunchrew, Inverness IV3 8TA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#3 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#6 Family Hotel in Inverness
#13 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: $197 - $564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bunchrew House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 17th century Baronial mansion; lies in 20 acres of lawns and magnificent woodlands; only yards from the sea and 3 miles from Inverness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bunchrew House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunchrew Hotel Inverness
Bunchrew House Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing