We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bunchrew House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
burnham on sea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant !!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The setting was magnificent, made all the better by the fantastic weather we had whilst we were there. The staff were second to none, very professional, but also very friendly, and nothing was too much trouble. The food was absolutely brilliant, especially the desserts !! We were hoping it was going to be an old fashioned hotel, and it was just that, including creaky floorboards, and resident ghost !!

We had a lovely coal effect gas fire in our room (Wyvis), which made it very cosy. Fresh milk was in the fridge every day, and our room looked out over the water, so it was everything we wanted.

Would definately stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    154
    38
    24
    12
See reviews for
104
341
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort William, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was a weekend break just to relax and overeat - we did both. Stayed in a superior double - great views and very comfortable. Friendly and welcoming staff throughout - very efficient service in the restaurant. Food was very good, nicely portioned and presented and always served with a smile. Some very yummy desserts. Pre dinner drinks and after dinner coffee in the lounge in front of a nice log fire. We have stayed in similarly rated hotels but it was nice to see that the staff at all levels were happy to have good natter with you - in other hotels they are clearly told to only speak when spoken to but it makes for a much friendlier atmosphere when you can have a chat. Overall a quality experience and would definitely return - even if it was only for the poached eggs and smoked haddock for breakfast!!

If you are a member of Hotel management reading this my Facebook name isn't my real name!

Room Tip: The website has photos of all the rooms so easy to see what you are getting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights on business with colleagues. I couldn't have asked for any more! Stunning hotel, location, great service & the food was delicious.

I arrived around 11pm after travelling for hours & was met by the manager in the car park who carried my bags, booked me in very quickly & showed me to my room. The manager contacted my colleagues who had already arrived to let them know of my arrival & had drinks waiting for us in the beautiful lounge, even though the hotel was quiet & he was due to go home. We were offered food & everything & anything to ensure our comfort by the manager yet he wasn't 'in the way'. A lovely touch & service.

The rooms & hotel are of a traditional style & very comfortable. The hot water in the morning was a slight issue (it wasn't very warm) however, the manager explained they were experiencing difficulties with their boiler & this was already being dealt with. There was no Internet connection in the room - the only thing I would have liked that wasn't there.

Dining was a rather formal experience but pleasant all the same. Dinner was stunning & breakfast all fresh & well prepared. Nothing appeared too much trouble.

I would definitely return & recommend a stay to anyone! Not in love with the 'pink' externally however, each their own.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rennie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Hotel staff were great, especially Roddy the manager who couldn't have been more helpful. They even had a whisky nosing competition after dinner!!!! Dinner was excellent, and the chef even came out to meet the guests after dinner, which was a nice touch.

We had a standard double room which was fine, but a wee bit tired looking. The rest of the hotel inside and out looks great, and the open fires make it warm and cosy.

Apparently it is haunted by the black lady, but we never saw her! Maybe next time!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whatsthescore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitlochry
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My colleague and I were driving up to Inverness on business and fancied a quick breakfast. On leaving Inverness heading west, we noticed the signs for Bunchrew House Hotel and popped in for a bit of breakfast. On first impressions, its a fantastic building, pale pink in colour with turrets and on the shore of the loch its just wonderful! We received a warm welcome on arrival, and despite the fact we hadnt called ahead and werent residents, we were sat very quickly at a window side table. I had scrambled eggs on toast, which were amazing! Some of the best I have tasted! My colleague thorougly enjoyed her sausages bacon & toast and a nice pot of tea too! We will return - maybe for a bit longer next time!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbieandJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed here by chance. What an amazing place. The hotel looks like a castle out of a fairytale. We had driven up from Edinburgh, and it was nice to arrive somewhere where the service was exceptional, and we felt at home.
And we found out the restaurant was in the Michelin Guide as well - food was exquisite to say the least - and the restaurant catered gladly for vegetarians.
The 'living room' area (common area) was vert cosy with several fires, and a nice place to relax before and after meals.
Wifi worked better in the common areas and was limited in the bedroom (we were in The Turret).
All service was impeccable - reception staff, restaurant staff in the evening and morning - friendly, welcoming, accommodating.
Our room was up several flights of stairs. Good size room, heated well, traditionally decorated which seemed to fit perfectly the them that was in my mind of the fairytale castle;) The bed was a tad small. The bathroom was nice, excellent fluffy towels, but the shower pressure was not very strong at all, and it took a long time for the water to get hot. These were minor things in my mind, which did not detract from the overall experience.
Loved Bunchrew House Hotel and I couldn't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nades_38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife & I stayed at the Bunchrew for a 3 night New year package which was truly wonderfull,the situation of the hotel on the waters edge is fantastic,very quiet. The hotels general manager Roddy Jamison and the staff are very charming & helpfull,nothing is too much trouble. Very comfortable rooms and stylish Lounges & restuarant with great food complete the picture.We will be back!

Room Tip: They all looked great to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverspeedmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
6.2 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
2.2 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
2.7 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
2.8 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunchrew House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunchrew House Hotel

Property: Bunchrew House Hotel
Address: Bunchrew, Inverness IV3 8TA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#3 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#6 Family Hotel in Inverness
#13 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bunchrew House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 17th century Baronial mansion; lies in 20 acres of lawns and magnificent woodlands; only yards from the sea and 3 miles from Inverness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bunchrew House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunchrew Hotel Inverness
Bunchrew House Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing