We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bunchrew House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The hotel's setting on the banks of the Moray Firth is truly spectacular. Its location feels truly isolated and yet Inverness is just a short drive away. The staff were very friendly. Our room was large, well appointed and full of character. The breakfast and evening meal were to a high standard and the restaurant was a fantastic room in which to enjoy a meal. I would recommend the hotel to anyone looking to enjoy a romantic place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fiona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

419 - 425 of 659 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. Staff was very attentive. Great setting on the Firth. Restaurant was excellent with the food and service. Room was large and comfortable. Ideal location for a quiet get away. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwillen100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

A good hotel but isn't really value for money. The house is in a pretty location on the Moray Firth and has a lot of character, but I think relies too much on these to justify the price. The staff were friendly and helpful, however we were disappointed in the room we stayed in. It was a good size with a large bed and views of the Firth, but was situated directly above the kitchens. This wasn't an issue until the restaurant opened for evening service when the extractor fan came on - it was very noisy and destroyed the ambience of the evening! It did go off at 10.30pm, so didn't affect our night's sleep, but for the price we paid for the room, we kind of expected slightly better!

The breakfast was adequate, if not a little disappointing, which surprised us given that the hotel is apparently renowned for its food.

I don't think we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Bunchrew House and the staff there are exceptional. We had our wedding here at the beginning of August and couldn't praise this venue high enough. A fantastic setting, beautiful house, staff who went above and beyond the call of duty and incredible food. Can not wait to return for our anniversary. Don't hesitate to book a stay at Bunchrew.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlevic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is definitely a place not to miss as it sits on the shores of the Moray Firth between Inverness & Beauly. You are surrounded by peace & quiet and all the public rooms are tastefully decorated as are all the individually named bedrooms. A splendid old family house that has been renovated to a very high standard. The dining room has stunning views from every table & the food was absolutely fantastic. They had just changed their chef and he has certainly done them proud. The house is full of fresh flowers and the staff cannot do enough to please you. We will certainly be returning to Bunchrew on our next trip to Scotland & have already told all my Scottish friends and family not to miss going there for a wee break!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor as ours was a little bit of a climb but still worth. Our room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CruisingCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

A very perfect location for stay near Inverness in an isolated area just in front of the firth :
- room with view on firth
- Charmful place and very quiet
- Very good restaurant and breakfast (full scottish of course !), very good wines list
Juste a slight drawback : a bit cold welcome and service (too much "professional" ?), but compensated by all other things
Of course to be recommended ! Of course expensive but in line with expectations !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wimcld2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Very friendly and accomodating staff. Somewhat stodgy, shabby.Large room,small bath. No lighting in which to read by, extremely dim lighting in room. Had tea, just so so quality. Had the pre fixe dinner. Very nice, main course was excellent. Dessert and cheese course worth the calories. It was quiet. The 'view' would suit a prison though. As the tide went out hundred's of feet of mucky swampy firth became the scene! And it was there all evening and still there in the morning! What a sight to wake up to! Can't imagine why anyone would build here, five hundred years ago or now? Grounds are dull, no flowers, big trees though, a big cedar of Lebanon that was 500 years old. Now for the bed! Six inch lumpy mattress on a very high bed. When people who are traveling come to stay why wouldn't there be a nice bed? A memory foam topper would fix that efficiently. Sadly we didn't think it was good value as we have stayed in superior places during our Scottish tour for much less. Nice places in Inverness, along the river would have been better.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank JazCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
6.2 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
607 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#7 of 36 in Inverness
1,783 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#16 of 36 in Inverness
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunchrew House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunchrew House Hotel

Address: Bunchrew, Inverness IV3 8TA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#3 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#6 Family Hotel in Inverness
#13 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: $128 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bunchrew House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 17th century Baronial mansion; lies in 20 acres of lawns and magnificent woodlands; only yards from the sea and 3 miles from Inverness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bunchrew House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunchrew Hotel Inverness
Bunchrew House Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing