We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel, Good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of night it's a short drive between Inverness and Loch Ness. It's an ideal location for exploring. The staff were very friendly and the food was good. The room we had was spacious and clean although a little tired. We would return back as we were not disappointed in any way

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russell n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    110
    34
    11
    13
See reviews for
122
269
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
552 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had to book the hotel last minute and the only room available was a fairly pricey junior suite, which we probably would not have chosen if we had had the luxury of choice. The room was very large and comfortable, furniture a little dated but bed was nice. The bathroom would need an update, as it shows sign of age, and also that uncomfortable combined bath/ shower. What really made the stay a great short stay was the friendliness of the staff - starting from phone contact to reception - and the dinner. The menu was very good, and perfectly executed; there were only four tables for dinner and we were all served by John - one of the best waiters I have ever come across: John was friendly, helpful and efficient, and had a great way to interact with all guests, from the children at one of the tales, to the couple that was celebrating their first year anniversary, to us...

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank whiterabbitjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This small hotel is just south Inverness on the main road from Inverness to Loch Ness. It is in a quiet country setting with a nice back garden. The rooms are quite large and comfortably furnished but not too fancy. The bathroom fixtures are a little dated. One of the rooms in our group was experiencing a loud water hammer noise that management did sort out but only by shutting off the water during sleeping hours. Next morning we were allowed to change rooms to avoid the noise. Breakfast was typical full Scottish.

Room Tip: May wish to make sure you discuss with management to see if water hammer problems have been resolved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSPDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed here July 2013 whilst attending a family wedding being held at the hotel. Lovely grounds and setting. Room was large, clean and fresh. Food during the wedding was fantastic, as was the breakfast the following morning. Felf the hotel itself was quite expensive, even with a 'discount' for being a member of the wedding party. Would definitely stay there again though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed overnight as we were attending a wedding hosted by the hotel. Excellent service throughout - polite and capable staff.

Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was very good and the waitress was attentive.

The hotel is set in attractive gardens, which our room overlooked. All in all, thoroughly recommended.

And if you are planning a wedding - they do a good job!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawton, OK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

If I had not emailed to confirm our reservation, we would have arrived and found we had no place to stay. If you make a reservation, I would advise you to confirm it several times. Absolutely no effort was made to honor our confirmed reservation for June 8 & 9.
On August 5, 2012 I received the confirmation “I have booked you into one of our King Rooms for 2 nights. Your reservation number is #17381.” When I emailed to confirm the reservation in Jan 2013, I received a call telling me that they did not have a record of our reservation and they were moving us to another equally lovely hotel. I was told all I had to do was call with my info. When I contacted the replacement they said they were fully booked and did not know what we were talking about.
Fairly upset by this point I recontacted the General Manager of Country House Hotel. On Feb 4th I received this response from the General Manager: “Many hotels in the area are fully booked for this dates – especially the better ones so I have another proposal for you.” That proposal involved two different hotels for the two nights. He also asked me to take down the review I had on TripAdvisor. We made other arrangements.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
13 Thank OKLAEdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drumnadrochit, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Dinner here is extremely good value for money. The dining room is comfortable with crisp white tablecloths and top class cutlery giving a superb ambiance.The food is of the highest quality and very well presented.

At the start of the meal we were given a delightful amuse-bouche. Then as each course was presented we were given a detailed description of exactly what was being served, ad from where the food was sourced. The petits fours to round off the meal were first class.

The only down side was that when we arrived a rather large party was checking in, which seemed to absorb the efforts of both front of house staff members. this meant we were kept waiting for quite a while. An extra member of staff could be required at peak times.

However, overall it was a first class experience and if you're looking for an exceptionally good meal, using locally sourced food, then I would certainly recommend this hotel. We will definitely be going there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeithfromDrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
5.8 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#6 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
2.3 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park

Property: Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Address: Loch Ness Road | Dunain Park, Inverness IV3 8JN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Inverness
#4 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#4 Family Hotel in Inverness
#6 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loch Ness Country House Hotel is set in 6 acres of mature gardens, the perfect destination for a peaceful and relaxing break. Just 2 miles from Inverness city centre and 6 miles from Loch Ness itself, we are the perfect base for exploring the Highlands of Scotland.Dine in style at our AA Rosette awarded restaurant serving Scottish cuisine prepared using the freshest local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunain Park Inverness
Hotel Dunain Park
Loch Ness Country House Hotel At Dunain Park Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing