We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The legend lives on”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The legend lives on”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic place keeping the legend of gentle Nessie alive.
Great food, comfortable rooms and lots of very very tall tales. Stout boots and Argyle woolly recommended. Lovely friendly Scots welcome everywhere we visited. One of my favourite parts of the world.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevieValentino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    110
    34
    11
    13
See reviews for
122
269
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel was such a great departure from a traditional hotel. You feel as if you are a guest in a home. The staff is so attentive but not at all intrusive. The rooms are large and well appointed. You can take a stroll around the grounds which are so lovely, I can imagine they do a lot of weddings there as the scenery is so beautiful.

We ate at the hotel for dinner both nights we were there because we enjoyed it so much the first night. They take your order in the drawing room where you can enjoy a pre dinner drink and then bring you into the dining room as they get ready to serve the food. The dining room only holds 10 or so people so the experience is intimate and the food was amazing. They had about four starter and meal choices and we were not disappointed by one of them. I can see why the restaurant is big with locals...what a way to dine!

The location is along the main road to get to Loch Ness and Inverness so because we were traveling through, the location was perfect. You do have to drive everywhere from here however so if you are looking for a more accessible location, I would not recommend this place. However if you have a car, I say yes, yes, yes!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WootTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Arrived late one weekday evening. The chap on reception gave us a warm welcome and couldn't be more helpful.

The food was excellent (as were the wines) and the room was huge (Lawer) with its own (albeit a little chilly) living room.

On the whole was a lovely stay and shame was only for one night. The staff were excellent and would highly recommend this as a place to stay.

Book direct with the hotel for good rates

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was a special surprise for my partners birthday and what a treat it turned out to be.Firstly when you drive down the drive and arrive at the hotel you just know that it is a classy place,lovely gardens and a beautiful building.The check in was a pleasure both polite and professional.We were given a magnificent room with a stunning view out over the gardens and over to the other side of Inverness.The room was massive more like a suite.,It had a canopy over the very large comfy bed,and the bed had top class bedding.The room had all you could want,tea, coffee etc oh and delicious shortbread,nice tv complete with dvd player.The bathroom again was beautiful large bath with large rain type shower head above.The room was spotless warm and very comfortable.A great nights sleep was had by us both.
We enjoyed a glass of crisp chilled vino in one of the lounges in front of an open fire.We could have sat there all night as it was so relaxing,,just sitting there ,little bit of music in the background the fire crackling away and enjoying the wine brilliant.Pity we had booked to eat you will see what I mean if you go?While we were enjoying all this ambience a very nice man called Martin left us with the menus and then returned to take our order,then left us to finish of our drink before showing us to our table.
There are three small dining areas with no more than five tables per room.All the tables are laid out perfectly and also there is plenty room between each table so you are no sitting right next to the table beside you.Our wine was brought to the table in an ice bucket before even the mention of food which we like....nothing worse than getting your food and having to wait for your drink.Now the food,well what can we say?beautiful,gorgeous,brilliant these are just some of the words we used to describe it.The quality and presentation was just perfect,that along with first class polite,friendly service made the night so special for myself and my partner.The food was,well omg all the plates left the table clean so I think that tell a story.We were given a couple of extra little courses as well as the main meal,very nice touch.Martin invited us to sit back in the lounge at the fire side which we did and he followed through just after us with what was left of our wine.Sat and finished this of while watching the fire die down to embers,this was a perfect end to a most perfect night.One more nice little touch that was in the room, was a small fridge perfect for you wine,beer or the fresh milk that you can have for your tea or coffee.
The breakfast was as perfectly presented and served as the meal the previous night.The selection was great just about anything you could ask for and all top quality,not a drop of fat,oil or grease on our plates.Again nice relaxed service not rushed I reckon we could have sat there all day and not a problem.
All in all this was a special night for a special person and I could not have chosen a better place.This hotel has to be our top visit recently anywhere with the best food and service.The place has a nice chilled relaxed atmosphere i's,not stuffy at all.We can't wait to return for another great night soon.We would both like to say "a very big thank you" to all concerned. cheers Robert and Anne

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

From the moment I arrived the staff were so welcoming. The hotel is a total gem and lounge with the roaring fire was fabulous. The bedrooms are huge and I would say the entire hotel had been refurbished. The food was out of this world, the venison in particular was outstanding. The whole experience was fantastic and I would not consider staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: I booked this hotel through laterooms and got a great deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnefraser01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We got married here on 26th October and were absolutely delighted with everything from start to finish. A special thanks to kirsteen and all the staff for their friendly, relaxed and efficient approach both in the lead up to the wedding and on the day itself. Having visited a number of venues in the area, we felt that LNCHH was well ahead of the rest and there was no doubt that it was the venue for us as soon as we had our first visit. We were especially impressed with the flexibility we had with menu choices and special requests and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel has a very homely, grand but relaxed atmosphere - exactly what we were looking for and the quality of the food was fantastic. Thanks again for an amazing day! Nicola and Steve.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolacampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

having just attended a family wedding the hotel is Vintage and classy, the rooms are spacious and extremely comfortable. The staff are welcoming and friendly and at £110 for a sizeable family room very good value for money. However I was disapointed with food, beef was one of the options on the menu and no one was asked how they liked it cooked. Mine was so rare I'm sure I heard it moo, some love it this way but not me. Breakfast after the wedding was 9am - 10am and when I arrived without a hangover it did not look very appetizing so I stuck to the cereal. Rubber eggs don't do it for me.
Also, lovely coffee in the rooms but you have ring reception for fresh milk which during the day is fine but I often like a late night coffee and did not like bothering reception at some ungodly hour though in fairness to the staff they would probably not have minded.
The bathroom was opulent and when I put the non slip mat in the shower, it slipped as i got in banging my other knee and bruising it quite badly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
5.8 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#5 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,634 reviews
2.3 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park

Property: Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Address: Loch Ness Road | Dunain Park, Inverness IV3 8JN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Inverness
#4 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#4 Family Hotel in Inverness
#6 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loch Ness Country House Hotel is set in 6 acres of mature gardens, the perfect destination for a peaceful and relaxing break. Just 2 miles from Inverness city centre and 6 miles from Loch Ness itself, we are the perfect base for exploring the Highlands of Scotland.Dine in style at our AA Rosette awarded restaurant serving Scottish cuisine prepared using the freshest local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunain Park Inverness
Hotel Dunain Park
Loch Ness Country House Hotel At Dunain Park Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing