We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2012

On arriving we were slightly dissapointed to find we were in the Garden Cottage 2, however we found the cottage well equipped with 2 lovely rooms and a small sitting room with TV, shower room and tiled entrance which was excellent for keeping our small dogs bit'n'bobs. The beds were very comfortable and the small touches such as fresh coffee and Penhaligon toiletries went part of the way to increasing our enjoyment.
Initially we booked one night, however due to the excellent food and attentive staff we decided to book another evening. Our 13 year old son thought the food was the best he had ever tasted. The chef is obviously passionate about his job and from the home made bread to the best oysters I have tasted, nothing could be faulted.The head waiter was excellent at explaining the menu and did a wonderful job at whettting our appetite before the arrival of the food.
The hotel staff went out of their way to help us with our onward journey North and were very knowledgeable about the area, giving us little tips for the future. One down side was the lighting in the lounge area. It was very bright in areas and too dim in other parts. Perhaps the owner could invest in some strategically placed lamps. During our stay I overheard 2 other residents remark about the lighting so although this may seem trivial I do think it is worth considering. This certainly would not deter us from returning and we look forward to doing this sooner than later.

Room Tip: As we had a dog we were in the Garden cottage 2, but despite being at the bottom of the garden it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olitaric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 595 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

A fairly negative review when we were guests of others in the restaurant posted by me brought the response from the manager that this was not typical and he "hoped we would give them a second chance " As we were impressed with the building / setting we decided to do just that and put them on our short list as a possible wedding venue
My concerns started when I made the appointment when we were asked to "phone in advance to confirm it was still convenient" ... I suggested that if there was a problem THEY should contact the customer !!
On arrival at the agreed time we were asked in response to our introduction " did we have an appointment !!!!. We were asked to sit down in the lounge ...and left . No explanation No offer of a coffee whilst we waited ...nothing
It became clear to us that the wedding planner was conducting a meeting with other potential ; customers . My partner and I had a brief discussion and we felt if they could not organise an appointment then organising a wedding would be a bit beyond them . so we left .
We were called shortly afterwards and the young man told us he was printing off some info for us at the time . I made the point that no one communicated this(or any other) fact to us (and in any case if one made an appointment should this have been ready for us ..we could have had something to read whilst drinking the non offered coffee ) We would have been happy to wait if someone had .spoken to us and explained what was going on !!!
I was then told that the Wedding Advisor had told me when i made the appointment that she had not got time to show me around the hotel .. Now when they start lying thats when i start getting angry ... why would i make an appointment to arrange a wedding if i was told there was no time to conduct a proper meting
The absence of a coffee and some welcoming words has cost this hotel an opportunity to earn a considerable amount of money . The lie has ensured that there will be no third chance

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Bowserd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LNCHH, General Manager at Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Bowserd,

I would normally thank all reviewers that leave feedback on tripadvisor. However on this occasion I feel you have over exaggerated what actually happened. Our wedding co-ordinator was in on her day off to see existing, not potential clients. It is not always the co ordinator that deals with initial show rounds so you were not lied to.

It is a shame you felt you had to leave so soon as we conduct a large number of very successful weddings every year. I'm sure you could tell it was busy when the lounges were full of guests. As I said on the phone when it was brought to my attention the following day, I sincerely hope you find the wedding venue that meets your requirements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed here with nine other fellows on a golfing trip (we played Castle Stuart and Nairn). The hotel was fine, though nothing really special. It was quaint in an old-fashioned way that would have been great if I were with my wife on a shopping and hiking trip. It was a little out of the way for the Inverness-area golf courses and you must drive around Inverness city to get to the courses.
However, the staff was wonderfully attentive and helpful. In addition, the food was fantastic. The chef had just turned 27, but he produced dishes that were very creative and delicious. He clearly enjoys using local produce and flavors. The wine list was also first rate. I would highly recommend the hotel for the food alone.
Our group was tempted to stay in hotels closer to Nairn, but they were ridiculously expensive and unwilling to give us any break.

Room Tip: The rooms facing east are far preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rugbyroadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LNCHH, General Manager at Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to read you enjoyed your stay and the restaurant. The chef does take pride in using local produce and we are happy that it shows on the plate.

We are willing to do deals for golfing groups etc such as yours, maybe the next time we see you your wife would like to come?!

Kind Regards
Arran McMaster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Attended for a wedding, and didn't stay in a room. The service was great, all staff were friendly and helpful. The beef main was under done for my liking, but the soup starter and the dessert was lovely. The whole wedding was done very professionally. Its a few minutes from the town centre by car. The building is lovely with a nice garden to sit in.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank WJeremiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LNCHH, General Manager at Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear W Jeremiah

Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted to read you enjoyed the wedding - with cooking for lots of people we do have to find a happy 'medium' for the beef, although a request for well done would be no problem.

Again, thank you for your review. Kind regards

Arran McMaster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had a very pleasant 2 course lunch and at £15.95 per person given the quality of the ingredients was excellent value.
Some of the ingredient flavour combinations did not work but the chef has real talent and the attention to detail in every dish was apparent.
The dining room was comfortable and the staff friendly although they did seem to disappear for long periods of time.
The cuisine here will not suit everyone as it is a little overfussy but if the chef can be persuaded to simplify some of the dishes it has the makings of a really good place to eat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank corsa57_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LNCHH, General Manager at Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of our restaurant. It's great to read you enjoyed your lunch. We do also have a bar style menu available all day for anyone that prefers not to have a full lunch - soups, sandwiches etc. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Arran McMaster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We booked in for one evening to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Having booked on line and having two small dogs we were surprised to find that they were only allowed in the separate cottages and not in the main hotel. Disaster was averted though when the hotel agreed to waive the restriction, however, one of the garden cottages became available due to a cancellation so we were able to stay there.

Now to the hotel! We dined in the restaurant and all was exceptional. It can't be long before the Michelin man comes calling... Nudge, nudge. The food and service were excellent as was the staff attention.

Breakfast in the morning was exceptional! What more to say?

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank spycatcher007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LNCHH, General Manager at Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear spycatcher007

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your experience at the hotel and hope to welcome you back soon. (Contact us direct for the best rates!)

Kind Regards

Arran McMaster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Beautiful setting, beautiful hotel, fantastic room, fantastic food all locally sourced and cooked to perfection. Every member of staff we met and chatted with were welcoming, warm, attentive and were always happy to stay and have a chat even though they were busy with many other things.
A very enjoyable visit.
We would have no hesitation at all to visit again - next time for longer.

Room Tip: Book well in advance, and try and go during the week rather than at weekends - the beautiful setting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afforsyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LNCHH, General Manager at Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear afforsyth

Thank you for a lovely review. This is exactly the experience we want all of our guests to have. We do pride ourselves on our friendly staff. Hope to welcome you back again before too long.

Kind Regards

Arran McMaster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
5.8 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
620 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#2 of 36 in Inverness
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#5 of 36 in Inverness
1,872 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#13 of 36 in Inverness
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park

Address: Loch Ness Road | Dunain Park, Inverness IV3 8JN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Inverness
#4 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#6 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: $94 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loch Ness Country House Hotel is set in 6 acres of mature gardens, the perfect destination for a peaceful and relaxing break. Just 2 miles from Inverness city centre and 6 miles from Loch Ness itself, we are the perfect base for exploring the Highlands of Scotland.Dine in style at our AA Rosette awarded restaurant serving Scottish cuisine prepared using the freshest local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunain Park Inverness
Hotel Dunain Park
Loch Ness Country House Hotel At Dunain Park Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing