We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Style Charm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Old Style Charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed in the old part of the hotel and our room was large with an updated bathroom. Really no view but we were only in the room at night and the grounds around the hotel were beautiful. The hotel exudes an air of country manor, aged comfort. A bit shabby chic! The staff were friendly, helpful and unobtrusive. Very good food! Lovely place to stay away from the tourist areas.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mickiehaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    108
    34
    11
    13
See reviews for
117
267
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

As we pulled into the drive of the Loch Ness Country House Hotel I had high expectations. A beautiful and grand building with lovely gardens and views. The receptionist was very helpful and we found all the staff to be extremely friendly throughout our 2 day stay. The rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable.

A few niggles need ironing out though. Our room had a previous guests beard bristles in the bathroom which when mentioned, were still there the following day. The food was pleasant but portions a little small and London prices. The wine list was being replaced and the wine we ordered was nasty - but was replaced without any awkwardness. Whilst in the comfortable lounge we asked a question to what we took to be a member of staff - however she quickly told us she was the 'assessor for the hotel candidates' which left us wondering what was going on - surely she could have been given an office, or perhaps just said she didn't work there.

Overall a nice enough stay, staff couldn't be faulted (and I don't think this is as a result of the above assessor), lovely location and rooms, but a few things do need to be sorted out.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VictoriaSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LNCHH, General Manager at Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We feel the food we serve in our restaurant in good value for money especially considering the freshness and quality of ingredients. If you were to go to London for the same food, I think you would pay considerably more...

I would like to make clear the person in lounge you spoke to was not a hotel assessor but an assessor of one of the staff doing an external qualification. Of course they have to view the staff member at work but they should have been more conspicuous. Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Arran McMaster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

The nicest place I've stayed, by far. My son and I were here for three nights. We had one of the cottages, which were far larger than I ever dreamed of. The food here is the best I have had at a hotel, and some of the best meals I have had, period. Friendly, wonderful, helpful staff. Impeccable grounds. A perfect place. Five-stars!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klubkleb1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LNCHH, General Manager at Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your very kind review. Very nice to read that the hotel surpassed your expectations as we always aim to. I hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Arran McMaster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed here overnight for a family wedding and were not disappointed. The cottage we had was very comfortable (beds were SO comfy!) and had enough room for three of us easily. The only minor issues were the shower which was a bit temperamental, and having to ask for milk for morning coffee to be brought down from the main house - definitely not a drama though! The wedding was brilliant, food was amazing and the staff very attentive and friendly. Breakfast the next morning was delicious, everything you could possibly want. All in all, a perfect albeit short stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillippa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Just back from a one night stay for a family wedding. We stayed in one of the garden cottages & only disappointment was that we were only there for one night. Cottage very spacious with double room downstairs & twin room upstairs. Twin room was smaller than double but the view of the gardens made up for that. Very nicely decorated & kitchen looked well equipped (did not use it during our space though). Shower was ok, would have preferred more powerful one but that's a personal thing. Cannot comment on Internet connection as did not need to use it during our stay.

Not too far from Inverness so would be a good base for exploring. Lots to do nearby.

Did not eat in restaurant as attending a wedding but if the food at the wedding is anything to go by it shoud be very good. Very, very nice trio of desserts & as someone who has a "few" dietary requirements the staff were great in this area.

Will try & go back in the future & stay for at least a weekend.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TAF_Aberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights with our 2 kids on our way from Fort William. We arrived late and decided to have dinner there since it was too late to head to town.

Wow, the chef pampered the adults and the kids with an excellent cooked to order menu. dessert selection was yum. Our waiter was very friendly and knowledgeable and explained some of the local attractions and walkways painstakingly.

Kids loved walking around the expansive garden - a beautifully maintained English garden. You should spend some time there.

Wifi connections were spotty - but we will stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mil412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

I switched our reservation to the Country House when it was identified among the "1000 Places to See Before You Die". Frankly, though the building and grounds were beautiful, we were disappointed. Part was that it was just more formal than we were comfortable with on this trip. Also, we were "upgraded" to a cottage--a huge two bedroom apartment separate from the hotel, which was way larger than we needed. It also had no wifi available, so we had to trudge up to the main building to sit in the lounge to use wifi, which was a big inconvenience. We also had a very hard time finding the hotel since it is not listed by its new name on the GPS.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blue74Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
5.8 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#6 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
2.3 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park

Property: Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Address: Loch Ness Road | Dunain Park, Inverness IV3 8JN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Inverness
#4 Family Hotel in Inverness
#4 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#6 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loch Ness Country House Hotel is set in 6 acres of mature gardens, the perfect destination for a peaceful and relaxing break. Just 2 miles from Inverness city centre and 6 miles from Loch Ness itself, we are the perfect base for exploring the Highlands of Scotland.Dine in style at our AA Rosette awarded restaurant serving Scottish cuisine prepared using the freshest local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, SpeedyBooker.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunain Park Inverness
Hotel Dunain Park
Loch Ness Country House Hotel At Dunain Park Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing