We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practically Perfect...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Practically Perfect...”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We arrived for a romantic weekend away and were not disappointed.

We were greeted by a friendly gent on reception who carried our lugagge to our room. Our room was tastefully decorated and very warm. There was an adjoining lounge to our room and the view over the garden was lovely (if not a tad rainy!) There are an ample number of TV channels in the room, and DVDs to borrow from reception. There is a little fridge to keep any items cool, lots of tea & coffee and robes to wear during your stay. The toiletries provided are from The White Company, a lovely treat!

We ate in the hotel on our first night. The menu in the restaurant was divine, the amuse bouche that we recevied was outstanding and a delightful surprise! The menu is varied and delicious, served with some sorbet in between courses. It really does branch in to the 'fine dining' category.
Drinks before and after dinner were enjoyed by the log fire in the lounge which was a welcome sight given the drizzly weather and the service whether in the lounge or the restaurant was fantastic.
The room service menu was also very good, and a lot of choices are available 24/7.
On our last morning at breakfast (which was also fantastic!), the waitress had not turned up for her shift and so the night porter was our waiter. He was extremely cheery and it was a pleasure to be served by him. Equally both waiters for the evening service were professional, friendly and very attentive.
It's located a 5 minute drive from Inverness city centre so as long as you have a car you are free to explore the city, and it's only a 7 mile drive from the Loch, and a little further to Glen Urquhart Castle.

I cannot sing the praises of this hotel highly enough!! The staff are friendly, the service was outstanding and the accommodation superb (with the exception of the damp/mould patch above the shower - however this is on the 'to do' list)

Pets are allowed in the garden cottages! A nice touch for animal lovers!

Would definitely recommend anyone considering this for a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GastroGirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LNCHH, General Manager at Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Wow, thank you for a lovely review! The way you have described your experience is exactly what we aim to give every guest through the door. We hope to see you back again - maybe when the weather is a bit better so you enjoy the gardens and outdoor terrace as well. The damp patch in your room is, as you say - on the list along with other tweaks to continue improving our product.

Kind Regards
Arran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    119
    35
    11
    13
See reviews for
131
280
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

The choice was either the here or a Premier Inn, in town. The Loch Ness Country House Hotel was cheaper and actually was outstanding value. I was given a large comfortable room with a separate sitting room. The room I stayed in was very well furnished and clean. I dined on the £29.95 3-course menu and have never had better food at that price. It was quite simply a superb meal. The waiter was a professional and knew the menu well, and his wines and cheeses. Clearly a man who took a pride in his job and it showed. The hotel also has two very comfortable lounges for pre/post dinner drinks. Excellent, attentive and helpful staff. It's a few miles out of town but for me a no-brainer. I'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJD37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LNCHH, General Manager at Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Thank you taking the time to complete a review. I am delighted you enjoyed your experience with us and felt it was good value. This time of year is of course generally quieter so there are great deals to be had! We look forward to welcoming back before too long.

Kind Regards
Arran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Two day stay between Christmas and New Year in a junior suite - very comfortable bed in a large bedroom with adjoining lounge with its own flat screen television. Midwinter meant the opportunity to enjoy the view was limited but with rather rainy weather that was not going to feature large in any event. We chose to dine in on the second night because we found the dining was excellent on our first night and the dining room is beautifully appointed and breakfast could not be faulted - a wide range of options We recognise that all hotels can develop faults - such as lights not working - and the staff in this hotel responded immediately to fix the faults we reported. The staff were all professional, competent, but also informal and friendly in all our dealings - since they all seemed to be Highland Scottish they gave an overall excellent impression.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LNCHH, General Manager at Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. I am very glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I remember checking you in and it being a pleasure to look after you both.

We hope to welcome you back to LNCHH in the not too distant future - remember you can use your ROSL membership for 25% discount!

Kind Regards
Arran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I stayed on a business trip - good value late booking - and it was a wonderful place to stay, but its probably ideal for a romantic weekend away. Absolutely fantastic food and service (not surprised they have just won a national dining out award), and a luxurious room for less than I'd recently paid for a standard chain hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_from_Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LNCHH, General Manager at Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience. We are particularly proud of our restaurant and your right - we recently won the Best Highland Eating Out Experience in the Highlands of Scotland.

We hope to see you back at LNCHH in the not too distant future. Contact us direct for great off season rates and deals.

Kind Regards
Arran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Winter holiday perfect! this cosy country house 20 minutes from Inverness made us all (husband and my parents) happy! Lovely service, lovely lounge with roaring fire and warming selection of single malts, nice breakfast with local cheeses, absolutely gorgeous dinners with imaginative young scottish chef and lovely cosy rooms. Some are renovated with new bathrooms, some are not but all have their charm, ours had a nice window seat with a view on the park. The park and outdoor terrace must be gorgeous in summer. We had a wonderful time and would come back any time ! Excellent value for money as well. The best stay we had in Scotland!

Room Tip: they are all nice and different but a view on the park is definitely a plus, we had room 2 which had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauradezil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LNCHH, General Manager at Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. Your family were pleasure to have for the 2 nights, we hope to welcome you all back in the future.

Kind Regards
Arran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2011

My Husband and i have recently returned from a two night break at the Loch Ness Country House Hotel. We were originally supposed to stay at the Clansman, but due to a power failure caused by the recent bad weather, they had kindly booked us into their sister hotel. Upon arrival we were seated in the lovely lounge with a roaring open fire, just what we needed after an 8hr journey in the snow. We were shown to our room which was on the second floor and was a junior suite, it had beautiful décor, and was lovely and warm. The room was well stocked with tea and coffee, the only problem was no milk, after dialling 0 to get some they kindly brought some to the room. We only ate breakfast there as there was a party night on the Saturday, so we felt we would have been intruding on peoples Christmas parties. We ate locally in Inverness which a easy drive from the hotel even in the awful weather we experienced. Have to say it was one of the nicest hotels i have ever stayed in the staff were very helpful when they could be found, we did stand around alot waiting for someone when we returned after a night out. The area surrounding the hotel and nearby is absolutely stunning, the people we met were extremely friendly one even giving us alternative route home due to the A82 being closed. We have returned home really relaxed, thanks to the peace and quiet of this hotel. Would definitely return but unsure if I would take my children.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandielfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LNCHH, General Manager at Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay. Please do feel free to bring the children next time - they are well catered for with regard to food etc. We also have 2 garden cottages in the grounds which are perfect for families.

We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Arran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calasparra, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2011

My hubby and I have just returned from a four night stay at the Loch Ness Country House Hotel and It was pure bliss.

I unexpectedly found myself in a wheelchair for my stay and the staff were amazingly helpful and accomodating in finding me a ground floor room for my stay and what a room.

We stayed in Room 8 which was a junior suite. It was filled with a huge sumptuous bed and very tasteful pieces of antique furniture. It consisted of a very well proportioned bedroom, a small sunny sitting room and a marble bathroom with bath, shower, loo and bidet. There was always lashings of hot water and the bath was an incredibly fast fill.

Nothing was too much for the staff. I requested some honey for my tea and it was brought to be in a jiffy with a smile.

We had a wonderful lunch in the lounge when we first arrived which was a fabulous Steak Sandwich which just melted in the mouth and a cheese board filled with local cheeses and chutney and a small pot of honey.

The breakfasts were served with a smile and were a wonderful start to the day. There was so much to choose from with cereals, porridge, haggis, eggs, bacon and kippers and just so much more. Fantastic coffee and a pot of tea if you wanted it too.

We dined at the hotel for two nights of our stay and the chef very kindly made some soup which was not on the menu for me as I was unable to eat much more. It was delicious and went incredibly well with his home made walnut bread and honey butter. My hubby found the food a little "pretentious" and would have preferred to have had real brussels sprouts in place of the brussel sprout puree which was served with the meal on our last evening in December.

Overall, a truly magical experience that I would recommend to anyone who likes comfort and homeliness.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shortcakes039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LNCHH, General Manager at Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Thank you for taking to time to review the hotel. I am delighted to read your kind comments - we try to give all our guests a great experience in a friendly manner. It was very nice to meet you both, we hope you will be back at some point in the future.

Kind Regards
Arran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
2.2 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#7 of 34 in Inverness
618 reviews
5.8 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
554 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,703 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park

Property: Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Address: Loch Ness Road | Dunain Park, Inverness IV3 8JN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Inverness
#3 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#4 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#4 Family Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loch Ness Country House Hotel is set in 6 acres of mature gardens, the perfect destination for a peaceful and relaxing break. Just 2 miles from Inverness city centre and 6 miles from Loch Ness itself, we are the perfect base for exploring the Highlands of Scotland.Dine in style at our AA Rosette awarded restaurant serving Scottish cuisine prepared using the freshest local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunain Park Inverness
Hotel Dunain Park
Loch Ness Country House Hotel At Dunain Park Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing