We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location for a Highland base.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Larkhall
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Nice location for a Highland base.”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Not in the centre of town but a good location for visiting the surrounding area. Typical of the chain, clean rooms, helpful and friendly staff.

They don't do food but the Snow Goose which shares the car park is well worth a visit.

The breakfast is basic Continental with Scrambled eggs and Sausages. An alternative to the English sausage with herbs would be nice now and again(whatever happened to good Scottish Beef Links or a slice of bacon or cold ham).

The rooms are clean, and the beds are comfortable, I never fail to get a good nights sleep here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIB-53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your review and your comments and we are delighted that you enjoy staying at our hotel. As I am sure you realise being a brand we need to maintain our standards and one of these are our express breakfast. Although maybe not what everyone would like it is a standard that we adhere to and try to ensure that we deliver our product and service to the highest level.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again
Kind regards
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    391
    149
    35
    8
See reviews for
208
319
35
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a hotel that requires you to have a car as it is a mile or so east of the centre of Inverness on the A96. Notwithstanding this, it was a comfortable, modern hotel with friendly staff.

The hotel has a bar but no restaurant, although breakfast comes as part of the package. Despite being on a main road, my room was quiet.

There is a large shopping centre, including a few places to eat and a huge supermarket, close by.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wakeupjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope that you will visit us again soon
Regards
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed for 5 days on business, usual Holiday Inn Express quality, not much atmosphere in the public areas, the hotel is halfway between Inverness and the airport so you really need a car and the Snow Goose is the only restaurant in the area and it was shut for refurbishment, so I had to drive into Inverness for food or have takaways in the hotel.
Be warned if you are not used to HI Expresses the free breakfast is basic, toast sausage and scrambled egg are the only hot items, the Snow Goose opposite does full brakfast but it was shut.
Inverness is not a parking friendly location but there are plenty of taxis however the hotel is ideally located if you are exploring by car and Avis & Europcar are available at the airport

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trunkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your recent visit to our hotel, We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will visit us again soon
Regards
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed one night in April without pre-booking. We were given a nice room which was quiet and comfortable and of the standard typical of this chain. No real facilities for dining but there is a Harvester pub a few yards away where we ate which was good value for money. Breakfast was a help yourself buffet but steer clear of the hot food (scrambled eggs and sausages) I wish I had, poor quality and tasteless, the rest was fine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your review concerning your stay in April. We are always looking at ways in which to improve our products and services and will certainly pass on your comments to the relevant persons
I hope that you will consider our hotel when visiting the beautiful highlands again
Kind Regards
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Pretty standard as a holiday inn express. Very clean and comfortable. We stayed on two separate evenings on a business trip. Our Friday evening welcome was a little brusque but otherwise a very good couple if stays. The fabulous Snow Goose bar and restaurant was across the car park and was brilliant. The service and menus were of a very high quality and not the usual brewers fayre type of place. Hotel is a wee bit away from the city centre along a busy dual carriageway but for a business trip it was a great option. Also only 5 miles from the airport.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for you review and for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay in Inverness
I hope that you will stay with us again while on business or pleasure
Regards
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Room very clean and functional. Staff were helpful and friendly. Pretty much what you would expect from a HI Express. Good basic accommodation without the frills but more than adequate for overnight business trips.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cath D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and we are glad that you found your stay to be enjoyable
Regards
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

As always very clean,very friendly staff (especially with our energetic two boys!), ample on site free parking, everything you would expect, this is our fifth time in this particular Holiday Inn whilst travelling north and we'll definitely be back!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BigDaddyWebb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Delighted that you choose to stay at our hotel and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit
Regards
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Inverness
Jurys Inn Inverness
#18 of 34 in Inverness
120 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,733 reviews
1.7 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
1.6 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 34 in Inverness
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Inverness

Property: Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Address: Stoneyfield, Inverness IV2 7PA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Inverness
#15 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Inverness 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at the comfortable Holiday Inn Express Inverness hotel, 6 miles from Inverness Airport and 1 mile from Inverness city centre. Green surroundings make the modern Holiday Inn Express Inverness a pleasant base for your trip. Relax with homely touches such as free wireless Internet. We're 1 mile from Inverness city centre and close to the A96, with ample complimentary parking. It's a short taxi or bus ride from Inverness Airport to the hotel and you can reach Stirling and Perth via the nearby A9. Invite up to 30 people to seminars in Holiday Inn Express Inverness' meeting room, which overlooks the countryside. Delegates can relax in the breakout space and enjoy a business lunch prepared by our friendly staff. Visit companies in the Inverness Business and Retail Park next door. Enjoy your own snacks in our sociable Great Room and choose from the daily complimentary breakfast buffet which features a continental selection and hot items. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Inverness Hotel Inverness
Holiday Inn Inverness
Holiday Inn Express Inverness Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing