We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel.”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Myself and wife spent an evening in the Holiday Inn 2 weeks ago and must compliment them on a splendid, affordable place for a short visit. The room was adequate with two single beds, coffee making facilities, a television with limited channels and plenty storage space. The bathroom was very nicely situated with an excellent power shower. Though there was no place for an evening meal, there was an excellent pub/restaurant within easy walking distance and the menu was varied and interesting. The hotel provided a continental breakfast from 7.30 am and we found this to be of a good standard with a varied selection to suit all tastes. All in all, it was an enjoyable experience and I would reccommend this establishment for anyone on a short visit to the Inverness area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for you nice review and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and other travellers and hope you will visit again in 2013
I wish you all the best for 2013
Kind Regards
Cathy Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    369
    138
    33
    7
See reviews for
186
297
33
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, Scotland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We decided on a overnight stop whilst visiting relations with the Christmas pressies. Very clean and comfortable, and a warm welcome at reception. Breakfast with hot and cold choices was excellent. You do need a car when staying here, as the hotel is situated on the outskirts of the city.
Supermarket and other large retail outlets situated within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finmack_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us and I hope you had a good Christmas with all your family and that you may visit us again in 2013
Kind regards
Cathy Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

A very clean motel for a night or 2's stay, although don't expect cheapness as a round of basic drinks, wine, vodka/coke, gin/tonic and bacardi/coke was almost £25.00!!!
Comfy bed, great shower etc, however the worst point is the poorly trained receptionist, named Moira, who after taking our details proceeded to read them back to us aloud for everyone to hear. I didn't find the need for this and I found this quite helpful for any potential identity thief wishing to use our details. After I had made a comment regarding this she read aloud our friends details also.
My feeling on this matter is that any person who gives sensitive information such as addresses etc. should have these details kept as they should be, private. A major downside here and perhaps Holiday Inn should review their staff training regarding identities of their patrons and also customer relations as Moira's apparent lack of common sense and regret of this matter has made me not endorse this particular Holiday Inn and would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Hello Ronnie

thank you for your review concerning your recent stay at the hotel, the member of staff in question has been spoken to concerning the lack of confidentiality and procedure on the evening of your check in

I have sent you a private message in relation to this matter and hope that you will visit us again in the future

Kind Regards
Cathy Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is a pretty standard Holiday Inn Express; it's located next to a big shopping mall on the edge of town - so as stated elsewhere it can be a pain to get around if you don't have a car.

The rooms seem to be the very standard design - the slightly odd arrangement in the bathroom where one door functions as a separate bathroom and toilet door. The room was all fine - the bed was comfortable. Everything was perfectly clean. The heating in the room seemed a little hit and miss - I was only able have the room too cold or too hot - the system seemed to be capable of being 'on' or 'off' no matter how I messed with the controls - but maybe that's just me.

The 'premium' internet service was fairly slow - and the cost is ridiculously expensive at more that £12 a night. (When will UK hotels realise that ripping people off is never really great for customer loyalty...).

The breakfast is poor in my opinion; the orange juice tasted watery & nasty - probably some sort of reconstituted powder and the yoghurts tasted very cheap. It is free I suppose - but even then.

All of the staff that I spoke to were both friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasecl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for your review and I am glad that you found our hotel to be what you expected
I do hope that you will visit us again in 2013
Kind Regards
Cathy Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

As you would expect from a Holiday Inn, the rooms are comfortable and clean, and it is what you would expect from a large franchise establishment.

My only grumble would be that you would either need to hire a taxi everywhere you went, or else rent a car. It's based on a dual carriage way and can only be acccessed from one direction.

Inverness town centre is not too far away, but if you are going to spend much or anytime in the town you would likely need to hire a car.

Also, it's situated right next to a retail estate.

The breakfast is a buffet - but they do not have a dedicated restaurant and so it's not the best selection. You'll get a good fill, but I wouldn't expect the best.

Room Tip: If arriving by air book a car from the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBowtell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for your review and we are glad that you found your stay with us to be comfortable and hope that you will visit us again in 2013
Kind Regards
Cathy Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roy bridge
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

decided to christmas shop and stay overnight used the holiday express on the A96 price was right for 2 nights,very quiet hotel well run by managment cathy Mcdonald and her team breakfast was adequate either scrambled egg baked beans or sausage plenty of youghourts fresh fruit cereals various teas & coffees toast and various other breakfast items rooms very clean,quite near 24 hr tesco near bye tv abit prehistoric but works very well room warm pub infront of the hotel for an evening meal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daddydeyomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your recent review and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that this will encourage you to visit us again, maybe for the january sales?
I hope you have a good Christmas and all the best to you and your family in 2013
KInd Regards
Cathy Macleod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay there last month for 2 nights. Staff were very attentive and accommodating with our dog. Room was immaculate and very comfortable. Wifi in lounge was fast and free. Breakfast buffet was included in the room rate and there was a continual supply of freshly cooked food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lornaphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
So glad you had a pleasant stay and that you found everything to your satisfaction
I hope that you will be visiting us again soon
Kind Regards
Cathy Macleod
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
1.7 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Inverness
Jurys Inn Inverness
#29 of 34 in Inverness
22 reviews
1.5 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
1,734 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Inverness

Property: Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Address: Stoneyfield, Inverness IV2 7PA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Inverness
#15 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Inverness 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at the comfortable Holiday Inn Express Inverness hotel, 6 miles from Inverness Airport and 1 mile from Inverness city centre. Green surroundings make the modern Holiday Inn Express Inverness a pleasant base for your trip. Relax with homely touches such as free wireless Internet. We're 1 mile from Inverness city centre and close to the A96, with ample complimentary parking. It's a short taxi or bus ride from Inverness Airport to the hotel and you can reach Stirling and Perth via the nearby A9. Invite up to 30 people to seminars in Holiday Inn Express Inverness' meeting room, which overlooks the countryside. Delegates can relax in the breakout space and enjoy a business lunch prepared by our friendly staff. Visit companies in the Inverness Business and Retail Park next door. Enjoy your own snacks in our sociable Great Room and choose from the daily complimentary breakfast buffet which features a continental selection and hot items. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Inverness Hotel Inverness
Holiday Inn Inverness
Holiday Inn Express Inverness Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing