We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Spice Tandoori - CLOSED

Spice Tandoori
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: Indian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Spice tandoori Inverness is under new management as of 01/10/2011.we are child friendly,excellent location by the famous river ness in the heart of Inverness which affords us some stunning view that no other indian restaurant can come close to.So if it's small to large parties we can do the lot.
Auchnagatt
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Enjoy your meal with a great view of the river ness . Fast and friendly service . Very tasty food especially Lamb Tikka. Good choice of fish curries .

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ethel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    41
    24
    14
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
315 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“A Good Choice for Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

In all fairness, I admit that I am not an expert concerning Indian food, although I eat it from time to time, 3 or 4 times a year.

We were in Inverness for one night and our B&B proprietor told us where to go for food. He told us about several restaurants on both sides of the River Ness but did not mention SpiceTandoori. We hadn't thought about Indian food, but it was late and Spice Tandoori was one of the restaurants open at that hour.

First the view: Go upstairs and you have a beautiful view of a beautiful section of Inverness. Second the menu: quite varied with many possible combinations to choose from. Third the service: adequate. Fourth the food: very tasty, good variety. Finally the price: truth be told, this was our first night in Scotland and so I could not compare the cost to that of restaurants previously visited. I did have the feeling that the price might be a tad high, but do not recall the numbers.

Had we stayed in Inverness another night, I have no doubt that we would have returned to Spice Tandoori.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hanan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

I went here on Friday 9th May with a friend. Staff very friendly and attentive. We were seated offered drinks, took our coats. I had a lamb rogan josh, was very tasty. After our meal we were offered complimentary drinks which was very generous. I would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very bad experience...should be avoided at all cost”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

These are the kind of resturants that cheats people in the name of Indian cuisine. The food is very poor quality..the seekh kebabs had stinking meat...the korai (or watever they call the dish)..was ridiculously unpleasant to eat..with overpowering turmeric and some sweet taste...i seriously dont think Indian food should taste like that..also the portion size was quite small..the prices on their menu are on the higher side despite their poor quality.
When i asked for the bill, a person gave me a piece of paper with some intangible scriblings..and there was no total amount!!..i have never seen such a unprofessional and disgusting looking bill...Clearly the people who work there r illiteratre..they were not apologetic about all of these..this shows their cheap character.
Never go to these fake curry houses when in Inverness.. it is better to spend ur money in some nice steak houses or pubs by the river side..there are some realt good pubs serving excellent food from local produce

Helpful?
Thank Devraj G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingussie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Return visit simply delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Went for lunch Monday and just can't fault the food. The waiter was very pleasant and attentive. Our order was taken and the food arrived starting with poppadoms and mixed pickles lovely. Our staters where lip smacking good as was the curry. The waiter even apologised about the nan bread he thought it was slightly burnt and offered to replace it. Didn't need to it was great. We will return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Tandoori also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing