We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Spice Tandoori - CLOSED

Spice Tandoori
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: Indian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Spice tandoori Inverness is under new management as of 01/10/2011.we are child friendly,excellent location by the famous river ness in the heart of Inverness which affords us some stunning view that no other indian restaurant can come close to.So if it's small to large parties we can do the lot.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Been traveling for about 16 days and this was my favorite meal. Service was wonderful, view was fabulous and food unforgettable. Don't miss this restaurant if you are in town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edmondattorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    41
    24
    14
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Food, and Great Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were really struggling to find somewhere to eat in Inverness, as everywhere was busy, and we happened upon this great Indian restaurant. It's upstairs, which could be a problem if you have restricted mobility, but having got up there, the views down the River Ness and excellent.

The food was amongst the best I have had (and I've eaten a lot of Indian food), and pretty decent value too, especially for a city centre. The only downside was that the draft Cobra was off, and the bottles weren't chilled enough, otrherwise, a great experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shug402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Above Average Curries And A Great View!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We visited this restaurant on our last night in Inverness and took a slight risk as main reason was we have two small kids and this place was very near our hotel. We did see other Indian restaurants around the city but decided to go for it even though getting our buggy up the stairs was a pain!

Anyway, it was well worth it. My wife and I adore Indian food and visit many restaurants while in the UK on holiday. This restaurant's food was absolutely delicious! The only slight criticism is that the seekh kebab starter my wife had was lukewarm (tasty enough but possibly not freshly prepared and heated up). My own Prawn on a Puree starter was spicy and full of juicy prawns. We had a Chicken Tikka Chilli Masala and special hot and sweet Bengali curry with Lamb Tikka. Both were wonderful. Lovely succulent marinated chunks of meat, thick sauces of onions, garlic, ginger and spices. The outstanding sides of Chilli Garlic Naan and Special Fried Rice (with peas, eggs, mushroom) were ludicrously tasty, piping hot and perfectly cooked. All in all, a totally outstanding meal when you consider we went in with no clue of what this restaurant was capable of. Moreover we had a lovely booth table overlooking the river and this is one of the restaurants added bonus's! It occupies a 1st floor on the corner of a building with a curved glass vista on the river. Easily the best view of any Indian restaurant I have every visited.

The restaurant IS more expensive than average with curries coming in at around £10 but the sundries were reasonable and actually the curries were worth it for the sheer quality of the flavour and subtle spicing. They server ice cold Cobra and a decent dry white wine so we were also happy on this score. Waiters were friendly and our small kids were no problem.

A thoroughly excellent Indian restaurant that I would unreservedly recommend. You'll end up paying around 20 with starters, main, naan and rice but I would pay it happily. Wonderfully tasty curries and go for the Chef's specials and you're in for a treat! Just a pity it's in Inverness...so far away!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tahir H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was now our 3rd or 4th visit and would very much recommend . Views very hard to beat , food very good , value for money very good . Portion size and presentation very good.. Our only complaints in the past was service issues but glad to say it was a lot , lot better this time . All in all very good .

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samsam48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Decent Indian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Went to Inverness for a long weekend and ate out every night , 6 of us went to the Spice Tandoori as it was quite close to our hotel , services was very good and food was also very good , i go by a rule of " if it was in Liverpool ( home ) would i go back " and the answer was yes , so as a curry eater on a regular basis its got my approval .

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davethejoiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Tandoori also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing