We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most forgettable Indian experience ever.”
Review of Spice Tandoori - CLOSED

Spice Tandoori
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Spice tandoori Inverness is under new management as of 01/10/2011.we are child friendly,excellent location by the famous river ness in the heart of Inverness which affords us some stunning view that no other indian restaurant can come close to.So if it's small to large parties we can do the lot.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Most forgettable Indian experience ever.”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Four of us went to this place while on holiday in Scotland. While the location of the restaurant was OK and the decor about normal for an Indian restaurant, the service varied from enthusiastic at the bar, to bored and disinterested at the table. Smiles were non-existent and the plates were unceremoniously dumped on the table.
I am a huge fan of Indian food having eaten it far and wide, I am no expert but I know my way around a menu reasonably well. The curry here was the least interesting I have ever experienced, both in flavour and appearance, and three of the five dishes seeming as if they had accidently spilled a cup of sugar into each. When I queried the sweetness of the Tandoori Prawns, Chicken Korma and Butter Chicken the waiter told me that's how they are supposed to be and walked off. Like dessert evidently...
My Rogan Josh was bland, the dahl stodgy and without flavour.
Sadly not even the price was slight compensation, overpriced and under performing.
I would not darken the door of this place again if you paid me.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MrTremillini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    41
    24
    14
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“great meal”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

we went here on our honeymoon while in Inverness

This restaurant was amazing,it;s changes hands since we were last there

all the same staff thought so still lovely place to eat

the fusion of Indian cuisine and sleek modern surroundings are fab

We enjoyed delicious curry and courteous service along with a fabulous view of the river, bridge Ask for a window seat!

we went 2 nights while in Inverness

The menu features specialities inspired from traditional Indian dishes and it's all lovely

Have eaten in this restaurant a couple of times and never had a bad meal and The food is of a high standard and the service is excellent with nothing too much trouble even when it was very busy x

cant wait to return next year xxx

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank mumof3burnets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberlour
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Overpriced bit of a tourist trap”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I was staying at a nearby hotel but fancied a walk into town and decided to try this place as everywhere else was really very busy with no tables available.
With hindsight I should have dined in at the Hotel I was staying at.

This restaurant has a good view over the river but views only feed the imagination and not one's stomach.
This should have alerted me but I was hungry.

I had an Alloo Sag chicken dish which was spinach with chicken.
The chicken was actually two bite sized bits of chicken breast that was just warmed through in a spinach mixture and the super speedy service led me surmise that a lot of simple reheating was going on.

The dish was not very tastebud tingle hot and spicy but it was very salty.
Perhaps this was to encourage the diners to consume more drinks.
The party of rowdy folk nearby were very merry with language that was getting very fruity by the glassfull which indicates my general feeling,that the drinks were being pushed big time in this establishment.

For the small portion of this chicken dish (no rice) and plain Naan bread plus a can of soft drink my bill came to an astounding £14.95 which leads me to conclude that it is overpriced and a bit of a tourist trap.
I hate to think what the bill would have been if I had added rice or a starter and another soft drink.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Speysider58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location and food was ok.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Service was good and quick, my dish was good the chicken was good quality and sauce nice , not too spicy as the menu described. Downside was friends had a fish dish which both sent back, when a replacement came the dish was different colour and texture. Both did not eat that and decided to give it a miss. Even if the fish was from frozen the change in the dish is not a good sign.
Despite that out of 5 of us and the 7dishes ordered only the fish dish was a let down, the chicken curry dishes we all good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank GrahamG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“customer service very poor and don't know how to talk”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

will never go back again. staff don't know even how to talk. was very disappointed left food on table and paid bill. No one from the staff came to us and apologized. No wonder why they not busy even on weekends.

Please please don't even think to have meal there because no worth it. I would prefer to have chicken and chips.

love from london

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Tandoori also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing