We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Little Italy

Little Italy
Ranked #21 of 251 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Romantic, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Highlands,Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Food was brill we thought we were back in our favourite destination Italy. Staff could'nt do enough for you

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Inloveinitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    139
    60
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Probably the best restaurant I've ever been to!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

Went to little italy with 3 friends (two who have been before) that highly recommended going. From the minute I walked in it just felt like been in italy! The food was typical fresh italian and absolutely lovely to eat. The two waiters that served us was probably the friendliest waiters you'll ever meet in your life! Very professional and very funny. Thank you little italy for making my stay in Inverness very pleasurable and cheers for the lemoncello!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 123mabaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley,Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely food..shame about the cold !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

Went here on our first night in Inverness..firstly the food was lovely...fresh, authentic and tasty. There was only one waiter on when we arrived and surprisingly only a couple of other tables occupied at 8pm .
The service was good and we were well looked after however thought it was a bit odd that the lone waiter decided to sit down and eat a pizza at one of the tables when there were customers present. Also strange that when a group of 4 guys came in at 9pm they were told by the waiter that he would need to check with the kitchen first...and came back to tell them it was ok...as along as they weren't planning on having a starter !
Another man came in about 15 minutes later and was turned away..have never heard of this happening in any other restaurant at that time on a midweek night.
The restaurant was also very cold..we were next to the heater and it wasn't even switched on despite being a cold January night. All in food was great but atmosphere and some aspects of the service were a bit strange !

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Albadav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

One of the best meals I've ever had in Inverness, food, atmosphere, service and value all amazing. A must try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JRR1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good... but not the "best"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

Went to Little Italy after watching it climb to the top of Tripadvisor. Being that there are so many nice restaurants in Inverness, it was quite a surprise to see Little Italy get to the top.

The restaurant itself is very traditional, like a proper Italian restaurant which is unique in itself for Inverness. It has a great authentic look about the place, nicely decorated and the tabes are set comfortably without being too crowded. It isn't a large place. As it's January we were looking at getting into a nice cosy restaurant out of the cold and into the warmth, however this wasn't to be. The heating didn't appear on and it was very cold - my partner kept on her coat throughout the meal.

Service was good. We were served by the lone member of staff and he was very good, attended to our needs well and happy to be of our attention.

The food also was very good. I had the chicken liversto start which was cooked in a tomato and chilli sauce and served with toasted garlic bread, and to follow I had the lasagne. I was very happy with my choice. My partner had the Seafood Tagliatelle and she too was very happy with her choice.

For service, food, and traditional Italian-ness, this is a great little place to eat, and given a bit of warmth then I'd say very good for a romantic meal.

However, due to the cold environment I wouldn't choose Little Italy over other restaurants for a romantic dining experience.

Good, but not the best in Inverness. For Italian I prefer Riva.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marko69_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Italy also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Little Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing