We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They are open on Mondays and serve authentic Italian, not pseudo-Italian.”
Review of Little Italy

Little Italy
Ranked #24 of 257 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
“They are open on Mondays and serve authentic Italian, not pseudo-Italian.”
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Many restaurants in Inverness are closed on Monday evening, and most close by 9 on any night. LIttle Italy is open on Monday and doesn't rush you if you arrive near the closing hour. Also a very convenient short walk from the big shopping center with underground parking until midnight. Ferdinando showed us every courtesy and stopped to talk about his hometown of Bari, Italy. The food is reasonably priced for the UK and quite good. Compared to much of the Italian food we ate during our England/Scotland vacation, it was the real deal -- tasted like Mama made it, not Mama's third-generation cousin twice removed. It's a candle-in-the-wine-bottle kind or place: straightforward, good dinner, nice people.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveled4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    150
    60
    28
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Tried Little Italy for the first time yesterday for lunch - what a great little restaurant! It has a real buzz and a very authentic Italian feel. All the tables inside and outside were occupied, but in spite of this service was quick, attentive and professional from the very friendlly staff. We had a hard time choosing what to order as both the menu and the daily specials included several very tempting dishes. Quite often Italian food can be disappointing in UK restaurants but Little Italy really delivers. We even got a song from Rolando! Brilliant wee place.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KikiBeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Never been disappointed”
Reviewed June 27, 2011

My partner and i have been to this restaurant a few times now, for lunch & dinner, and have never had a bad meal. The food is excellent, simple but beautifully cooked. The atmosphere is excellent - its a very small restaurant so i'd advise you to book - the staff are friendly and keen, without being pushy or over friendly. Its reasonably priced too, with decent wines & beers. I cant fault it!

Helpful?
Thank DFAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weirton, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Some of the best Italian I've had the pleasure of eating.”
Reviewed June 26, 2011

First off - if you're not a seasoned traveler and are from the U.S. - make a reservation or else you won't be eating here. I looked Little Italy up before we left for our vacation in Scotland and it was the best place I picked to go in Inverness. If you like Italian and are in northern Scotland find this restaurant. The food was quite simply mouthwatering. One tip - try the Bruschetta for a starter - it's a simple dish but they make the best you will ever have in your life.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Infinite_Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Italian for ages”
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Pretty much what has been noted already. First time visitor, excellent food and can't wait to go back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adzzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Italy also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Little Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing